SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 107105 4/3/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $130.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
9.17
spacerspacer
8.86
olympus40-150f4-56.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Tele Zoom Four-Thirds ED Tested


Easy

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 6
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by Easy
Review Date: 4/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very compact, good handling and build, great IQ
Cons: Plastic Mount

One of the best kit lens ever.
Very useful focal range, but not long enough for me.
CDAF is a bonus for M4/3 users.
aostling

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 4
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by aostling
Review Date: 8/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $199.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: accepts 58mm achromatic Canon close-up lens
Cons:

I will wait until I have more shooting experience before rating the lens IQ. But I want to correct the impression that the field of view is not a true 150mm at the long end. I tested it against a Minolta MD 135mm f3.5 lens mounted via an adapter, and there clearly WAS a significant difference between the fields of view. I have no reason to distrust the labeled focal length.
moonrider

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by moonrider
Review Date: 11/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Here's a post I came across in another forum:


"I got this lens for my E-510, and for the price it's a great outdoor lens. But in the course of doing some experiments to try to work out various IS and focusing issues with legacy lenses, I had occassion to test it against a couple of Zuiko OM primes (135mm/f4.5 macro and 50mm/f1.4) and discovered, to my surprise, that at the "135mm" setting, the 40-150mm kit lens was considerably wider than the OM 135mm. It gets the same magnification only at its maximum "150mm" setting; and at that "150mm" setting, wide open (nominal f5.6), it seemed about a half-stop slower than the OM 135mm stopped down to f5.6."


TTesting against the 50mm OM, the 40-150mm kit lens had to be set at "53mm" to get the same FoV (I didn't test exposure)."


"So the "40-150mm f4-5.6" kit lens would be more accurately labeled a "43-135mm f4-6.3" lens. Still a bargain for the price, but some truth in labelling would be nice. And the recorded EXIF data on focal length and exposure with this lens will be somewhat off."


How come SLR Gear didn't bother to measure the actual (as distinct from advertised) focal lengths and zoom ratio? (No one else seems to have, either.)
logbi77

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 3
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by logbi77
Review Date: 3/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $102.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, Cheap, Small
Cons: Slow Aperture, Plastic mount

I bought this lens used, and for what it is, it is a good lens. It is relatively cheap, in comparison to other manufacturer's kit telephoto zoom, as the e-520 has its own stabilization in the body. It is also very small and lightweight, and fits my small bag. A great piece of telephoto zoom for what it is worth.
ktwse

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 11
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by ktwse
Review Date: 3/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, weight and size (especially given the focal range), IQ
Cons: IQ not as great towards the long end, a bit slow (aperture and AF)

The perfect companion to the 14-42 and usually sold as part of the double zoom kit, this lens definitely is a worthy addition even if bought separately.


If you, like me, don't use telezooms that much then this just might do the trick better than more expensive options such as the ZD 50-200 (which admittedly is a far better lens).


The IQ is very good, especially at the wide end. My experience is that it becomes gradually worse, but the difference is not dramatic and when it comes to sharpness and contrast I do think that this lens stands head and shoulders above eg the Nikkor 70-300 on a D700...


Build quality is decent enough and the focus ring is smooth and broad enough to be useful. Non-rotating front element is a huge bonus for filter users. The AF could be snappier and the max aperture might be considered a bit slow (although not unusual for a kit telezoom), but all in all this is another very good lens from Olympus.
Karellen

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 3
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by Karellen
Review Date: 2/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lowest blur in its class; small and lightweight
Cons: Lens hood needed to control flare; plastic mount

The brilliantly engineered Zuiko 40-150 joins the 9-18, 14-42, 70-300, and 35 macro in Olympus's class-leading family of consumer DSLR optics. Its sharpness results here on Slrgear are simply astonishing. At f/8 the 40-150's blur index is 1.0-1.5 center-to-edge, and mostly below 2.0 all the way from f/5.6 to f/16! Cost is $100 in an Olympus DSLR kit.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 40-150mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 11/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $129.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, sharpness, fast AF
Cons: focal lenght

The best kit lens i've ever seen. Sony doesn't even have a chance.


Lightweight, fits in a small pouch. Easy to carry.


The focal lenght could be more convenient.


40-200 / 4.0 - 5.6 would be the ideal range
I think this would be feasible without the need of moving to Pro.


Anyway, the IQ is very good and i cannot complain.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.