SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 256321 11/20/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $649.44
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.17
spacerspacer
9.08
spacerspacer
8.25
tamron70-200f28macro.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Tele Zoom 35mm Di LD SP Tested


claus

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 5
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by claus
Review Date: 11/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $497.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp (!) and low weight
Cons: AF is on the slower side

No VR and no weathersealing but very high optical performance at a price you can't withstand.
Tested with a D700, D5100 and D600.
.
betopdx

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by betopdx
Review Date: 2/1/2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: none
Cons: Poor construction, lame material

I bought this lens at B&H on 10/15/10. I thought it would last at least 10-15 years of use. Last new year's day (12/31/12) I tried to take some pictures and I realize that there was NO focus, automatic or manual. The manual focus was extremely hard to turn, so I decided to send it to Tamron to repair, since I did take the 6 years guarantee that they offer. Last week I receive the veredict: my lens were broken inside! They say that were sign of shock... It never has been subdued to shocks... I wonder where, 'cause it was in two possible places: at my hands or inside a LowePro SlingShot 302 AW. Weird... I do care for all my electronics (video, audio, computers) and I do have a Minolta X-300 with lens that I bought in Germany in 1991, it still works today...
msalup

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by msalup
Review Date: 8/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp; large lens; easy to focus manually
Cons: very heavy; shallow dof at low aperture

I bought it used and am very happy with it.


In a single day I took over 600 pictures with this lens. It does tend to get heavy by the end of the day and sometimes the auto focus is a bit slow


However, the pictures were super sharp, very pleasing perspective and the lens is a delight to work with.
Tord

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 20
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by Tord
Review Date: 9/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A lot of quality for fairly little money & love at first sight!
Cons: Not WR, not VR (aka OIS), nor dust-proof!

This is an outstanding lens, considering its low weight, super sharp optics, and fairly low price. And it is also a fairly competent macro lens.


You can't buy an equally competent lens for a similar cost, no matter what make :-)!
Pentaxpastor

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by Pentaxpastor
Review Date: 3/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great build, super sharp, great macro performance
Cons: Slow autofocus, tripod collar

This is the best lens in my bag on many counts. It's sharp as a tack and consistently takes incredible pictures. I also have the much cheaper, but also well rated Sigma 70-300 APO 4-5.6 and there is no comparison in the pictures from the two lens.


Like all lens, this one won't make you a great photographer, but it certainly does provide a photographer with the quality glass necessary to take exceptional pictures.


While not a true macro lens I especially love the close ups this lens takes, they are remarkable. The primary subject will be tack sharp and the background will have that truly beautiful dreamy bokeh.


A downside of the lens is that autofocus is not fast and at times the lens will hunt for focus. I love being a Pentax shooter, but on my K10, this isn't a great lens in that regard. The K10 is a bit slow to begin with and this lens magnifies that. I hope it becomes less of an issue when I upgrade to the K-7 shortly.
My only other complaint is that while the tripod collar is well made, it's not quick on and off and the screw can cross thread even when I'm being careful.


I would probably buy this lens again, but after owning it for 9 months, would also take a close look at the Sigma 70-200 2.8 just because focus is stronger on that model. However, the Sigma doesn't have the great macro performance this lens does, so I would probably end up at the same place all over again because this really is a great lens.
Rygel

Registered: February 2010
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by Rygel
Review Date: 2/1/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: very sharp
Cons: Focusing is just painful, no stabilization

All the reviews I've read on this said not to use it for sport. I see why now. I tried to use it for swimming, a fairly slow moving sport (compared to others). I didn't think there would be a problem go by instead of at or away from you. I was wrong. In continuous focus mode on a nikon D300 I could not get the lens to focus where I wanted. I don't have this problem with any other lens.


I have the Tamrom 200-500mm (my favorite piece of glass). I was thinking this 70-200 was a compacted version if the 200-500. It definitely is not. I use the 200-500 for swimming, don't have any problem getting lots of good shots. I just don't need that much zoom at most pools.

I've tried it for other shots, again it does not always focus where you tell it to. I can't check every shot to see if I need to redo it. The shots I did get were great, with out a flash. If this would have focused even close to my nikon 18-200mm it would have replaced it for 90% of my shooting. Instead I returned it.
alemdar

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by alemdar
Review Date: 7/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Excellent image quality lens..
J0R0

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by J0R0
Review Date: 4/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Exelent


sample photos with camera Fuji S5 Pro:


http://photo-forum.net/forum/read.php?f=1&i=1009499&t=1009499&phorum_uriauth=
wsandman1

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by wsandman1
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Near Macro Performance, Light size & weight for lens type
Cons: slow AF, somewhat noisy

I found this to be an excellent lens for photographing plants/flowers and also very good for most wedding photography. I was planning o repacing my Canon 70 - 200 F4 with this one. However, it's too slow for sports. I will definitely keep it but I won't be able to get rid of my old Canon F4 version of this focal length. I found the quality to be on par with the Canon and the ability to shoot at 2.8 to be advantageous over the F4 lens indooors. I forgot to add that I have a full frame camera (5d).
tthomsen

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 4
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by tthomsen
Review Date: 12/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very high center and corner resolution even at wide apertures, very good color reproduction and contrast, relative low price for the given optical performance
Cons: Slow focusing speed

My copy has on the Sony DSLR-A300 a center resolution of 2000 to 2300 LPH and corner resolution is typically between 1900 to 2200 LPH, measured for apertures from f2.8 up to f8. One exception from this is the 200mm focal length, where corner resolution is between 1800 to 1900 LPH. Those values are quite impressive, particularly the very high corner resolution. Such little fall-off of corner resolution as compared to the very high center resultion shows the optical excellence of this lens. I use the lens from its lowest aperture of f2.8 up to f11 at all focal lengths.


Slight chromatic aberration is noticeable in the corners at the two focal length extremes of 70mm and 200mm, but is almost unnoticeable at other focal lengths and disappears towards the center. I did not notice any distortion, vignetting or flare that is worth mentioning. Color and contrast are natural and quite attractive. Out-of-focus blur is, for my taste, very nice. Build-quality is acceptable for amateur-use. Focusing can be very slow, if the lens has to travel a long distance to find the focus, but has typically been very accurate. If you do sports photography, you need to pre-focus the lens to be ready in time.


To increase the maximum focal length to 280mm, I use the Kenko 1.4x Teleplus Pro 300 teleconverter. Center resolution drops by about 200 to 300 LPH in the center and 300 to 400 LPH at the corners. Given the already high resolution of the lens without teleconverter, you still get photos of quite acceptable quality when using this teleconverter. Chromatic aberration appears to me very slightly increased in the corners, when directly comparing images. I do not notice deterioration of color, contrast, distortion or vignetting. Please note, that the actual aperture values are reduced by 1.4x, but the camera does not show this reduction on the display. For instance, if the camera shows an aperture of f2.8, you actually have an aperture of f4.0 when using the teleconverter. Exposure times are increased correspondingly.


Overall the lens is absolutelly usable through its entire focal length, even at its highest aperture. The optical performance is just outstanding. Combined with the Kenko 1.4x Teleplus Pro 300 teleconverter, you can see a slight drop in image quality, which is expected, but the images are still very good and clearly outperform such lenses than the Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 or the Minolta AF 100-300 F4.5-5.6 APO, who cover this range without teleconverter.
jonnyapple

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 6
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by jonnyapple
Review Date: 10/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality, MFD, cheap, fast,
Cons: slow AF, no image stabilization, no range limiting switch

I couldn't afford the 70-200 f/2.8 VR, and this one is a bargain at ~$1000 less. It seems a bit soft at 200mm and 2.8, but sharp everywhere else. I tried the 80-200 f/2.8 nikkor, and this is probably sharper than that lens wide open, and focuses at about 3 feet as well.


Speaking of focus, that's one downside here, as Lex mentioned below. It's kind of slow, especially if you have to go through the whole range (maybe partly a tradeoff for doing better macro than the name brand lenses), and every once in a while it seems like the camera is jumping back and forth past the proper focus. I don't agree that the AF is loud, though. It's very quiet on the Nikon mount model. One note: some macro lenses (the tamron 90mm macro, for instance) have a smaller maximum aperture at close focus, but this keeps 2.8 no matter the focus distance. I would like to have a focus range limiting switch to be able to keep it from focusing closer than 3 meters or so.


Bokeh is very nice. Image stabilization would be useful.


In all, not much to complain about. It's got the important things down unless you're a serious fast sports shooter.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro SP AF review by lextalionis
Review Date: 7/17/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light and closer MFD than the rest of the 70-200
Cons: Loud and slow AF and no FTM focusing available.

The image quality is very very good, on par with the Sigma but a bit less than the Canon series.


It's nice because it's much lighter, build is decent, and focusing is smooth.


Only drawback is the somwhat slow AF but that's really the only flaw I find in this lens.


Sample photos using a Canon 40D


-Lex


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.