SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
34 238747 10/16/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $385.37
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.85
spacerspacer
9.47
spacerspacer
9.24
1nikon85f18a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Prime 35mm tested


Chop

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Chop
Review Date: 10/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Portraits and balance between cost and quality.
Cons: Some guys like a little longer option

Super portrait lens. Very sharp and great Bokeh. Fast enough and a pleasure to use. I pull this for use on my F100 with slow film.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 33
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 5/4/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, sharp, fast focussing, cheap, decent build quality
Cons: None

I like this lens, I like it a lot. Sharpness is excellent at f/4 (and smaller) and that's often the minimum aperture I like to use for portraits with this lens. Images are really sharp! I find it very nice that this model is sharper then the new AF-S version. Saves me some money. Also, autofocus is faster with the AF-D. I've had no problems with autofocus accuracy or speed. I find the autofocus speed of the 50mm and 85mm AF-S models annoyingly slow. The AF-D has no ass gasket like the new AF-S version has, but then I don't care for that much. The focussing ring rotates during focussing, but the lens barrel is large enough to grip the lens without touching the ring. I like the build quality of this lens. The lens has a nice feel and weight to it. I prefer it to the build quality of the AF-S version. If you are looking for a prime in this range, I recommend this lens.
Yucel

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 15
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Yucel
Review Date: 11/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Size, Sharpness
Cons: 62mm Filter Size, No Bayonet Shade

This lens takes an impressive image for not much $.


Is only 1/2 stop slower than the 1.4D for less than 1/2 the bux.


For my glamour portraiture usage, I have some sample images by this lens and a comparison to several of its peers avail in a more detailed review @ http://glamourphotography.co/?p=4841


For the money, if you need a sharp 85mm AF, it's hard to beat.
Suntoro Tjoe

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Suntoro Tjoe
Review Date: 11/5/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $520.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very consistent sharpness, great bokeh and fast auto focus
Cons: None

It's absolutely great lens!
I use this lens for all my studio work and produces great shots.


To view some of the shots, click
http://ourphotolib.com/suntoro/g15/
scott leeson

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by scott leeson
Review Date: 5/20/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price, IQ
Cons: NONE!

this lens is an absolute gem!
i use it for ALL my studio work on my d3x


i have tested the 85mm 1.4 d and g and they are not any sharper stopped down and not worth the increase in price.
buy this lens!!
colinjames

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 8
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by colinjames
Review Date: 11/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, great focus ability, tiny
Cons: LOCA, wish it focused closer

Great lens for the most part. Sharp. Annoying green and magenta aberrations until f5.6+
micahmedia

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by micahmedia
Review Date: 11/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $230.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: size, weight, build, rear focus
Cons: spinning focus ring during AF

I suspect any negatives about this lens wide open come from AF inaccuracy. On bodies that have AF fine tune abilities, with some tweaking, this lens is DAMN sharp wide open. A bit of field curvature up close, but not and objectionable amount. Again, it's down to AF--if you choose a proper point and the camera nails it, you're golden.


I wouldn't count the lack of AFS as much of a negative, except in circumstances where you hand you camera to some one else--as a pro, this is pretty never.


The AF issue may or may not be because of the screw drive, but I have noticed that newer bodies are consistently bad at focusing these screw drive lenses at default settings. For example, the D90 is inconsistent and the D200 wasn't very good with it either. D300, D700, D2x, and D3 were all great, but only after adjustment. And the amount of adjustment was different for each body (among similar AND different models).


High contrast situations can excite some LoCA--but that is so for MANY lenses, even the 1.4D and the new 1.4G. It's just a fact of life, and one that's hard to cure in post. Pretty much goes away stopped down.


Great bokeh, with a caveat: edge quality of point light sources can be excellent to mediocre, depending on subject distance. I'm not talking about just the amount of blur, but the quality. It does actually tend towards 100% neutral at closer focus distances. Very subtle ringing as you get closer to infinity, but never objectionably so.


In closing: an undervalued gem!
adrian snow

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 6
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by adrian snow
Review Date: 3/28/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Corner to Corner sharpness f/4 and above
Cons: Soft until f/2.8

I'm rating this lens a solid 9 all-around.


The build quality is excellent, but not pro-calibre.


The image quality is excellent, but not until f/2.8 and doesn't see it's best until f/4. The good news is that at f/4 all the way through f/16 it is evenly sharp all over. This is great for those shots where you need the detail and sharpness all over the frame.


The lens handles direct light very well. I've never experienced any ghosting problems. Chromatic aberation is there wide open. By f/4 it is gone.


Overall I'm rating the lens a 9 for it's limited use wide-open.
You wanna buy a fast lens like this to take advantage of the maximum aperature.
This lens is nothing special from f/1.8 to f/2.8.
It is very, very good at f/2.8.
It is a dream lens at f/4 and above.


I'm selling mine because I get very similar performance out of my 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-S.
ZinMe

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by ZinMe
Review Date: 1/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp! Durable. Focus is fast enough for most applications.
Cons: No AFS

I use this lens for shooting indoor sports in poorly lit gyms on my D300. It is very sharp, even at f1.8 (my results are better than the slrgear sharpness results would show). For a non-AFS lens, it focuses fast, however, it can't compare to an AFS lens for sports. I do find that sometimes the focus doesn't keep up with the action. If you are shooting sports at f1.8 which offers little to no depth of field, you get some shots which are out of focus. But this is a minor complaint. This lens is also great for portraits. I also use it to shoot theater if I can get close to the foot of the stage-- the results are superb. Sharpness, color rendition, contrast are exceptional.
moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by moose
Review Date: 11/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $490.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb build quality and sharp as a tack
Cons: Not an AF-S lens

Nikon professional user. This lens is superb. I use it on the D300 and D200. It oozes quality. Perefect for outdoor and studio work. It is sharp as a tack.
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by lightknight
Review Date: 11/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, great and consitantly great performance
Cons: ?

This is a cant loose lens. While doing a studio shoot with some guys a few months ago this lens earned its keep in company with a raft of F1.4 and Canon f1.2 85 mm. So the question was when shooting a F4 @ 250th, why do you need a 1.4 or a 1.2? The answer of course is that you don't...the little 1.8 was as sharp as all of them at that aperture and just 33% of the cost. yes it may not be as rugged but its still a decent lens and its works an absolute treat on my D700.


I have an example below for anyone that wants to look.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/3631862836/
Eager

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Eager
Review Date: 10/25/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast, sharp, smooth bokeh
Cons: focus ring rotates with AF

Exellent portrait lens. Lovely creamy bokeh, good sharpness and contrast.
sgnirts

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by sgnirts
Review Date: 2/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $275.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great focal length, SHARP!, FAST!, great bokeh...just right portrait lens.
Cons: We are not born with this lens. noisy focus.

WOW!, just perfect, all the "right moves" for portrait and low light work, always sharp in the center (even f1.8!), fairly quick focus...I can't ask for much more...maybe add VR to it one day and a motor? Primes offer so much bang for the buck in the category. I have even shot some very nice landscapes with this lens, who says all landscapes have to be wide? just silly! :-)
RRJackson

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by RRJackson
Review Date: 1/29/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: optical quality, price, size
Cons: not expensive enough to have a mystique

This is probably the single best value in the Nikon lens lineup. The performance of the lens is much more consistent than the 85mm f/1.4. This lens isn't designed to give you soft corners. It's not a dreamy portrait lens, though it does make a very good portrait lens. It's like a neo-realist portrait lens. The 85mm f/1.8 is also very sharp when stopped down. I have a D700 and find this lens attached to my camera much more than I imagined. This and the 35mm f/2 are really the only two lenses I'd have a hard time living without. If you like the speed, size and convenience of fast primes you aren't going to want to let this one pass you by.
lexluthor

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by lexluthor
Review Date: 1/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Bright!, compact and light, very good built, nice bokeh!
Cons: So far so good

This is my first prime lens and I'm already in love with it. I put it on my D90 to replace my 18-105mm kit lens. It is very bright and a killer in indoor low light situation. I use it mostly for portrait. I'm warmly recommend it!


You can check some pictures on my Flickr account here :
http://www.flickr.com/photos/alxbertrand/3150219843/in/set-72157602367247531/
Canon-Nikon-user

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 14
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Canon-Nikon-user
Review Date: 12/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $370.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great sharp lens , very well corrected , very low CA, AF fast enough.
Cons: slower than the Canon 85f1.8 in terms of AF, flare more than the Canon.

I like its size and AF speed as a screw driven lens.


I think this lens is quite sharp wide open and well corrected almost distortion free lens.


Its only one weakness is the flare control, its color and contrast are good , almost no CA even wide open.



This lens is small , fast , sharp and makes my D300 looks so small , I love it , I think this lens is a better lens than the f1.4D if you like street photography or sharp corners as SLRGERA.com this very site says.


One of these best bargain lenses in Nikon world.
glen

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by glen
Review Date: 11/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, good value
Cons: Bit noisy, build quality

Picked up this lens a couple weeks back and have taken forty - fifty shoots with the D200 and half a roll with the F100. Since then, I've taken lots of shots which has only confirmed my initial impression on both FX and DX - this lens is SHARP!


I did not expect this lens to be so sharp wide open, and stopping down, it just seems to get sharper and sharper. The bokeh at f/1.8 is good and improves as the lens is stopped down. Focus speed is good, a little louder than AF-S, but not a big issue. Focus on the D200 works well, but you can still miss a shot wide open since the DOF is narrow.


I have not seen any purple fringing in FX or DX or on film. Build quality does not compare to older AIS lenses but it is very decent.


This lens is a keeper.
HighSierra

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 13
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by HighSierra
Review Date: 10/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $340.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: SHARP! Nice Bokeh, Light and Small
Cons: A bit of pruple fringing, not built like a tank

Whew, and I thought the Nikkor 180/2.8 was sharp! From about f/2.2 on, this lens will just slice you up, certainly the sharpest I've yet mounted to my D200. Most other aspects of image quality are great as well. The only issue I've had in that regard is purple fringing, much like from the 180, particularly at the larger apertures. If only it was correctable easily in software, it would be no worry.


The lens is built very well, and the internal focus is a welcome upgrade over similar Nikkor primes like the 50/1.8 and 35/2.0. The focus ring could stand to be larger and better damped, but it is an AF lens after all.


The only reason I'm getting rid of this lens is that I've found the focal length to a bit of a tweener on DX. I'd rather use 50-60 or 135-150. I'm sure this lens would be great on film/FX, filling the hole I use 50 in on DX.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by lextalionis
Review Date: 8/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Less than half the cost of the 1.4
Cons: Can certainly tell the difference from the 1.4

Bokeh is good, but not as good as the 1.4
Price is more attractive relative to the 1.4
AF is decent, but not as fast and accurate as the 1.4


Overall, very very nice piece of glass!


Sample High-Resolution Images


-Lex
jonnyapple

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by jonnyapple
Review Date: 8/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast, small, great focal length for portraits
Cons: closest focus 3ft

I've used this and the Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro in this focal length range, and it seems like the pictures with this lens wide open are a bit softer than the test results would imply, but I don't think that's a bad thing. This and the Tamron are about equally sharp at f/2.8 (the 90mm's max), but I love the softer images with the 85 at wide apertures. And who can complain about an extra stop (and a bit) for low light situations?


This is a wonderful portrait lens, and it wont make your camera front-heavy. I haven't noticed the autofocus being slow or noisy (on a D300), but I haven't had much experience with Af-s lenses for financial reasons.


I don't think people would consider this if they're looking for a macro lens at this length, but if you are don't because it's not a macro lens. Closest focus is 3ft, but I guess you can't have everything.
Artman57

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Artman57
Review Date: 2/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $527.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great detail, fast, reliable
Cons:

I have this piece of glass since 1994, used it with my F2A Photomic with great results and now with my D200. This is a great portrait lens but not only. It is always attached to my D200 body and I use it for anything I can throw it in, with great results all the time. Focus it's a bit noisier than the "kiT lens" but the construction of this 85mm is excellent. Very fast and reliable, it is almost impossible to take bad captures with this baby.Great prime lens.
rcoder

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by rcoder
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: amazing low-light captures, excellent portrait telephoto
Cons: AF can be slow on consumer bodies

I absolutely love this lens. Most of my favorite pictures taken with my D70 have been through its fine optics, and it just seems to coax flattering expressions from people's faces. This is also the best lens I've used for live music photography -- it's small enough to pack around in a crowded club, and has just enough reach to pull just the singer out of a busy scene.


The balance and handling are quite good, though the MF ring on mine is a touch loose. Wide-open, it adds just enough softness to images to avoid the need for photoshop retouching of minor skin blemishes, and the extremely-thin DoF renders background features beautifully blurred. Bokeh is generally quite nice, though extremely bright points of light in the background can occasionally appear more polyagonal than circular.


My only real complaint is with the focusing distance -- if you want to do any close-up work, then you'll probably want to check out the 60mm or 105mm macro units. AF speed also isn't anything special, but much of that is probably the D70 AF system not being quite up to some of the low-light situations I press on it.
photogizmo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by photogizmo
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact, lightweight, bright, quick autofocus, well built.
Cons: None

This is a great portrait lens. In fact, I think it would be pretty hard to take a bad portrait with this lens. I used the 85mm f/1.4 at a Nikon event and although it was beautiful, it was also much larger and quite heavy, (and twice the cost). This lens is compact and lightweight. I love using the Nikkor 50mm and this lens is not a lot bigger. The out of focus area with this lens is soft and the colors are rich and well saturated. Perfect.
placenamehere

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by placenamehere
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast, sharpness, overall image quality
Cons: not the 1.4?

This lens is on my D80 85% of the time for both indoor family photos and general outdoor or street photography. The image quality is excellent. Its plenty fast to capture most events without resorting to flash use. I really don't find myself longing for the extra speed of the F1.4 as I usually end up shooting at around F2.0 or F2.2 for a good DOF + speed compromise.
NikonNut

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by NikonNut
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very fast lens
Cons:

I bought this lens to take photos of dance competitions where flash is not allowed. It has performed flawlessly. Focus is quick, and final products have been well received
kanabeans

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by kanabeans
Review Date: 12/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color, great DOF
Cons: None that I can think of.

I just bought this lens a few weeks ago and the results are amazing! The DOF is beautiful, the lens is sharp and the colors seem so much better than my other lenses! I definately recommend this lens!
deanzat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by deanzat
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great color, sharpness, and feel
Cons:

This and my 80-200 are the "10s" in my collection. I often use this one to shoot local concerts at clubs or "all ages" venues, where I can move about freely. Naturally, I also use it for portraits, although it is sometimes too sharp and I must resort to smoothing techniques in photoshop.


Every photographer should use a lens like this to understand the famous filter-vs-no filter debate. Take a couple of shots without a filter on this lens, and if you've always believed in protection filters, your world will be rocked. The resolution can be stunning.


People might think that I write a lot of gushing reviews, but I've had a lot of Nikon and Canon lenses over the past thirty years, and I've only kept the ones I really like. Here's one of my favorite shots from this lens:
http://www.pbase.com/deanzat/image/30676328
Karl777

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Karl777
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ultra fast, lightweight
Cons: noisy, autofocus on low light with Nikon D50

I use this lens as an addition to my tamron 17-50 Zoom. The lens isn't full metal as already told. the focusing ring and the lense hood are metal.


first i tested this lense indoor at evening having normal artificial light; I wundered that the autofocus was not as reliable as with my tamron zoom. When the lens did not find the focus it gots very noisy searching the right focus from one to the other end. This is a little bit disappointing for a low light lense.


But experience showed soon it is often better to focus manually. I think the small focus range of the lense makes it for the auto focus system of D50 harder to get the correct focus.


Then i went outside - downtown and was very impressed to shoot pictures with ISO400 and 1.8 Appertue at times about 1/125s! Some poeple looked strange at me doing this all without flash!


This lens is an optical cutting machine - with open aperture you can extract everything you want too.


My daugter soon loved this lense walking around and making interesting pics.


pictures seems are very brilliant if you get the right focus.


A very special glass - one of my diamands!


a little bit expensive in europe!


Karl
DoFJerk

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by DoFJerk
Review Date: 11/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $340.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, Good color reproduction
Cons: Some visible CA at wide open

Inexpensive, good color reproduction, smooth & natural skin tone. Better sharpness get start at f/2.


If you can't effort 85/1.4, this lens will not let you disappointed.
If you love protrait, you will love this lens.
audioguru1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by audioguru1
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: reasonable, amazingly sharp
Cons: no afs

This lens is very sharp. It seems to have some focus error on older bodies like my s2 (backfocus). It works great on my d80. Likely just the focus system on the s2, but something to note if you dont have a newer body.


This is great for closeup portraits. It is the 105/135 portrait lenses for digital.


The focus on this lens is clunky and loud - especially compared to the 50mm. But it gets the job done. Having a speedlight with the red led focus grid helps in the dark.


The 1.4 version gets you IF and a little more sensitvity. The 1.8 is just as good in every other way.
mmroden

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by mmroden
Review Date: 9/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $380.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: well built, light, sharp
Cons: no af-s

I like this lens. I don't really shoot in this range often (I tend to max out at 55-60 mm, just a personal preference), but when I do, I reach for this lens.


It's small, not much bigger than my 50 1.4 and smaller than my 60 2.8, and isn't intimidating on the camera at all.


It tends to hunt for focus in low-light situations, and has to be used manually when there's very little light (ie, on the street at night).
sduford

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by sduford
Review Date: 8/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality, well built, fast
Cons: no AFS

This is a superb lens. It is 979% as good as the F/1.4 yet it is much smaller and cheaper.


Build quality is not all metal but still very good. It is the old style auto focus but it nonetheless operates very fast and precisely. Filter size is 62nn. A very nice and compact lens.


I find it a bit long for portraits on a DSLR, but we currently have no alternatives.
Das Bosun

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Das Bosun
Review Date: 11/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A sharp & compact lens that's not all that expensive
Cons: It would be nice to have AF-S auto focus

AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D


All of my lens test/comparisons were performed on a Nikon D2x (reduced frame, 1.5x 12.2MP CMOS sensor). The camera was set to mirror lock-up, mounted on a tripod and fired with the MC-30 cable release. The test exposures were captured as NEF raw files and compared with no image sharpening.


This undoubtedly is one of the sharpest lenses I own and it’s not all that expensive. The best results arrive with the 85mm f/1.8D lens when it’s set to around f/4. In fact at f4 it out does the critical sharpness of anything I own.


The HN-23 screw type lens hood is a welcome addition, that’s permanently affixed to the end of my 85mm f/1.8D. Edge sharpness is fantastic, whilst chromatic aberrations and vignetting are very well controlled.


Mounted on a D2x the auto focus of the 85mm f/1.8D is not too far off the quiet and speed offered by an AF-S lens. Mounted on the Nikon D70 the same lens becomes noisier and is more prone to ‘searching’ in low light.


Note: these are subjective results that may not reflect your particular sample OR use of this lens.


Das Bosun
Leander

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 1
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by Leander
Review Date: 11/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $215.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, small, very good for low light shooting
Cons: some CA at f1.8

I've used this lens mainly for low light theatre shots on my D70 and it performs excellent at that. Focusing is fast. Hardly ever hunts even in low light. There is some CA at f1.8 but at 2.2 there's almost none. A near perfect lens for my taste.
(by the way I have the non D version, but it looks an behaves the same, I think)


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.