SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 95699 5/31/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,970.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
olympus14-35f2.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Four-Thirds ED SWD tested


jnolan

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Olympus 14-35mm f/2 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by jnolan
Review Date: 5/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, Speed, Weather sealing, Build quality, Pride
Cons: Size, Weight, Price

You might have noticed that this lens costs a lot. That's okay, though, because it's absolutely fantastic.


First off, though, it's worth mentioning that this lens is huge. It's heavy and it's big. I find that it feels good on my E-5, but on my E-420 it feels like I'm attaching my body to the lens. You usually need to get into the tele range for that sort of thing. This lens is big enough that people notice it, so I don't generally travel with it (both for the weight and the attention).


The constant f-2 is very easy to get used to. Your aperture just becomes something you no longer have to worry about because you've always got every option available. Of course, this explains its size and weight.


The character of the image is definitely Super High Grade. I've also got the 11-22 lens, which is High Grade. The 11-22 is a noticeable step above the Standard Grade. This Super High Grade is an even more noticeable step above the High Grade. Others have said it before and I tend to agree - if you're familiar with the image quality of the 50mm f-2 macro lens, this lens offers that quality between the focal lengths of 14mm and 35mm.


I was a bit concerned at first regarding the focal length range. It's gotten to the point now that zooms cover such a broad range, a smaller range seems like a flaw. But I no longer think of this lens's focal length range that way. I look at it as normal lens with wiggle room. If you zoom it to the middle, it's essentially a normal lens, but you can zoom in or out a bit if you want. I think if you can understand it that way, you'll get a good idea of whether or not this lens will suit what you need to shoot.


This lens is sharp enough that I once got a moire pattern with my E-5.
scotty3da

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-35mm f/2 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by scotty3da
Review Date: 1/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding Image Quality on E-5
Cons: Could do with being a bit wider at the wide end

I use this lens on my Olympus E-5 and it is outstanding, a big step up from the already good 12-60mm zoom. I also used it on an E-3 and while good, the images from this lens on the E-5 just blow me away.
It is like using Leica glass on your DSLR, with the convenience of being able to zoom, it really is that good.
With the F2 aperature, Size and weight are apparent, I use it on an E-5 with the grip attached and it balances rather well, without the grip it's not as easy to use and you do become aware of the weight.
If you purchase one you will not be dissapointed.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 14-35mm f/2 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 11/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp, silent, fast, build
Cons: Price

New E-5 needs a outstanding lens I said to myself and got an affordable copy with warranty here in Switzerland. Usually you don't find NIB copies for that price.


The sharpness is impressive. Even wide open it remains tack sharp.


The autofocus on the E-5 is accurate and fast. It has slight back focus, but on the E-5, this can be adjusted by adding +3.


It is heavy, yes, but having had my A850 and the Vario-Sonnar ZA24-70/2.8 these 900gr are no big deal.


The build is solid. Waterproof for sure. The Zeiss wasn't, I have to mention here for the same amount of money.


Thinking about the comparision to my FF equipment, the 28-70mm are not too limiting. of course, 12-35/2.0 would have been better, but I can live with it.


This is definitely the right lens if you want to do AL and not to be constantly switching to the primes.
Hawaii-Geek

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 4
Olympus 14-35mm f/2 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by Hawaii-Geek
Review Date: 10/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, f2 performance, IQ, Olympus QC great
Cons: AF performance in Low light, inconsistant

I agree with OhWeh reveiw ... and also bought the lens for Concert, & Events ... right now shoot it with a e510 (but, have used e3), waiting for the e30 tweener Smile ... Bottom Line, I LOVE this Lens. imho, the best Lens Olympus has right now, and imho it might be the best standard zoom (24-28 to 70mm efl) out there right now ... (even better imho than the Canon 24-70 f2.8 L ... look at wide open at f2.0-f2.8 and/or f4.0-f5.6 at 70mm, where you will use it for portrait, = Equv even on a 5D) ... but all is not perfect, there is a AF Low Light/Low light contrast issue that shows up in a few shooting conditions ... and am not sure if it is a Lens SWD issue or a Body AF issue with this lens ... because, even when the lens takes 3 small fast adjustments to lock (in low contrast), when you re-focus on the same target, It does the "same" 3 small fast adjustments- like it does not know it is already in focus. And in some low contrast situations a Non-SWD OLY lens "might" end up focusing faster (with a solid lock) and with less adjustment steps ... which should not be the "case" vs an SWD 14-35 f2 lens.
* With ALL that being said, I still LOVE the lens and plan to keep it ... and because of my "past" great experiance with the "QC" on ALL Olympus lens ... feel confident the issue will eventually be resolved.
OhWeh

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 5
Olympus 14-35mm f/2 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by OhWeh
Review Date: 10/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Has the quality of excellent primes
Cons: Price (but cheaper than 3 primes with 14 mm, 25mm and 35 mm)

An outstanding lens with fast AF. I use it almost solely in concerts, where I need the open aperture. Combined with the E-3 (with its IF) it is as good as a Nikon D3 (my personal opinion of course).


The lens is very sharp, even in the corners of the picture. No vignetting, no blur. No problems with against the light shots (but use the sun blade)


For me it is not too heavy or too large. Of course on a E-420 it looks a little bit funny. And of course it is not a lens for hiking (Therefore you should use the 12-60).


Highly recommended!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.