SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 114301 1/13/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $313.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.56
spacerspacer
8.78
spacerspacer
8.78
olympus70-300f4-56.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Tele Zoom Four-Thirds ED tested


JRenato

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 5
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by JRenato
Review Date: 1/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nitidez e contrastes de boa qualidade.
Cons: Motor barulhento

Embora seja barulhenta e também um pouco lenta para achar o foco, esta lente me proporciona de boas para muito boas imagens.
dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 7/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good average zoom lens
Cons: build quality

I sold it after 4 months and went for the 50-200 non SWD - overall it's a good lens, but if you watch ebay for the 50-200, you might find one for a cheap price - go for the big one ...
Easy

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 6
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by Easy
Review Date: 4/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build and handling are great, IQ is excellent, not too expensive
Cons: Slightly soft wide open

I am very impressed with this lens.
It is built like a tank.
Slightly soft wide open, so aperture needs to be controlled.
I usually use it stopped down with F7.1 and the output images are sharp.
CDAF is a bonus for M4/3 users.
Highly recommended!
arunp

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by arunp
Review Date: 12/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great value for its price; good image quality
Cons: some focusssing issues at low light

May not be a top end lens but definetely great value for money. I have purchased this lens recently and no regrets at all so far.


Here are just two examples of pics I have taken at focal length 300(600mm at 35mm eq)


http://myolympus.org/document.php?id=16050
http://myolympus.org/document.php?id=16025
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by trentdp
Review Date: 12/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great for birding especially with an Oly TC 1.4
Cons: A little soft at 300 mm unles shot at F11

A great lens at an affordable price especially now while the Olympus promotion is valid. I us an Oly TC 1.4 with the lens for an effective field of view of 850 mm! The SLR Gear review is right on accurate with my field experiences. Very sharp 70 to 150 stepped down one stop from wide open and very acceptable at F8 @200 mm and F11 @300 mm even with the 1.4 TC. The TC does not degrade the IQ to any noticeable degree which attests to the quality of this attachment.


I hope SLR Gear does a review of the Oly 1.4 TC at some time as this is a superb IQ accessory for Olympus DLSR users.


Another side benefit rarely mentioned is the Macro Focus feature when in Manual Focus mode.
entropius

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 3
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by entropius
Review Date: 2/23/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $230.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Telephoto reach, macro, excellent value for the money, generally good IQ
Cons: Can't remove hood without grinding focus motor

No lens this cheap has any right to be this good.


It goes from a useful moderate telephoto at the wide end to awfully long at the long end, and can provide 1:1 equivalent magnification at a long working distance. Chromatic aberration is well controlled. Sharpness at the long end is acceptable at 5.6 and quite good starting at f/7 or so. Contrast is good and bokeh is reasonably neutral.


The autofocus has a tendency to hunt at the long end if it can't acquire a lock immediately, simply because there's so much range to hunt through. A focus limiter switch would have been useful. This can be gotten around by zooming out (for more DOF and more aperture, so it will get an approximate lock more easily), activating the AF to get close, then zooming in and focusing for real.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 12/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $242.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: incredible focal length, image quality, build, weight
Cons: af hunts in low light conditions

I already have the double zoom kit and found this one in a second hand store. has a scratch on the lens hood. For 242 USD a truly affordable lenses.


The focal length is incredible. 600mm !! And only 600g weight. Thats really good.


The image quality is excellent. All the way from 70 to 300mm.


I noticed that the autofous tends to hunt when used at low light. Specially starting at 200mm. From 70-200 the AF is fast and accurate.


The e520 IS does a prefect work. However, at 300mm from time to time your shot is wasted cause IS fails.


Overall, a 9. No 10 cause i believe the IQ of the 50-200 is ways better.


IF you are looking for a well suitable telephoto lens and you are aware of some weaknesses this lens has, you will be very happy.


I used the lens mainly for airplane spotting, for which it fits very well.
OldMacJoe

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 2
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by OldMacJoe
Review Date: 8/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Astonishingly good image quality for the price
Cons: The manual AF/MF switch, probably of Sigma origin

Well, Olympus did it again - here we have a great lens at an affordable price. Due to the nature of this lens it is necessary to support the lens properly before making an exposure - never leave your tripod home!
But if you have supported the camera-lens combination as it always should be, you wil get truly great image quality. I photographed a boat plunging into the waves in a distance of around five hundred meters, and by golly, I can even count the water droplets spraying all around the boat!


A great lens.
dccps

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 13
Olympus 70-300mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by dccps
Review Date: 3/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small and light for such a high telephoto range
Cons: aperture is slower than I would like

I took this lens out when I spotted dear near one of the vistas off of I-280 southwest of San Francisco. The shots were at dusk and I was worried that handheld, they would simply not be sharp. I was wrong. With the E-3, I was getting sharp images zoomed out to 300mm (equal to 600mm) at 1/60th sec or so. This is great! The shots were sharp and the color was very good. I don't shoot telephoto nearly as much as wide angle but I think I may start shooting more with this lens. Very definitely worth the price on an E-3.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.