SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 246454 12/9/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,465.40
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.57
spacerspacer
9.29
spacerspacer
9.43
canon16-35f28l2.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Zoom 35mm L USM Tested


Rover

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 13
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by Rover
Review Date: 12/9/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, silent and accurate AF, tough build, ...
Cons: ?

I bought this lens rather cheaply because of the damaged front part of the barrel with warped filter thread. Looked horrible but the filter could still be mounted. I got that fixed later while repairing an unrelated damage case.
This lens is very sharp except in the outer corners at wider apertures (usually doesn't matter much). The AF is fast, silent and very accurate - addictive! Smile Great weathersealed build that helped me a lot in the deserts of China and the dusty highland of Tenerife.
I really can't think of any meaningful cons within the specification (16-35mm, f/2.8). It could've been wider but it would've been a different lens already...
ddoy2k

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 3
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by ddoy2k
Review Date: 7/1/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality
Cons: None

I was lucky to have purchased one of the best copies for this lens . . . ultra sharp from 16mm through 35mm. This is a must have lens if you do a lot of group shots especially for weddings. Like all of the other "L" series, it is overpriced but you get what you pay for.
magiclight

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by magiclight
Review Date: 10/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast, good resolution, good constrution, nice contrast and colour.
Cons: slightly soft in the outer zone with a 1DS3

This lens is Canon's best and newest wide angle zoom and out performs my 17-40mm f4 by a small margin.


It is well built and has nice contrast. As with most lenses it performs better when stopped down and vignettes slightly at f2.8.


On my full frame 1DS Mrk3 the lens is very sharp in the center and slightly soft in the outer zone, even when stopped down. This is noticeable on an A2 print. Unfortunately the lens isn't in the same class as the Nikon 14-24mm f2.8.
f43tgv

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 16
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by f43tgv
Review Date: 10/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp,extremely well built, future-proof
Cons: very expensive

I have recently bought this lens in the UK to go with a Canon 5D, as the cheapest way into full frame, even though I am at heart a Nikon user. Cant run to a D700 sadly.
I have used a 17-40L before on crop Canon bodies and first impressions are that it is at least as good, the extra 1mm of angle does make quite a difference.


I note there does seem to be some sample variation from other posts, the same with all marques I am afraid, QC seems to have gone down the tubes in the last few years, wonder why?


The lens is sharp at all apertures, some vignetting at the wider end, and colour and contrast are all you could possibly ask for. Canon always seem quite a little cheaper than Nikon for their pro spec lenses, even so I would not have paid the new price for this lens, my copy is mint used, as is all mt gear.


In short, if you want a wideangle for full frame Canon there is effectively a choice of two, this and the 17-40 L. Cheaper lenses really suffer on full frame, dont be tempted to go there.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 1/30/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,579.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, clarity, contrast, and colors are excellent!
Cons: None really, except that it's a bit expensive.

Even though the Canon EF 16-35 f/2.8 L II USM is and expensive lens, I would highly recommend it. The AF is extremely quiet and very fast; it gives a high image quality!


Pros: Sharpness, clarity, contrast, and colors are excellent!


Cons: None really, except that it's a bit expensive.


Here are some sample shots taken with a Canon 30D


Lex
Huib

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by Huib
Review Date: 10/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Contrast
Cons: 82mm

If you can find a good copy of this lens I can recommand this lens. But I have tested 3 others lenses on a 1Ds2 which were not better then the Mark1
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM review by mebailey
Review Date: 4/29/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,598.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sharpness across focal range. Very sharp at f/2.8. Fast, silent focusing. Does not require thin filters. Awesome build.
Cons: Expensive filters

One of the finest zooms I have used. It ranks right up there with the 24-70L. It compares favorably with primes in its focal range. The larger filters are a pain but allow regular thickness filters without vignetting (even on FF). The edge sharpness is excellent but I dont have a Mk1 to compare to. If you need an ultra wide angle (especially for a FF) this lens is well worth considering.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.