Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
6 68038 4/20/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,095.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Prime 35mm Defocus


Registered: July 2014
Posts: 4
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by VS
Review Date: 4/20/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Good sharpness. Beautiful drawing features to control these patterns. Beautiful bokeh, DC works very well. Robust design. Optimal weight.
Cons: Not found.

Excellent bokeh, drawing clean, with the finest detailing all over the field at any aperture.
Fast and accurate AF with the D750. Shoot moving people in a dynamic mode (3D, Grp), the share of misses was small.
The most optimal weight, is approximately equal to the weight of the camera, which is well balanced camera.
DC allows to adjust within a wide range and quality of the light scattering pattern blur. For me it was the discovery of how good and interesting work DC.
I really liked the lens, a remarkable creation Nikon. Indeed, the "King of the portrait."

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by lightknight
Review Date: 5/24/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

Pros: Bokeh, definition, DC control, perfect portrait length on FX IMO. Did I mention Bokeh?
Cons: Lacks contrast at F2.0

I am lucky enough to have this often misunderstood lens. I dont know of any other lens offering such smooth creamy Bokeh. The thing is, that you never have to work for it: if you know what you are doing the bokeh just happens provided you work the DC control properly. I also own a Olympus 75mm 1.8. The Oly is much sharper has heaps of contrast and good bokeh but you have to work for it paying lots of attention to working distance and subject placement. But even then is lacks the little bit of magic the 135 F2 brings.

To give you an idea I recently made a shot of some wine in a kitchen with an Oly M1 in focus. The bottle was just 2-3 inches behind. Not only was it completely out of focus the blur was smooth as can be, while some background kitchen cupboards 9 ft away were completely indiscernible - just a smooth wash white colour.

My recommendation is to buy one and see what it can do for you. Just match the DC control to the aperture you are using in either F or R (Front, Rear) to emphasise the blur either behind or in front. Hay presto. If you cannot see the difference the DC control provides then you are probably more interested in making test shots than taking real photos of real things.

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/11/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $950.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Image quality, build quality
Cons: slow AF, old design

one of Nikon's jewel. Work in portraits? this is your lens then. the "DC" means it has the magic for bokeh control.. and the bokeh is as delicious as promised. The lens also has that sturdy nikon-classics build.

Nikon should really update this lens. this lens is perfect from IQ department, but it would be really nice if Nikon update its focusing system & lens design.

I love this lens, but in the end I gave it up to Canon's 135/2L for the usability (faster AF, better design, slightly lighter & cheaper).

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by ddk
Review Date: 8/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,050.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Light weight, compact telephot with great IQ, one of Nikons best.
Cons: Slight CA at some apertures

This has to be one of my favorite all time Nikkors and portrait lenses. The rendering and IQ of this lens is extremely beautiful and elegant. Really and amazing portrait lens even without the DC control. The defocus adds another dimension to this beautiful lens. Its sharp without being harsh or gross like the 17-55/2.8, I just can't say enough about its woderful qualities.

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,080.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Costruction and optical quality
Cons: Not found. Some would want faster AF. Price.

10+10+10. farther explanations not needed.
Das Bosun

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF DC Nikkor review by Das Bosun
Review Date: 11/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

Pros: A compact telephoto lens which is far cheaper than the AF-S 200mm f/2G lens
Cons: The built in sliding lens hood is good, I just wish Nikon had made it longer.

AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D

All of my lens test/comparisons were performed on a Nikon D2x (reduced frame, 1.5x 12.2MP CMOS sensor). The camera was set to mirror lock-up, mounted on a tripod and fired with the MC-30 cable release. The test exposures were captured as NEF raw files and compared with no image sharpening.

The Defocus Control (DC) is nothing short of a gimmick if you ask me. I’ve tested it and realistically it just turns what is a reasonable optic into a soft focus lens. For critical sharpness this lens is best operated without Defocus Control

The built in sliding lens hood is a cool idea, I just wish Nikon had made it longer.

The 135mm DC lens really shines when set to around f/4 OR f/5.6. Wide open at f/2 images are usable, but lack 'micro contrast'. Micro contrast improves when the lens is stopped down to f/2.8

Mounted on a D2x the auto focus of the 135mm f/2D is not too far off the quiet and speed offered by an AF-S lens. Mounted on the Nikon D70 the same lens becomes noisier and is more prone to ‘searching’ in low light. Regardless of the camera model precision auto focus can be hit and miss at times. With this lens pay close attention to where the camera actually locks focus.

Edge sharpness is fantastic, whilst chromatic aberrations and vignetting are very well controlled.

Note: these are subjective results that may not reflect your particular sample OR use of this lens.

Das Bosun


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.