SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 129055 3/2/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,832.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.75
canon14f28l2.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Prime 35mm L II USM Tested


DeanaDigiSLRFan

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM review by DeanaDigiSLRFan
Review Date: 3/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: A winner in the garden
Cons: Was not quite as good as some other lenses I have brought for the same price

Overall the lens has been great over the first week but it just hasn't wowed me yet. I am taking it away in the coming months so perhaps this view will change.


A wonderful sharp copy - it just seems like a "business as usual lens" to me - not that th that's ats a bad thing - on the whole I will use it again and again I have no doubt!


Got it at bargain price in an auction (http://www.procameralenses.co.uk) - would recommend if your in the uk, but really I wish I had brought it new as I have seen it at just the equivilent of $130 more Sad
Symple

Registered: February 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM review by Symple
Review Date: 2/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,930.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Low distortion. High contrast. Smooth focus ring. Positive lens mount seal.
Cons: Only the filtering options.

This lens is very different in use than the zoom lenses that cover or come close to this range. I prefer H sensor cameras, but also use the C and 'FF' sensor cameras as well. I like this lens very much on H and C sensor cameras, but I am at the toe of the learning curve on how to maximize the optical attributes of this lens. I have owned and used the Canon 16-35, Sigma 15-30, and Canon 17-40 lenses, and the 14L II is an entirely different tool in comparison. The main benefits are the high contrast and low distortion, as well as the durability of the design. It is difficult to use, but the results a very different from the wide angle zooms I have tried.
telecommuter

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 8
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM review by telecommuter
Review Date: 6/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build quality, very low CA, creative possibility with FF
Cons: cost

The urge to "go wide" has increased my appetite for a lens such as this - a non fisheye super wide.


This 14mm II unit is da bomb. The challenge is to use it within the constraints of field curvature/DoF, and that requires experimentation.


Stopped down it is sharp across the entire, insane field of view. Only certain shots reveal minor CA, and that is easily corrected. Color saturation is great, and overall I was surprised at how little geometric weirdness is apparent unless my composition is sloppy.


I have read bad reviews of the first iteration of this lens. The new version is extraordinary.


Highly recommended.


Examples:


http://www.idyll.com/p306267117
FlashBang

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM review by FlashBang
Review Date: 2/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Light, Sharper then Canon 14mm I, No distortion on a 1.3 body
Cons: Expensive, front lens pron to damage, but the nature of the design

I had to get this lens twice to get a sharp copy, 1st one was off on the right center edge.


This one I have now is perfect and handles distortion and CA very well and sharp right to the edge.


Color, contrast, sharpness are all excellent, the new lens cap design beats the old with a more secure hold to the lens hood.


I sold a Canon 16-35mm because this lens dose a better job at the wide end and the 16-35 also help fund the 14 consider its 2K street price, but well worth the admission price.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.