SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
14 230393 2/11/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,768.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.77
spacerspacer
9.77
spacerspacer
9.46
nikon14-24f28.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Zoom 35mm AF-S Tested


PeterO62

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by PeterO62
Review Date: 2/11/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, well build
Cons: Heavy

Very good lens, very nice for landscape with a LEE filter set.
DaveJDSP

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by DaveJDSP
Review Date: 1/24/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Amazing clarity and IQ
Cons: Corners not acceptable till you get to f5.6 or f8. Needs VR.

Amazing zoom lens.
The image quality has a superb clarity that is hard to describe. It takes quite a good lens to impress me, but this one does.


Unfortunately, the corners are not tack sharp until you get down to f 5.6 or f8.
Also, this lens (all lenses) needs VR if you're going to hand hold it and want the exceptional IQ that this and the D800 are capable of.


I'd rather pay $2500 for better corners and VR.
Still, all in all, this is the best wide zoom I've ever used, by far!
Saldahna

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 2
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Saldahna
Review Date: 12/2/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very wide and very sharp, super Haptik
Cons: If you buy this lens you know that you can't use filters, I don't care

This is an excellent lens for landscape photography. And you can do a lot of photographic experiments with it. It works perfect on a D800. For that Camera only the best glass is good enough, but the 16 -35 gives you also excellent results. Just buy this lens if you are a wide angle junkie ...
Hochzeitsfotograf

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Hochzeitsfotograf
Review Date: 11/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp at F 2.8
Cons: High Weight

I bought this lens a few months ago, and I'm still really happy with it. The strength of it is the extreme sharpness starting at F 2.8, right from the beginning. Also, the focal distance makes this lens great to experiment with. You can check out some pictures I used it for on my site:


http://www.florianbraatz.de/


If you travel a lot, the high weight might be an issue. So before buying, think about that problem.
photospots

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 5
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by photospots
Review Date: 11/3/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, great colors, VERY wide on FX
Cons: Doesn't take standard filters

This is just so a wonderful lens and one I just love to shoot with, but I have to get used to how wide it is on FX, but I guess this will come with time.


If you are considering the lens or just want to know more about the lens I have collected a number of articles about the lens here: http://www.photospots.dk/p/nikon-zoom.html
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by lightknight
Review Date: 4/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: unriveled image quality, build, really wide
Cons: filters are impossible, front element very vulnerable

Not much left to say here...simply the world's best wide angle zoom bar none.


If you can live with the very real issue that you can't add a ND or GND to it then it offers the best image quality its possible to obtain on a full frame DSLR.


The only problem I struck was using it at night was in high humidity but clear conditions - the huge front element was prone to misting over on exposures in excess of a minute or more but this is a fairly rare or exotic occurance and I still managed to get some decent results...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/5212406845/sizes/l/.


Some advice to Canon users: get yourself an adapter and buy this because there is nothing in Canon land to match this.
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by jtorral
Review Date: 1/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Great optical qulity
Cons: Too large and No filter

To see hundreds of photos with this lens and compare to others look here:


http://nikonimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=936&showall


You can get an idea of how this lens performs with different camera.
Momiziano

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Momiziano
Review Date: 12/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best wide angle lens between zooms and primes
Cons: Heavy

Simply the best wide angle lens that i've ever used by far.
colinjames

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 8
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by colinjames
Review Date: 11/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Incredible on FF, sharpness across the frame
Cons: not too practical (FF), babysitting gangster glass, pricey but worth it ?

An amazing lens I don't regret selling - replaced with Tokina 17mm 3.5 lol - have since let that go and now have 20-35mm for practicality. My wide angle fixation has kinda worn out though. Many will adore this lens - there are no equals in terms of IQ. Watch the flare...
jake

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 8
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by jake
Review Date: 8/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

excelent phenomenal lens by my opinion, the best wide angle
ddt332

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by ddt332
Review Date: 11/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp wide open! 3mm wider than 17-35mm.
Cons: doesn't take filters

I kind of 'disappointed' about this lens a little based on the hype every review I read. I am a landscape guy and mainly use 17-35, and 24-70 on D3. I bought this lens because of two reasons: 1. it is 3mm wider than 17-35, 2. it is sharper wide open than 17-35. However, after I got this lens, the IQ improvement from 17-35 is almost negligible (only better in very extreme corners wide open), you won't see any IQ difference between 17-35 and 14-24 if you just print 12X18" print. In the center, I feel like 17-35 is even sharper.
So for me, since I already got 17-35, the benefits to own both lens are very limited. The great thing of 17-35 is that it takes filters!


However, if you don't have 17-35, this is a wonderful lens to own. If you do, it's not worth it since there is basically no big IQ improvement you gain.
ktwse

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 11
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by ktwse
Review Date: 10/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The sharpest wide angle available, zoom or not
Cons: No filters, obviously

A system seller if ever there was one. Very sharp wide open and stunning across the frame from f/4 on FX.


So much has been written about it already... What else is there to say? Well, I got a D700 just to use this lens. The only one even remotely comparable is Olympus' 7-14/4, but that's f/4 and a smaller sensor. If you want tack sharp UWA with shallow DoF, then this is your only choice.


Expensive for sure, but it effectively replaces your 14, 18, 20 and 24 primes... Is this a good landscape lens? Not necessarily. This is a lens for getting up close, "in your face".


If you absolutely have to use filters, then it may not be for you, but at least consider the huge DR of the D3/D700 before making such a decision...
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,580.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wow, Wow, Wow, Wow!
Cons: Can't use any filters but I don't care...Nikon used their heads on this design with built-in hood!

The sharpest Nikon wide-angle zooms lens available today IMHO. I can't believe the sharpness wide-open with this lens.


Here's a set of sample shots taken with D40 and D300:


Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Sample Photos


-Lex
Gandalf

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 8
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Gandalf
Review Date: 2/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp - from f/2,8 -...... yes from f/2,8
Cons: Can not use filter

Tried it an hour on a photo course on my D200, and I was "sold."


It is so sharp even in the corners, that it beats my 12-24 in every aspect - well about equal at 24 mm, but from 14-23 it is in another world.


Have tried to buy it, but it is not easy to get a copy for the time being.


I honestly think that it will be a Nikon legend.


Mounted on a D3 it is nothing but fantastic (our teacher at the course had it).


It looks like it is better than primes - both Nikon and Canons primes - according to what you can read in reviews.


The only drawback is, that you can not use filters on it, and I have a lot of Lee-filters and Singh-Ray, that I would love to use on it.


But it is so good, that I buy it anyhow.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.