SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 43082 1/19/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $566.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
pentax70f24.jpg


Keywords: Pentax Telephoto Prime APS-C DA Limited


ddekadt

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 2
Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA review by ddekadt
Review Date: 1/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, build, optics, colours, sharpness wide open, AF speed, bokeh
Cons: Speed, close focusing distance

This lens is spectacular in every way, excepting for it's close focusing distance which is a real disappointment. Aside from that, this is just a magnificent lens.


The build is superb, tight tolerances, smooth focusing, aesthetic beauty in and out. The speed is ok, f2.4 is good enough, and considering the size of the lens as a result of the narrower aperture, it's not much of a problem. Optically it is just something else. I don't have another lens whose images I enjoy so much. The bokeh is always beautiful. Somehow I haven't used it as much as I like it, but still, it's absolutely special.


A couple of examples:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/4276326097/ (for bokeh)


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/4208668101/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/4209428402/ (blow it up for sharpness)


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/4172743571/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/3643680273/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dandekadt/4172739013/
ktwse

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 11
Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA review by ktwse
Review Date: 8/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

Well, it's all been said really... Fast, wonderfully sharp, excellent bokeh and brilliant build quality. This lens is a gem and fits perfectly on my K-7... :-)
grim grimsson

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA review by grim grimsson
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, bokeh
Cons: none (that I am able to discover)

Very good portrait lens, people do not feel intimidated by it's size. Sharp with fast and precise autofocus. Lightweight but still solid construction. A lens that I use more and more as I discover how good it is. Bought it as a portrait lens, but now I bring it almost everywhere I go.
Dagzz

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 3
Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA review by Dagzz
Review Date: 9/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's all there: quality, quality, quality!!!
Cons: 00.00.00..none

This is the very best I ever had!
Scratches the K10D sensor limits!


°°
nighthunter64

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 5
Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA review by nighthunter64
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $498.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best ive used to date
Cons: none at this point.

I've used Nikon D50 and now Pentax K10D and this new limited edition lens is really giving me the best results without any difficulties.


- It's very good quality feeling.
- It's Light
- It's Small.
- It produced superb quality images every single shot.


Recommend to all!!!


Here a pic taken with this lens:
http://www.jetphotos.net/viewphoto.php?id=5895672


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.