SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 126680 8/22/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $961.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.88
spacerspacer
9.75
1nikon105f2dca.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Macro Prime 35mm Defocus Tested


Kdavis

Registered: August 2014
Posts: 4
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by Kdavis
Review Date: 8/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focal Length, build, image quality
Cons:

One of my favorite. I love the focal length, even on my D7000. The defocus control seems pretty subtle, but it makes the lens special and I hope to hang on to this one for a life time.


I often wonder how the price will be affected for used copies once the lens is no longer in production. Guess I'll find out soon enough.
wolfbreath

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by wolfbreath
Review Date: 4/2/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp. Creamy bokeh. Excellent color rendition and contrasts.
Cons: Sometimes get CAs wide open. Required AF fine tuning on D7k (not that bad).

This lens is better than I expected. Image quality, build quality ...all of it. For portraits, or telephoto in general, I feel it's among the best lenses in existence from Nikon.


Only a couple of minor issues. Focal lenght is a little long on DX. Not that convenient in tight spaces obviously. Also, a number of people require using AF fine tune with this lens for higher res DSLR models now (including the D7000). Seems like a number of people have to set it at a range of +10-20 (mine is +10).


Once it's set, there's no real worries about autofocus accuracy.


This lens is rare and maybe a specialty lens, but it's solid. It's a keeper, highly recommended.
colinjames

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 8
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by colinjames
Review Date: 8/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $775.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, bokeh, price, hood, rear element, recessed front element, build
Cons: NONE

Superb IQ - FAST, Nice size, contrasty, built in hood a huge plus. I have owned several of Nikon's fastest lenses (85 1.4, all the 50mm's, 80-200, etc) This lens is special. You could do a photoshoot in a landfill and not take a bad picture. 105mm on full frame gives you more freedom than 135mm by far, and has better repro ratio and sharper wide open than 85mm as well. 1.4 is a hot mess for headshots - you always have an eye out of focus - heaven forbid you get the tip of the nose in focus oh jebus. Blows away 105mm VR.
maskinmoller

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 6
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by maskinmoller
Review Date: 3/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, bokeh, build quality,
Cons: none

This lens LOVES people and people loves, what this lens does to them.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 12/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, definition, shadows and highlights rendition, no CA....
Cons: none

This lens is simply perfect.
It's the well definited lens at f2 I've ever seen.
I've actually never use the DC, and never over f5.6.
italy74

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 8
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by italy74
Review Date: 4/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,588.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sharpness, bokeh and versatility
Cons: None

Surely the sharpest lens I have, it's able of a very fine detail even if it's not a macro lens. I'm enjoying also the DC feature for some kind of flou effect both on digital and film SLR. Definitely a must!
Iyhel

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by Iyhel
Review Date: 3/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness at any aperture, bokeh
Cons: A little heavy ?

Pin sharp all over its aperture range, especially from f/2 to f/5.6.


The "natural" bokeh is great and Defocus Control is just a little more fun.


Built solid and resilient. Manual focus ring is perfectly smooth.


It's heavy for a prime, but not so much, especially considering the f/2 aperture.


It doesn't get 10/10 just because there is a recurrent frontfocus problem in some series (mine... easily fixed by Nikon under warranty however) and at this price point, it's a pity that they don't control it and fix it at manufacture. So just don't get it second hand if you cannot test it and get any problem fixed under warranty.


Probably my favourite lens along with the 180/2.8. Since I have it, I have been considering changing my DSLR (currently D50) to get a better viewer as it is sometimes hard to use manually with such a shallow depth of field !


I put some samples to show the DC effect there : http://iyhel.free.fr/laodh/spip.php?article19 (sorry, that's in French only for now).
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $806.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Contrction and optical quality.
Cons: Not found. Some would want faster AF.

10+10+10. Farther explanatios not needed. Price is OK for what you get.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.