SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
25 335090 5/7/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
92% of reviewers $139.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
5.50
spacerspacer
8.08
spacerspacer
8.00
canon18-55f35-56is.jpg


Keywords: Canon lens forcanon EF-S Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C IS Stabilized Tested


prithul1311

Registered: May 2013
Posts: 2
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by prithul1311
Review Date: 5/7/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good Kit Lens , Image Stabilization
Cons: Plastic Built

Here are some samples of this lens


http://www.flickr.com/photos/abdullahmahmud1311/8708636529/in/photostream


http://www.flickr.com/photos/abdullahmahmud1311/8714219882/in/photostream


http://www.flickr.com/photos/abdullahmahmud1311/
Apricane

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 6
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Apricane
Review Date: 9/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light & Small, Sharp, Good IQ
Cons: Slow and noisy AF, filter ring rotates, feels like a toy

Good as a kit lens, but I wouldn't buy it otherwise unless I had no other choice. I spent almost no time upgrading mine to a 15-85mm.
shroud72

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 5
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by shroud72
Review Date: 9/29/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: decent kit lens, IS works well, center sharp with decent corners
Cons: build quality is cheap

Not a bad kit lens or starting lens to have as it performs above average although it is not exceptional in any one thing.
I recently reviewed by photo collection and saw that among my personal favorite photos this lens took a lot of them.
A great starter lens capable of taking decent enough photos until you need a lens capable of lower light shots.


Some of my favorite shots:


http://flic.kr/p/8jp3PC
Taken the first day of owning the camera, I was surprised by the image quality.


http://flic.kr/p/8jougA
http://flic.kr/p/8TJkTW
http://flic.kr/p/8ju446
http://flic.kr/p/8ju4Kr
http://flic.kr/p/8HuR9k
http://flic.kr/p/8KqTrq
http://flic.kr/p/8V1XhQ
http://flic.kr/p/8WuJrp
http://flic.kr/p/8uk5KP


Build quality is cheap, the little silver sticker above the focus ring has fallen off from use, but is pure cosmetic.
luke

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 2
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by luke
Review Date: 6/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sharp, light, compact, IS, cheap price
Cons: plastic mount, build quality, bad zoom and focus rings

This lens came with my T2i. I used it in Europe and Corsica and found the images to be good, but I also was using a 24-105 L at the same time and the images from it were always better, obviously. I also have owned the first generation 18-55mm without IS and could not really tell a difference in the quality, build-wise or optically.
I thought this lens was good, but not good enough to keep. I sold it and ordered the Sigma 18-50mm f2.8-4.5 OS HSM, another entry-level midrange zoom. I wasn't able to do a direct comparison but I feel that the Sigma outperforms the canon in most areas, except CA and color balance. I've come to realize I use CPL and grad filters all the time and the sigma allows use of these with its non-rotating front element, and this makes a HUGE difference for me in terms of getting the pictures I like to take.
My copy of this canon lens also had a terrible zoom ring that was loose around 35mm and tight and difficult to adjust around 18mm and 55mm. The focus ring is a joke.
If you need a knock-around lens that delivers great photo quality, don't bother with other entry-level lenses from third-party makers, because this canon will deliver sharp, contrasty photos. But if you need advanced features and build quality along with equal photo quality, the Sigma 18-50mm f2.8-4.5 OS HSM is a better choice.
nima13195

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 2
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by nima13195
Review Date: 12/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price to performance
Cons:

it is a zoom lens but it's small and light.
shiphorns

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by shiphorns
Review Date: 12/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cost, IS, Image Quality far better than expected at this price point
Cons: Poor build quality, front element rotates, no USM, plastic mount

For what you get, this lens is a steal. The image quality blows away all the other 18-* kit lenses. The IS works great, 4 stops is entirely possible, and the focus is just as fast as early USM lenses, despite not being USM.


The lens is a little soft in the corners at full zoom, but in the center, the performance is surprisingly good, even with compared directly with my 50mm f/2.5 macro. In terms of just image quality, you'll have to pay A LOT more to get a little bit better image.


If you don't need the durability of a professional grade lens, this is an outstanding upgrade from any of the earlier rebel kit lenses, most notably the non-IS precursor to this lens. The only real downside to this lens, as compared to its expensive counterparts like the 17-55, is the rotating front element. Especially at the wide end, it would be nice to be able to use a circular polarizer AND the lens hood for landscape shots, and the rotating front makes that a PITA to achieve.
Toco1980

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Toco1980
Review Date: 10/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: lightweight, small, good image quality, IS
Cons: build quality, plastic mount, tiny focusing ring, no distance scale

I borowwed this lens from a friend of mine after my old 18-55 (non IS) broke down from extensive (ab)use...


I must say that even though the build quality is almost the same, image quality is better.
charley

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 6
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by charley
Review Date: 9/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great starter lens
Cons:

great starter lens.
jt354

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 9
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by jt354
Review Date: 5/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $81.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, IS, price, small size and lightweight
Cons: Rotating filter thread, plastic mount, poor zoom/focus ring damping

I picked up a "used" copy of this lens in new condition for $80 on ebay, and so far I couldn't be happier. The lens is sharp wide open; stopped down it is nearly indistinguishable from the $700 17-40L I used to own. Color and contrast are excellent, and lens flare and chromatic aberrations are well-controlled. Autofocus is very accurate, though somewhat slow and noisy. The front filter thread rotates during both AF and MF, complicating the use of polarizers, gradient filters, and rectangular systems.


IS performance is good, by my estimate ~2-3 stops. Construction quality is terrible, as expected for the price. The plastic mount doesn't inspire confidence in the lens' longevity. The zoom ring is neither smooth nor well damped, requiring more effort to turn near 18mm. Manual focus is nearly impossible without using the camera's live view function.
ifi

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by ifi
Review Date: 3/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $155.00| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Cheap, IQ is OK, IS works fine
Cons: Cheap, Very fragile, Front moves while focusing

Good for kids, easy/cheap to replace. Gives an intro to SLR Lens. IS works, IQ is okay.
TheK

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by TheK
Review Date: 3/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: solid base
Cons: unsellable

This one is "el cheapissimos sweet sister". The IS version of the most common kit lens ever. If you are lucky, you can find this one instead of the much worse non-IS in a kit for only very few extra money. It's a good base to start with an DSLR - good image quality and (as having IS) easy to handle. If you try to sell it once after you got a better one, forget it: eBay is full of people, who had the same idea.
hitendra

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 11
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by hitendra
Review Date: 12/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp + Image Stabilizer
Cons: All plastic but thats OK as kit lens.

Check out the results here...
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/photoblog/index.php?x=browse&category=34&pagenum=1
Eager

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 7
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Eager
Review Date: 10/25/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: IS, low price and weight
Cons: cheap plastic construction and mount, rotating front element

I used this lens during my trip to Vietnam and Cambodia this year. Not so bad lens for a price. I loved IS performance and was satisfied by image quality in most situations. Build quality is a weak point. Manual focus ring is almost useless, overal construction is loose and weak, rotating front element is annoying.
Chazz D

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 4
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Chazz D
Review Date: 10/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $119.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great value, Lightweight, Image Stabilized, capable of pretty good pics
Cons: Build quality could be better, Manual focus not smooth, End turns when focusing

Let me just start with saying for the price, this is probably the best bang for the buck lens that canon makes. If you are still shooting with the older Non IS version of the 18-55 you should for sure upgrade. I Have used both and the IQ of this newer lens is much superior. Add the newer 4 stop IS to the package and its not even in the same ballpark.


The newer Image Stabilization is also much quieter than the older generation IS which is nice since the older louder ones could be somewhat distracting.


You can also get some surprisingly good detail shots of closeups of flowers, butterflies, etc due to the fairly close min focusing distance.


The lens if very light partially due to its plastic mounting ring, which really doesn't bother me on a lens this size and it makes it a more carry-able. If you do a lot of hiking with camera you will appreciate this.


Now for the cons:


The build quality: I have seen worse but it would have been nice if canon would have made the manual focusing a bit nicer, smoother etc. The end of lens which is also the manual focus ring feels somewhat loose in camera ( which is fairly common for this price lenses ).


I know that most if not all lenses in this price range are built in such a way that the end of the lens turns during focusing but for people that use filters & polarizers etc this is very annoying. It would be great if canon would make a small light lens like this but step it up a bit with a little better build quality and non rotating front ring.
Nikoboyd

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Nikoboyd
Review Date: 3/31/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $55.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Very Good IS, Very Light
Cons: Plastic mount

Very good kit lens. IS works so well that I can hand held the camera 1 sec. at 18mm!!! Very good sharpness from wide open to f/8


I prefer this lens to the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 because this lens focuses accurately and quietly. Unlike Tammy, it's noisy and always missfocus.


Plastic mount is OK but I prefer metal mount (at least metal looks better than plastic).


If you look at the price, you can complain nothing.
WiSaGaN

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by WiSaGaN
Review Date: 3/26/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, IS, Compact, Price
Cons: Small aperture, focus ring

I'd say this one has excellent image quality especially at around 24mm. Considering its price, it's an amazing deal for such an IS-general purpose zoom. It is light-weighted. And IS really makes a difference .
The major thing is it has a small aperture, F3.5@18,F5.6@55. So it's great for landscape but not for portrait. Concerning the build quality the focus ring really is not very easy to use.
ksbuehler

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 4
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by ksbuehler
Review Date: 1/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, cheap, small, good zoom range, stabilization, sharpness
Cons: manual focus not-smooth, f5.6@55mm

It's light, cheap, and gives great results when used correctly. Good bang for the buck. Image stabilization mainly helps out at 55mm in low lit conditions.


I've tried using extensions tubes with this lens on my 20D (12mm, 20mm, and 36mm Kenko EF/EF-S tubes).


12mm tube @ 18mm
barely useable. ~1 inch working distance. Poor magnification.


12mm tube @ 55mm
decent results. ~3inch to 12inch working distance. At closest distance, I can fill the frame with 1.5" subject.


20mm tube. The working distance drops to 0" at 24mm. 55mm gives a working distance of between about 2" and 8" across the focal range. At closest distance, a 1" subject fills the frame.


36mm tube. At 55mm the working distance is about 1.5" to 4.5". At closest distance, a 0.75" subject fills the frame.
photonut

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 5
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by photonut
Review Date: 11/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $170.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: compact, decent quality for a kit zoom
Cons: small aperture, limited telephoto reach

This is a great small, all-purpose zoom at the right price. Image quality is quite good (much better than the 17-85 it replaced for me). It's also the cheapest way to get IS... and I wouldn't do without that on a slow zoom. I find the size and weight more convenient than the 17-85 : this is a lens I can bring even if I'm not sure I'll use it. I usually carry it in case I'll need something very wide or if I just want to take one lens for casual photography.


I can't really comment on manual focus as I simply don't use it on that lens. The images it produces are ok for a zoom. Distortion at wide angle is easily corrected with the latest DPP software.
Spaceclown

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Spaceclown
Review Date: 10/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost/performance
Cons: for the price/entry level lens none

I was skeptical of a entry level lens; however I was proven very wrong.


Pros:
- Great sharpness and overall performance
- IS performance does deliver 3 to 4 stops
- Holds its own versus higher price lens (dollar for dollar comparison)
- Good flare resistance
- Closest thing to disposable lens on an DSLR, lets you take chances in risky environments (weather, rough terrain)


Cons (for the price none, I'll explain as I call out the Cons):
- All plastic construction (it is the lowest class, so its expected)
- Plastic mount (its okay for the lens, its very light and it is short so you shouldn't bang it into too many things)
- Not USM (its still quiet enough and fast for the price)
- Rotating front focus (the vast majority of users will not use it with a polarizer; or you can do the old focus, adjust the polarizer, then shoot work around)
- Manual focus is awkward (most users will not need/use MF)
- Focal length range (18-55mm [28.8-88mm APS-C] is sometimes a little too short, I wish it went to 65mm [effective ~105mm] but it might degrade performance and up the lens cost)


Great kick-around lens. Its light, compact and has great performance. The only thing you need with this lens is a UV filter and considering its image quality you might want to buy a higher class B+W filter versus a cheaper UV filter.
266

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 4
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by 266
Review Date: 7/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $128.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, fast focus
Cons: Weird Focus Ring

I've previously tried my friend's EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM and I'm amazed that this lens can do almost the same speed as that USM on a L lens that is about 8 times more expensive, though it is quite noisy. Build quality really is good, nothing's breaking up, at least, the only down is the focus ring, it somehow dig into your finger while you try to operate it.
Bold Eagle

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by Bold Eagle
Review Date: 5/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Remarkably good image quality, light weight.
Cons: plastic construction, plastic mount

I'm amazed. Really good image quality from 18 mm to about 40 mm. It's still pretty good at 55 mm. I bought this lens to extend the wide end of my 28-135 IS lens. Image quality is every bit as good as the 28-135. I also found the close focus to be excellent.


The construction is all plastic and the front end wobbles a bit. I really wish it had a metal mount, but given the price and image quality it's an acceptable trade off for a compact and light lens, as the stress on the mount is much less.
mrmr

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 7
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by mrmr
Review Date: 1/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything but ..
Cons: Build quality and focus motor.

An excellent new lens from Canon, nice one guys.
Ok being picky it has a bit of barrel distortion at 18mm, and it has a teensy bit reduced contrast compared to some other lenses in it's focal length range, but hey it's just a hundred quid!
The IS is excellent too, quite effective, which just adds the icing to the cake.
If you're looking for something in this range, and you don't need f2.8 or the extra length of the 17-85 or the sigma 17-70, look no further. This one is a no-brainer.
darrinlingle

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by darrinlingle
Review Date: 11/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, small, sharp, image stabilizer, inexpensive, fast accurate focus
Cons: feels cheap, slow aperature

i've had the previous non-IS 18-55mm kit lens and the difference is huge. i heard from this site that the image quality was better, then checked canon's web site. they claim a better MTF so i tried it. the salesman at the camera store said he could immediately tell a difference by looking through the lens and that it had more contrast. i've done some tests on it and compared it to the 24-105L's weak focal length (105mm). this lens was much sharper at any focal length at f8 compared to the 24-105L at f4.
it's amazing that this lens is only $200 and also has I.S. i wish canon would improve the build quality and make it a little stronger, even for $50 more; at least a metal mount. overall, it's an awesome lens. photozone.de also just released a review and rated it excellent. this lens will outperform many "L" lenses believe it or not.
wetbaloney

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by wetbaloney
Review Date: 11/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I got this lens recently, but have not used it enough to make a good eval of the IQ. Have noticed however that the IS is much better than expected. Disappointed that the build quality does not seem any better than the original kit lens. How much would it cost them to use a metal mount? Most of us would pay an extra $10 for it.


uwalover -- can you explain to me why someone would have THREE lenses which cover the same focal length range? There are a lot of people going to bed hungry tonight if the money is just burning a hole in your pocket!
uwalover

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by uwalover
Review Date: 10/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light , fast AF, very powerful IS, sharp , cheap.
Cons: plastic mount.

I bought a 40D 4 days a go with this lens.


This is an amazing lens , very light , sharp (for its modest price tag)with powerful IS.


Canon's claim of 4 stop effective IS seems really true , this IS works well like the one on my 70-200f4LIS , and is definitely more effective than the one on my 17-55IS.


I thought about I would sell the ISed kit lens since I've got a EF-S17-55f2.8IS, but I will keep it for those days I want to go out light.........I also have the Tamorn 17-50 , which I also like.


The IS and digital sensor tech will change all , and eliminates needs for the F2.8.


Many people think F2.8 is so much better than F4 IS(so they are comparing 24-70L against 24-105LIS) in low light, I 'd say do not underestimate the IS , it is better than the one stop advantage of f2.8 over f4 most of times, thus, I do not use any non-IS lens in low light since my low light work requires lots of DOF, not the shallow F2.8 DOF.


That said , the 17-55f2.8IS is a super sharp lens and I need it for my work such as event photographey and weddings........other wise , I would not have bought it............I think most of people do not know what they really need for their photographing stuffs.......................so many of the 17-55IS or 24-105L are always bought by complete beginners who do not even know what lens they actually need or like and asking it at many forums.


I think if you do not know you will need the 17-55IS or 24-105L with EF-S10-22 combo , then you wont' need any of them and so get this 18-55IS instead.


If you really need a lens with a grand price tag, you know what you wnat or need without asking it at a forum................


The 18-55IS and 17-55f2.8 IS are completely different kind of lenses and so you 've got be careful.....................I have had both but I think most of photographers who can even no decide what to buy do not nee the latter the f2.8 IS........but those of you who are just starting out should buy this IS kit lens with a good flash.


UPDATE: one moron from DPreview.com Canon lens forum complaining about credibility of my review (he thinks it is not out yet), well I am woring in Japan and it's been out there for 3 weeks already.


The moron also said the IQ of the lens could not be 10, well , it is for the price rating, think about it , it costs only 130 US as you buy it as a part of a 40D kit.


I rate all lenses accordingly to their prices.


So I am not saying this is rated 10 and the 17-55IS is rated 10 , so they are the same in absolute IQ , but considering their price dfferential , there is no way not to rate both of them 10.


And the same moronic guy also said to a guy asking about this lens in comparion with the 17-40L , wait till a pro review out .........and what laughable about the moron was , he suggested to look at photozone.de, which is the most careless and unprofessional review ever.


Why morons can just trust theri own eyes but need some one to justify what they have chosen was right, what a insecurity is it?


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.