SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 26278 11/28/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $544.17
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.17
spacerspacer
9.33
nikon-d40.jpg



  • 6.1-megapixel DX format CCD, 3,008 x 2,000 pixel images
  • ISO from 200 to 1,600 ("ISO Boost" to 3,200)
  • 2.5fps for up to 100 JPEGs; 0.18s power-up
  • Selectable 3-area AF
  • 2.5-inch LCD with 170-degree viewing angle
  • In-camera image editing and effects
  • SD memory card, SDHC compliant
  • Nikon's smallest, lightest and most affordable DSLR yet

The Nikon D40 retains the six megapixel image sensor used in the D50, housed in a body that sets an impressive benchmark among its Nikon DSLR siblings in terms of miniaturization. Body size and weight is similar to Canon's EOS Digital Rebel XTi or Pentax's K100D, despite the fact that many features in the higher-res (and higher-priced) D80 model have made their way into the D40. A couple of changes are unique to the D40, however. Most significantly, the Nikon D40 doesn't include a focus motor in the camera body, saving some cost / weight / size while dropping compatibility for some older lenses. Instead the D40 relies on the fact that recent Nikkor lenses have tended to integrate a motor already. Photographers with a large stock of Nikon glass are unlikely to be considering an entry-level camera anyway, and new SLR users will be unlikely to notice the subtraction of some backwards compatibility. The D40's AF system spec is also reduced somewhat as compared to the camera's top-shelf siblings, with just three AF points (as compared to in the D50, and 11 in the D80).


Other features of the Nikon D40 include a 2.5" LCD display with 230,000 pixels, a new help system accessible via a dedicated "i" button on the camera body, Nikon's iTTL flash metering, and 2.5 frames-per-second burst shooting capability. The D40 also offers RAW / JPEG / RAW+JPEG file formats, shutter speeds from 30 to 1/4000 second, flash sync at 1/500 second, ISO sensitivity from 200 - 1600 with a 3200 boost, and metering courtesy of a 420-segment matrix sensor.


The Nikon D40 will ship from December, priced at US$599 with an 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II kit lens. (Nikon tells us that the camera will only be offered as a kit, the body and lens will not be available separately.)


See our full review at imaging-resource.com. Or post your own review below!


Keywords: Nikon SLR SD APS-C 6MP


moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon D40 review by moose
Review Date: 11/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light and portable
Cons: none

Nikon professional user. The D40 is the spare camera to have in your pro bag. It is ultra light and has a great sensor and autofocus system.


I use it with the Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8. In the right hands it can match the bigger Nikons for performance.
paulyb

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon D40 review by paulyb
Review Date: 10/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Dummy proof, light, image quality, good battery life, bright LCD, great viewfinder
Cons: limited to AF-S lenses, 3 point autofocus could be better

This camera is so easy to use, I've picked up non-SLR compact cameras afterwards and been left flummoxed by the awkwardness of small cameras and buttons to press. This camera is a true point and shoot.


My wife is anti-gadget, but simply loves this camera and will not return to a non-SLR. As far as I'm concerned that is an endorsement worthy of note.


It's light enough to carry in a baby changing bag, and with a SB400 flashgun, it's impressed others enough to also buy one. If you can show off just how great this camera +SB400 combination can make children look at the touch of a button, ALL parents would buy it.


I much prefer the old D50 for handling, and rather wish I hadn't spilt orange juice all over it. But, the D40 was a worthy replacement. If you look to expand your lens collection, I'd probably not buy a D40 as it is limited to the few AFS lenses on the market (or Sigma HSM). However, how many lenses do you need? At the current price, it's a steal. And don't be lured into higher megapixel cameras, with the SB400 flashgun and possible addition of a VR lens, the pictures are razor sharp, bright, and will knock socks off higher price higher megapixel alternatives for less money.


This D40 still has plenty of life in it.
Yucky125

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 1
Nikon D40 review by Yucky125
Review Date: 8/30/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very useful
Cons:

Very good reasonable for 600+
melondinnye

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 1
Nikon D40 review by melondinnye
Review Date: 7/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice ergonomics, lightweight, dedicated af assist lamp
Cons: Somewhat limited lens range, no exposure bracketing, no dof preview

I purchased this camera as my first DSLR. It is very small and lightweight but still has first class ergonomics. I suggest you try to hold it in your hand before buying as people with large hands might not feel comfortable compared to the bigger Nikons. Of course you can't compare the build quality to the more professional bodies but it's very decent and feels solid, definitely doesn't feel cheap to me.


The lack of the internal AF motor shouldn't be a showstopper if you know what lens are you going to buy afterwards. If primes with autofocus is a primary concern, just get a D80. If not and you get along with zooms, you'll be fine.


Despite of being (or controversally - thanks to) the 6mp only sensor it produces sharp, noise-free and beautiful images even with the kit lens under the right circumstances. Highly recommended for first time slr users.
ArunasM

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon D40 review by ArunasM
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $575.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, features, high ISO sensitivity, large LCD display, large viewfinde, price
Cons: Lack of AF motor, depth of field preview, CLS control

I purchased the Nikon D40 as a complement to my D200 D-SLR. I was interested in getting a smaller and lighter SLR to use for both a carry-around camera (instead of a simple point and shoot), and as a second body.


The menu controls and interfaces are familiar to users of the Nikon D-SLRS, but also with additional help and in-camera processing features from the newer D80. I have had to adjust to using the rear display only (instead of the removed top panel LCD on all previous Nikon D-SLRs), but this only has taken me a few days. Despite the need to look at the back of the camera for frequently needed adjustments or information, the large and bright screen provides more information than was present, even on the larger D200 top-mounted LCD. Fortunately, many adjustments can be made right through the viewfinder, such as aperture setting in aperture priority mode - without taking your eye off your subject.


I was attracted primarily by the smaller size, lower weight, low high ISO noise, big and high resolution rear LCD and low price. My initial experience is that the high ISO performance at ISO 1600 is roughly comparable to the D200 at full resolution at ISO 800, a definate improvement (larger pixels do help). For casual shooting, I have found that the 3 zone focus system works reliably, but I haven't attempted any sports or action photography with the D40 yet. In very low indoor light however, the D40 focus has hunted for focus on a max F5.6 zoom (18-200 AF-S VR), where I don't recall the same occuring for the D200.


Out of camera exposure, colour and contrast are excellent with the the lenses I have used, except for a greater tendancy to expose for the darker part of images, instead of protecting highlight detail. On my D70, I would frequently shoot at exposure compensation of +0.7 EV to brighten images, at the expense of occasionally blown highlights. From my initial experience the D40 produce fewer darker images with no exposure compensation, but this has produced several with blown highlights. Depending on your preferences, this may be an advantage.


Image sharpness was very similar to the D70 (which is excellent for a 6 MP sensor), with somewhat lower anti-aliasing/ demosaicing artificacts in fine line detail. Noise is very low too through ISO 800, and I found ISO 1600 usable in tungsten lighting for images to be printed to at least 8X12 or maybe 12X18 inches (using the .nef RAW images).


I have a number of AF-S lenses, so the lack of AF motor didn't influence my decision greatly. The D40 meters the older AF series lenses properly, and also provides a convenient focus indicator to assist in focus.


Overall a great addition to the Nikon lineup!
JoSKaT

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon D40 review by JoSKaT
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small but sturdy, easy to use
Cons: NONE

I have a nikon d80, had there been a nikon d40 when i purchased my camera i would have bought this one instead.
A friend of mine got this for Christmas and i handled it myself. One thing that's really surprising about this camera is when you pick it up. It's small but your fingers and your palm goes to the right places. It's not cramp like canon rebel's.
The picture quality if superb from a 6 megapixel camera. Trust me, there's almost no quality diminished compared to my D80 unless you do a lot of cropping. The metering system is the same.
Dont get hung up on the fact that this has no lens motor, the newer nikon lenses have built in motor so you'd be fine with it.
The affordability, ergonomics and picture quality on this thing is superb. So if you are just now starting to get into DSLR, you might want to try this one. You'd be sold. Another winner from Nikon.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.