SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 86174 11/28/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
89% of reviewers $87.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
7.75
spacerspacer
7.38
nikon18-55f35-56II.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C DX AF-S II


moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by moose
Review Date: 11/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, fast and sharp as a tack
Cons: none

Nikon professional user. This lens is a little cracker! Every camera bag should have one. Great on the D40, D300 and D200 if you want a portable bit of kit.
Niel

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by Niel
Review Date: 8/29/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $25.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Construction

Bought mine dirt cheap with the usual broken mount, replaced the mount off an earlier version that had fallen apart (front assembly fell out one day) and its fine.
Replacement for my original D50 kit non-AF-S lens its AF-S motor makes it quieter and faster to focus, still has that plastic mount though, D50 wears a Tamron 18-200 now, but this one still gets used by my son on my D1h, better he breaks the lenses mount than the camera!
GroZZ

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by GroZZ
Review Date: 3/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Cheap and light, VERY sharp when stopped down, autofocus relatively fast&quiet
Cons: Slow max. aperture, bad build quality, low contrast at 18 mm f/3.5

photozone.de claims that "you may find the resolution figures of this lens astonishing and maybe hard to beleive". I didn't beleive that either... Until I've made some portraits at 55 mm, F/8. Had to soften the images in Photoshop a bit because this lens seems to be too sharp for portraits - it actually outresolves a 6 MP sensor of my D40. There's some barrel distortion at the wide end, but it's no big deal for me. CA is nothing to worry about, too (esp. compared to Canon S3 superzoom I previously had). AF does hunt sometimes in low light (especially at the telephoto end of the range), but this issue has been solved as soon as I bought an SB-600 with its dedicated AF assist.


Yes, the buid quality is so-so, and this is not quite an AF-S lens (no AF override), but for the price, you'd get EITHER decent optics OR good build quality. Among Nikon lenses at this focal range, only AF-S 17-55 f/2.8 (which is pricey) can be considered as a significant improvement in terms of IQ. AF-S 18-70 doesn't seem to be much better in this regard.


I'd probably keep this lens and get a fast prime for low-light shooting (like the upcoming Sigma 50mm f/1.4 HSM).
Keyroo

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 8
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by Keyroo
Review Date: 10/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, better that canon kit lenses, very clear for a low end lens
Cons: very loose, cheap construction, blurry around outside of picture, slow autofocus

For a kit lens this thing is great, much better than the kit lenses that come with the rebel xti etc,
i found the autofocus to be quite slow and hunts a lot in low light (the body i'm using doens't help that though)
one thing i did find very impressive on this is close ups, the focal distance for close ups, (bugs etc) is closer than nikon claims.
the construction is very loose and rattly but it is just a entry level kit lens,
great for getting started and learning about photography.
Razzd

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by Razzd
Review Date: 2/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fantastic Kit lens, quiet and relatively fast
Cons: If tele end were higher than 55mm, it'd be an outstanding kit lens

Fantastic kit lens, works well out of the box with my D40. Far better than my previous kit lens that came with my Canon Rebel XT (350D). Focuses relatively fast for a kit lens, image quality is more than acceptable across the zoom range. Can't ask for more.
TorontoJim

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by TorontoJim
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Image quality at middle range is very good
Cons: corner vignetting at 18mm is terrible, lens stay protracted when turned off, focussing ring is tiny

This lens came with the D50 kit.


It is lightweight and build quality appears good. However, I don't think it will withstand the test of time and frequent use. It is clearly meant for the average consumer who will keep their camera in their bag, take some shots on a vacation or at a wedding, or carry around their neck. That's no slight at all to the people who photograph as such, but just to separate this lens from the genre of Nikon amateur/professional lenses. It's a kit lens, and you get what you pay for.


Images come out sharp at the middle ranges of the zoom at at higher f-stops. With the aperture below f-8, I found the images to be a bit soft. The zoom mechanism is not the fastest, but it is quiet and mostly accurate.


The manual focussing is a ridiculous little grooved ring at the outer end of the lens. Perhaps Nikon has assumed that users of this lens will use autofocus most of the time? One very irritating function is the retraction of the lens when you power-off. The inner barrel of the lens stays in it's positioned based on where it was focussing on. To really close the lens down to it's retracted position, you need to switch the lens from A (auto) to M (manual) using the little toggle switch on the side, then manually rotate the focussing ring to close the lens fully.


It's a Nikon lens, that is better than many other kit lenses of this zoom range. However, you should consider looking at just buying the body for the D50 and testing other lenses. If you already have a body and are considering this lens, you would be better off buying another zoom range that has a better quality.
cvizler

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by cvizler
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, sharp
Cons: Has a week point at 5.6/55 mm

Optical quality: Not bad at all. I am a big fan of normal zooms, previously I used Canon FD 3.5-4.5/35-70, 3.5-4.5/35-105, 3.5/35-105, SIGMA 3.5-4.5/28-70 for Canon FD, Zeiss 3.5-4.5/28-70 for Contax and Canon EF 3.5-4.5/28-70 II for EOS, and it beats them all, except for the not widely known and truly superb Canon EF. Distorsion is not bad for a zoom starting at the equivalent of 28 mm. Flare control is better than with most 35 mm amateaur zooms. At the wide end it is fairly sharp wide open and reaches its optimum at F8. At 55 mm it is visibly less sharp until stopped down to F11, where it becomes really good.


It is small and light, but not very solidly built. The AF is not fast, although it is is quite silent. For the price I would not expect better build quality, although the specific hood should be included.
archaney

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by archaney
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, queit, quick autofocus, good general purpose lens
Cons: Small manual focus ring, play in manual focus ring

This lens is an excellent inexpensive general purpose lens that will fit the needs of most casual shooters. The lens offers quality images thoughout its zoom range, focuses quick and is virtually silent.


I have used the lens with good results for both landscapes and for portraits where the space was too limited for shooting with longer lenses.
Nix3210

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S Nikkor review by Nix3210
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Quality
Cons: none

Great kit lens better than other brands kit lens


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.