SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 52263 1/4/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $3,100.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.50
1nikon300f28a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Prime 35mm AF-S II


Cliff3

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 300mm f/2.8D ED-IF II AF-S Nikkor review by Cliff3
Review Date: 1/4/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $3,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optics, build
Cons: Tripod collar

I bought my copy of this lens used in February 2009. I have shot around 25,000 photos with it since that time. I use it with a D700. I have TC14E and TC20E II teleconverters as well as a C-PL1L circular polarizer that I use with this lens. This is a brilliant lens.


This is a big heavy lens. I mostly shoot motorsports, and I normally shoot with the lens on a monopod. It is capable of producing stunning images. It works very well with the TC14E, and reasonably well with the TC20E II.


I have had less success with the lens mounted in a tripod (Arca-Swiss B1 ballhead and Gitzo Mountaineer legs using a RRS foot) at slower shutter speeds (> 1/100). The tripod collar may be partly to blame, but at this point I am more inclined to blame my technique. Additional practice should let me refine that opinion.
genotypewriter

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 12
Nikon 300mm f/2.8D ED-IF II AF-S Nikkor review by genotypewriter
Review Date: 6/17/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optics, build, mechanics... everything's great
Cons: No benefits worth $700 over the older Canon 300 2.8 IS

Here's my sharpness comparison of the Nikon 300 2.8 VR vs. the Canon 300 2.8 IS (both on a 5D Mark II):


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/3852798932/


As we speak, B&H advertises the Nikon at USD5200 and the Canon at USD 4500. Although there's such a high price premium over the Canon, the Nikon offers practically nothing extra over the much older Canon, apart from slightly better IS.


Here is also a bokeh comparison that I did, comparing the 300 2.8 VR, 300 2.8 IS (and also the Sigma 120-300 2.8):


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/tags/300mmf28bokehtest/
exnihiloman

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 300mm f/2.8D ED-IF II AF-S Nikkor review by exnihiloman
Review Date: 9/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Crisp focus, quite, f2.8 and great bokeh.
Cons: Large and heavy.

I recently rented this lens for a concert at my church. We have some poor lighting and I wondered how the lens would perform. Turns out the lens performed as I expected. Got lots of nice crisp shots from various angles. Moving around in a dark auditorium was a tad awkward, though. A couple days later I set up my camera on a tripod in a busy atrium/foyer area and got some outstanding candids with natural light coming through translucent skylights. If I had the dough I'd get one for me.
ggriffith

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Nikon 300mm f/2.8D ED-IF II AF-S Nikkor review by ggriffith
Review Date: 10/19/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good Focus, Very Durable!
Cons: It's BIG

Very good lens. The newspaper I work for has a handful of these for their D2h bodies and after using it to shoot speeches, sports, and other media events I've been pretty happy. Coming from the Canon camp and shooting both this was a comfortable lens to use and the focus was pretty accurate.


I like it and would recommend it. Sorry I can't tell you about price, but I didn't have to fit the bill. Smile


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.