SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 139803 7/18/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $884.20
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.58
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.83
olympus12-60f28-4.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Four-Thirds ED SWD Tested


dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 7/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp - extremely sharp / build quality
Cons: none

I sold my Olympus gear and went over to the Nikon side - two things I miss however : my 12-60 and my 50-200.


Both lenses were perfect ...


If it wasn't for their SLRs, I would still be with Olympus. The lens quality is just ... awesome.
Kine

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 4
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by Kine
Review Date: 10/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, build quality, extremely fast focus, weather sealing
Cons:

After a small problem with my 14-54 I i decided to get a 12-60 SWD for my E-3...best decision i could have made. It is very universal to use, has great image quality, is weather sealed (important for me because i have the camera with me in any weather). Yes it is expensive, but seeing how awesome it performs it's definately not overpriced. The extremely fast and silent focussing is another big plus.
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by trentdp
Review Date: 12/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $787.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp across the entire focal range even wide open
Cons: Just a little bit heavy but balances nicely on the E-30

I recently purchased this lens from BHPhoto/Video using the current promotion by Olympus. I was somewhat reluctant because I already have the Oly 14-54 F2.8 I and was very happy with it especially for the price I paid a year ago. However, as most users of the 12-60 attest, this is an incredible lens very sharp and super quick to focus accurately. On both my E-620 and E30 it performs brilliantly. Add the Oly 1.4 TC and it increases the versatility of this lens even more without any appreciable loss in IQ.


If you are in the market for this lens, as of the date of this posting, BHPhoto/Video has it for sale at $787. It is completely worth the price as it provides a level of performance for 4/3 users unmatched by other DSLR formats. Read the reviews by SLR Gear, DP Review, and Photozone as they are completely accurate assessments of this incredible lens.
Kaiser Soze

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 3
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by Kaiser Soze
Review Date: 4/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $999.99| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, great zoom range, quick to focus, acurate color rendition
Cons: Not a fixed 2.8, can hunt in low light, and wish it took 67mm filters

I bought this lens with an E-30 to replace my E-510 and 14-54. The mechanical focus ring is SOOOO much nicer to use the the focus by wire on my 14-54. The best lens range for the price from ANY manufacturer . Outperforms the Canon-Nikon 17-55 lenses at every focal range. I would have liked a bit more speed at the 60mm range (f3.5, or 2.8) but the weather sealing and lightning fast focus make up for it.
reallymadrob

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by reallymadrob
Review Date: 4/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, bright, waterproof
Cons: Quite big, quite heavy, not cheap

This is a killer general purpose lens. A great upgrade over the good but not as good as this kit lenses.


Fast on all the bodies and lightning fast on the E-3. At home out in the elements, in a studio or even underwater. The results speak for themselves - I've had Nikonians gasp at the accuracy and pixel level sharpness from this lens. So good you can crop harder than an average lens, if you need to :-)


It's sharp, really sharp, really really sharp. Worth the money? Absolutely!
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 12/11/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, versatile focal lenght, fast focus
Cons: Weight, F4 @60mm, price, Slow AF in LV, tends to hunt in LL

No doubt, this is the killer lens. I found one for 750$, 2 month old. That was the end for my ZD 14-54.


The whole lens adds another 100g of weight in comparision to the 14-54, however, the image quality and the versatile focal lenght of 12 to 60mm makes it truly worth.


The price here in Switzerland is so incredible high, roughly 1500$, that it was a no brainer, till i found the LNIB one Wink


Get it if you can afford it or if you have a lucky hand to find a used one.


Edit: Some drawbacks from my earlier review.
- TheAF in LiveView Mode is slower than the 14-54 II. SWD does not give a benefit.
- In low light situation it can miss the focus.


Edit 9.5.09: Much better with E-30 FW 1.1


I have it on my E-620. Well balanced, tack sharp, fast AF makes this to one of the most versatil lenses of Olympus with superior image quality.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by lextalionis
Review Date: 11/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $755.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, fast, sharp, almost perfect!
Cons: Just a little pricey.

This is a versitle lens...macro, landscape, portrait, the works! Sharp, good color and contrast. Oh, did I mention, quiet and fast!


Sample Hi-Res shots taken with an E-3


-Lex
ktwse

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 11
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by ktwse
Review Date: 3/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great range, optical quality and build quality. Very sharp when stopped down a step, and only mild distortion at the wide end.
Cons: Slight distortion at the wide end, not fixed aperture.

This is a very good lens without any serious flaws. It is quite sharp even wide open and stopped down a step performs remarkably from edge to edge. There is very little vignetting and CA, and only slight problems with distortion at the wide end (12-18). Having used it extensively at 12 mm I would consider this a very minor problem that doesn't really impact the overall image quality in real world situations (I shoot mostly nature and landscapes).


You can't really complain about the price either, as this is cheaper than the few similar lenses available from other manufacturers (can only really think of the Canon EF 24-105 on FF to be honest). This, after all, is a fully weather sealed semi-pro lens that offers a fast aperture throughout. Sure, it's more expensive than the 14-54 and that I think has to be the main thing to consider for most potential customers. It offers a slightly broader range although the 2 mm at the wide end are SUBSTANTIAL - 24 vs 28 (35 mm equiv.) is a world apart - and supposedly faster AF operation, but the price differential is still quite big. Only you can decide whether it's worth the extra money.


I really can't find anything to complain about. As a general purpose walkaround lens, this is as good as it gets and it easily deserves a 10 out of 10.
dccps

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 13
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by dccps
Review Date: 3/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great range and superb optical quality
Cons: price

This is a great all purpose lens, equal to a 24mm-120mm optic. It focuses incredibly fast, is razor sharp with great color and minimal distortion. Images are awesome. It is also very well sealed against the elements. I used this in the mountains East of Seattle this past weekend in the snow and very wet conditions - no problem at all. This one will get a lot of use. It couples extremely well with the E-3.
OhWeh

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 5
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by OhWeh
Review Date: 1/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide range 24-120 KB equivalent, good optical quality, Fast AF
Cons: none

The best lens available if you don't want to change lenses.


Sharper and with less chromatic aberation than the 11-22!


Using maximum aperture there is a little vignetting, if you take pictures of the sky, but if you use a RAW-Converter, you can correct this with one mouse click.


Fast SWD-AF!
jfgroen

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 3
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by jfgroen
Review Date: 12/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent range (24-120mm equiv), fairly bright (f 2.8-4), very low distortion, fast focus
Cons: zoomring is not as smooth as I would have liked

Got a bit fed up with the 14-45 mm lens provided with the Olympus 330 kit. The 12-60/2.8-4 should be the standard lens for everyone using the Olympus E-series. Distortion is inconspicuous over the whole zoom range; the image is clear and sharp with good contrast, and the autofocus is fast (the available software update makes it even faster). For twice the price one could have had an aperture of 2.8 over the whole zoom range, but there is always something to desire, isn't it?


This is a great lens to carry around all the time -- the range from 24mm wide till 120mm equiv tele is a very useful focal distance: lusciously wide for buildings and landscapes, good tele for portraits and also landscapes.


Only for some corner softness at 12mm/2.8 (needs about 2 f-stops to diminish) pictures have a constant quality throughout the f-range.


As I shoot RAW, I have only one minor issue: vignetting at 12 mm. is just present, but disappears one f-stop down; at the 60 mm end, it is more visible and takes about two stops to disappear. Shading compensation in the Olympus camera will get rid of it, but that only works for jpegs, not for raw-files.


Oh, and get a normal flash for your E330: the lens blocks part of the light of the built in flash.
dongstra

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 1
Olympus 12-60mm f/2.8-4 ED SWD Zuiko Digital review by dongstra
Review Date: 12/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $950.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as a razor, fast focussing
Cons: zooming a bit heavy

Enormeus qualitydifference with the kitlenzes.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.