SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 108036 2/19/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $578.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.20
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.40
1nikon24-85f28-4a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm


podperson

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor review by podperson
Review Date: 2/19/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Relatively fast, solid build, aperture ring, excellent Macro capability
Cons: Very soft wide open, no VR, quite hefty

I got this lens because it's faster than most kit zooms, but not huge like the 24-70, it's compatible with my film body, and it has a decent 1:2 macro ability.


It's capable of great shots, but it's pretty disappointing wide open. The system of switching in and out of macro mode is a bit annoying, but fine once you're used to it.


The price I paid was on eBay for a 2nd hand model with very light signs of use.
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 20
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor review by lightknight
Review Date: 11/2/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good range, FX compatible, fast at wide angle, fast focussing, sharp
Cons: very short focus range so hard to focus manually, slightly too much plastic

this is a very underestimated zoom which is capable of great image quality from about F5.6 onwards. Its slightly weak at 85mm. I have primes for 85, 50, and 28 mm but this lens loses little to these up to around F11. This is my go-to lens for most casual shooting - the only knock-off for Nikon is the fact that I cant see any reason to buy the 24-70 F2.8 but it sure doesn't bother me!


As mentioned in the cons section the construction says "consumer" and it has what must be the least amount of focus travel of any lens I have ever used - but this also results in really quick auto focus. Again, VERY underrated and its not a surprise that Nikon have killed their much later replacement lens and kept this one going.
PuxaVida

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor review by PuxaVida
Review Date: 9/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very impressive IQ between 24-50mm, low price
Cons: More plastic than metal

You'll be satisfied with this lens unless you desperately require new AF technology or true IF design. I bought it because of its low price and I don't prefer DX format zooms for my lens collection. By the way, AF is fast and accurate, but noisier than newer versions (is that really a problem?!)


It's a fast lens with very impressive IQ (esp. between 24-50mm @ f/2.8-5.6). Even at 85mm you'll get great sharpness when stopped down to f/8. I believe the IQ of this beats the newer AF-S 24-85mm (except for IQ at long end).


The macro option (1:2 @ 85mm) is nice to have and produces results as good as it gets for a 1:2 ratio.


BQ: The weakest chain when compared to newer nikon models. Too much plastic but well built. Has non rotating front element. Focus ring rotates during AF but not much of a problem because the ring is quite thin (which is not good if you focus manually).


Distortion: Barrel distortion at 24mm (visible on architectural shots) and slight pincussion at long end.


LaCAs: Well controlled for a zoom lens but can be seen @ wide open. Better performance than AF-S 24-85mm ED.


Bokeh: Nice bokeh (has 9-blade diaphragm).


Vignetting: It's a FF lens. Mounting it on a D90 let you forget the vignetting issues even at wide open.
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor review by SETI
Review Date: 12/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, build quality, macro
Cons: Little bit soft at 24mm/f2.8

It's my second 24-85/2.8-4 lens. I sold the first in order to upgrade to 17-55mm/f2.8. After I saw the picture of 17-55, I sold it and got that new again =) There's no rivals for this. Great picture, beautyful bokeh and outstanding macro... it's all in one lens =) Made in Japan
ronen_we

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor review by ronen_we
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $560.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: 24mm, macro
Cons: weighty, build, manual focus, soft

A jack of all trades, relativly fast, usefull zoom range, espcially in the wide side, 24 mm is a real bon over the norm 28mm.


Macro ability is brilliant, you can realy get up close.


Robustly built, however build quilty let down by some playin focus ring and plastic zooming barrel.


Image quality is good (though not brilliant) a bit soft.


lightdrop through these lens is quit large, image through viewfinder is darker and not as crisp compared to other lenses (nikor 80-200/2.8, tamron 28-80/2.8).


Fast autofocus though manual focus is a let down short movment and plasticky feel.


rather pricey for what you get. buy it if you don't care for third brands, want the extra wide angle or macro, otherise the tamron 2.8 is lighter sharper and cheaper.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.