SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 108498 9/13/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,655.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.60
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.80
zeiss100f2mp.jpg


Keywords: Zeiss Canon Nikon Pentax Tele Prime Macro Planar 35mm Tested


italy74

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 8
Carl Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T* 2/100 review by italy74
Review Date: 9/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best lens I've ever owned, period.
Cons: None, so far

I'm not a pro yet I think to be the closest thing to a pro might be an amateur. If I don't work professionally with photography is just because I have already another safe job AND a home loan to pay.


Everyone can talk about the goodness of lens build (nicely solid, sturdy) or the images it can take and the terrific sharpness / bokeh etc you get with such lens. Actually, it's all true and already at full aperture is more a problem of depth of field than any other problem (real or supposed). Image quality is extremely high from f/2 to f/5.6 where I think it tops.


However, a couple of things I'd like to tell you are:
1) if you aren't a MF kind, don't worry. Unless you're shooting someone coming close to you, its focus ring will help you to nail focus exactly where you want, both close or far from you. In my case, both with F6 / D700 and FM3A the green dot / eye confirmation has been enough. It's not that difficult, believe me, practise will help you to achieve extrahordinarily pleasing results.


2) Of course I love the bokeh and the way it renders dim light and certain colours like shadows of green, rose, brown, and in general it's the first lens that truly gave me back skin tones and overall people look exactly as I remembered it. Clarity and trueness are definitely a quality I couldn't find in any of the many lenses owned so far. Besides, the level of detail (not only sheer sharpness, but the way it renders textures) it's just amazing, unbelievable, you have to try to understand for yourself.


I count to get other ZF2 lenses (namely 25 and 35) asap and hope a 180 apo makro will come out soon as well, sooner or later, with the impressive 55 f/1.4 just revealed pre-Photokina.


Highly recommended, definitely.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Carl Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T* 2/100 review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 3/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: probably sharpest lens ever made , no distortion, superb micro contrast.
Cons: Lo-CA , extending barrel.

I found out some one used my computer a few days a go and wrote a silly review on this lens.


so I erased it and now trying to correct it here.


I think in absolute terms , this must be the best lens ever made , it is super sharp with great micro contrast to boot even at f2 wide open.


It has very very good anti flare coating.


It has almost no distortion at all.


and it is quite easy to MF.


I like this lens but it can be a boring lens , lacks some interesting character, maybe it is just too close to technical perfection and so can be very very boring?


Anyways, I love it for landscpaes or anything requires real critical corner to corner sharpness.
sako

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 4
Carl Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T* 2/100 review by sako
Review Date: 11/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, beautiful color, outstanding bokeh, superb build quality, smooth focusing.
Cons: Flimsy lens cap that is difficult to grip.

Probably one of the sharpest lenses for DSLR available.
Superb image quality at macro distances through to infinity.
Small amount of CA at f/2 - completely gone by f/3.2 (on my sample at least).


This is one lens you'll never regret buying.
telecommuter

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 8
Carl Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T* 2/100 review by telecommuter
Review Date: 9/30/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: utter clarity
Cons: price, lack of a soft carrying case, odd lens cover

Stunning resolution, properly constructed, precise manual focus - these are terms I would use to describe the lens. On my full frame Canon, it is rapidly becoming my favorite lens. 100mm seems like a tad long, to be sure. But the results are changing what I previously held as my favored focal lengths - 50 - 85mm.


I take fewer shots due to the manual focus, but take more time to compose. As a discipline this is a great thing.


On a recent Holiday, the lens proved beyond capable of capturing nuance as well as three dimensionality. Total bomb of a lens. Highly recommended.


A few examples below.


http://www.idyll.com/p188274566


regards,
patrick
GeorgeRC

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 1
Carl Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T* 2/100 review by GeorgeRC
Review Date: 8/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,423.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, low distortion, low CA, very good contrast and color, fast
Cons: heavy, expensive

The test data suggest you might want to stop this lens down to get the best image. But, shooting FF on a Nikon D3 my initial experience is that you can select a wide open aperture if you can live with the shallow DOF. Even at f/2 this lens is sharp on a D3. (A D3x user might need f/2.8 to see the same sharpness, but still find f/2 very usable.)
This is a manual lens, if you need fast focusing, you should skip getting this lens. Also, my D3 gives a green focus confirmation indicator when the focus is still a little off. As a non-CPU lens, fine tuning this is not possible. So, live view (tripod mode) is essential for getting really accurate focusing at wide aperture.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.