SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
14 303905 12/29/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
93% of reviewers $462.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.57
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.21
tamron18-250f35-63.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C Di-II LD Tested


Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 22
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by Beachrider
Review Date: 12/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Incredible zoom range with very strong IQ. As long as focus is set to center-only, pictures are clear. Color fidelity is quite good.
Cons: Slow at 250, zoom creep in use

Great lens for family outings, so long as there is enough light. Easy to always-have in bag. Still like it as much as when I bought it.
PeteD

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by PeteD
Review Date: 4/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: decent all in one solution
Cons: tromboning, no AFS/USM, no VR/IS

This is one of those odd lenses. the list of flaws include
an annoying habit of tromboning, no afs/usm and no VR/IS and it isn't as sharp as Tamron's 17-50 and yet as an all in one package it takes surprisingly decent photos.


The lack of VR is less of a problem to me as I use it as a vacation lens or on family days out (when lens switching isn't going to happen) which does tend to mean good light.


should you buy one? if you are after the ultimate in image quality no, but if you are after a very competent travel zoom then it is a good package.
bobrock

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 4
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by bobrock
Review Date: 10/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $445.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great little lens for portability and range. good images
Cons: have to lock it in place or it will extend

we got this lens to take on vacation because of its size and range. it was unbelievable how well it performed. we used in on a 400 xti and the results were outstanding. it is not made for low light or professional quality but it is so much better than a compact camera. my wife used one of those tiny digitals and the pictures were not even close to what i was able to get with this lens. It is really neat. close up to long range, it is a deal
wesfoto

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 5
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by wesfoto
Review Date: 7/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good images, for what it is (a vacation lens); GREAT zoom range
Cons: Image quality is never great, tends to slip easily

This is a "vacation lens", so take it for what its worth. You won't get a prime's lenses sharpness, and there is some CA, but, you're getting a lens that covers everything from wide-angle to a fairly long zoom. When I'm out and about, on vacation or around town, and have no idea what I may run into next, I keep this lens on my camera. I don't always have the time to switch lenses, and sometimes you need to be ready at a moment's notice, and this lens works great for that (especially if you're not carrying a bag full of other lenses). If I know where I'm gonna be, and what I'll be shooting, I'll change to a different lens, but for the quick, spur of the moment, "accidental" shot, this lens is impossible to beat.
onlyone

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by onlyone
Review Date: 6/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $480.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good price to performance
Cons: Soft at 18-24 and 200-250, too noisy AF

For this price, it's good enough for a walk-around len. I like it much more than Sigma's one.
It may be soft at both end and very noisy AF, but in my opinion, it's one of good lens.


If you want only one len for everything, this may be your answer. But if you're hope for perfect image, try some shorter range zoom lens or fix lens.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by lextalionis
Review Date: 3/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $475.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice walk-around lens, if you are not a purist photographer.
Cons: Soft on either end, and noisy AF.

I would say at $475 this lens is a fair deal. Good for those traveling photogs that don't have to pride themselves on perfect shots.


If you like and/or have primes in your bag, you may just be a little upset with this one.


Here are some sample photos taken with a Canon XTi:


Sample Photos


-Lex
touristguy87

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 36
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by touristguy87
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent value, light, small yet sharp even at F5.6, very good at F8
Cons: well, aside from the lack of VR not much

...all I'm going to say is that I've bought 5 of these lenses.


Well ok I have to add that I routinely get keepers at 1/50s handheld at 375mm effective with this lens on a Sony A200.
drekka

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by drekka
Review Date: 11/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great zoom, excellant for travelling
Cons: Cannot take filters without heavy corner shading in wide angle shots

I bought this lens just before going to Thailand and Cambodia on holiday. I had just purchased a Pentax K10D and needed a good vacation lens. having had a Tamron in the past I naturally had a preference for one, although one or two others such as Sigma where also rans.


Generally speaking I found the lens to do everything I had read here. However the reason for writing these comments is a major issue I found when adding filters to it. Something that I didn't find commented on in the reviews or comments.


Normally I like to run around with a UV filter on to protect the lens and when outside, a polariser. What I found was that even with just one filter on, the shots at the 18mm wide end had heavy corner shading in the corners. Sometimes going right to black. Obviously the edge of the frame in at the wide end is right next to the edge of the glass so in adding a filter you effectively block off the corners of the picture. Effectively with 1 and especially two filters, the zoom range is more like 100mm - 250mm.


This was not something that occured to me to check for in a lens as I've never encountered it before. Certainly in future I will be checking for it. But I wanted to write it up here for others to consider.


I'd also like to ask the slgear reviewers to check the lens with at least 1 filter in place when doing a review.


Thanks
Derek
Muiderburght

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by Muiderburght
Review Date: 11/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $520.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: versatility, good quality, reasonably fast
Cons: avoid "extremes" settings

It is such a pleasure to walkaround with this lens. If you're out on anything but for photography, but still want to make great shots, the versatility of this lens, zoom and macro capacity, is just awesome. This lens is my travel lens and as such, there is no other. To complement, for indoor, I also carry a cheap and light 50mm F1.8. I also always carry my flash with me. This kit gives me all the shots I need while away from home.
At home, I replace this lens for my Canon 70-200 F4 outside and sometimes my 17-55 F2.8 IS. Although, to be honest, I dont expect to replace it that often.
construction is decent: 7
Image quality is very good really: 8
Overall: I give it one extra point for versatility that no other lens offers: 9
Don Gould

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by Don Gould
Review Date: 10/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good focal length. Decent quality. Auto focus fairly good
Cons: lens extends if carried around neck. Must lock in 18mm position.

Recently purchased a Pentax K100D Super. Bought this lens as I do a lot of general travel photography and need and focal lenth without delay. I am no expert and just like reasonable quality shots.
Quite happy so far.
smalfalfa

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by smalfalfa
Review Date: 10/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $357.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility
Cons: shadowing

As a general travel lens this is brilliant. I use it on the Nikon D70 and D70s with great results on both. Having just returned from a trip to Northern Australia we managed a respectable 3000 shots through it in two weeks.


Some of the shots display shaowing around the edges at the 250 mm end but as long as you consider this when taking the photo these are easily removed br cropping.


The creep on the lens, if you do not have the lock on occurs very easily, and when you have the lock on you need to rememebr to flick it off quick when looking fo rthat grab shot.


I am very happy with the lens and when compared in price to the Nikon equivalent it comes up good for me.


The focusing can be a little disturbing some times and many reviews and comments have been made about this lens and it sfocusing. It can easily go past the shot and then back to minimum. PLaying around with the ofcusing gets it there but you can miss the shot if you are not careful.


Overall though I ma happy with the lens and like all things practice makes perfect and I am sure it will not take long and the shots will become better form this lens
hobbitofny

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by hobbitofny
Review Date: 7/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $495.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very wide range
Cons: bit soft at longer focal lengths 200mm+

I use this lens on a Sony A100. Not sure I would recommend use to someone using a camera with out image stablizing.


It equals result I have seen out of the Nikon zoom.


CA weaknesses in the lens correct in software like DxO Optic Pro 4.5.


I was very surprised at the lens' performance and sharpness.
Bold Eagle

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by Bold Eagle
Review Date: 6/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $480.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, compact, solid build, very good image quality, all metal mount
Cons: f/6.3 at the long end

I think the formal review hits the mark. Color and contrast are very good.


I use mine on a Canon Rebel XTi and AF is plenty quick enough and always very accurate. Without IS, the long end is a bit wobbly to hand hold (400 mm, equivalent).


This is the ideal travel lens. Not too big and heavy, well made, sharp and contrasty, very nice color. It's really longer than you need for most travel, but the long end is there if you do need it, and it's pretty sharp. You just need to brce it against something. I had a Sigma 18-125, and this lens is better and no bigger and heavier. I didn't like the Tamron 18-200, but tamron got it right this time around.


Macro at around 100 mm is sharp and flat field. All of the fine detail in a US $20 bill is there and nice and sharp. Plenty of magnification at closest focus.
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Tamron 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical IF Macro AF review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good optic results between 18-200, good colours and resolution
Cons: 200-250 isn´t so good, price

It´s a quiet good allrounder without strong weekness. Better than the 18-200-brother from Sigma. As well a bit better than the Tamron 18-200. Of course you will find some distortion and cornershading, but its really acceptable. The resolution is good between 18-200 and the colours are nice.
From travelling-zooms it´s the best choice, but still a bit expensive!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.