SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 39087 11/7/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
86% of reviewers $700.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.43
spacerspacer
8.43
spacerspacer
8.71
sigma10f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Fisheye Wide Prime DC APS-C HSM


VS

Registered: July 2014
Posts: 2
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by VS
Review Date: 11/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High sharpness, starting with 2.8. Lovely color. Works well against the light.
Cons: slightly heavy

I have a new version of this lens, not wrinkled, and a sleek body.
Before the Sigma 10mm f / 2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM I tried to work with the Tokina 10-17mm f / 3.5-4.5 AT-X 107 AF DX Fisheye.
Sigma in all respects was much higher Tokina.
High sharpness, starting with 2.8. Lovely color. Works well against the light. I photographed the Sigma and Nikon D7100 anniversary of the school. Hundreds of people were sitting in the amphitheater of the great hall, and all persons were sharp and well recognized. I photograph them by nature, reportage, Flowers, Interiors, City. If you choose a good angle, photos do not disappoint anyone, and worthy of high printing editions
billytompkins

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by billytompkins
Review Date: 11/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: at F8 or less--very sharp
Cons: at 2.8---focus is off

At 2.8, 3.5, 5.6--lens goes soft--especially at 2.8--which is disappointing since I shoot live music that is dark most of the times. At F8--its great, but F8 is the exception not the norm of my shooting. Too bad. I had the first lens glass fall out and Sigma replaced right away. The lens cap and circular overleaf are very sturdy builds which is nice. Too bad the lens is not sharp wide open. Sigma should recall and replace and I would buy more of their lenses.
lensreporter

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 12
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by lensreporter
Review Date: 5/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $680.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp from f4.5, very sharp from f6.3, nice building, f2.8 for interior
Cons: CA´S - corner

A real funlens, incredible sharp from f6.3, beautiful colours, great flare-control, very nice construccion! Only the CA´s are quiete strong in both corners, but we are talking here about 10mm! Incredible ultrawideangel (6,5mm in comparation to a normal lens) and with a nice program you can take off the distortions (fishrect). A great lens for creative amateurs and pros!
arn

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 4
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by arn
Review Date: 1/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $770.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: surprisingly sharp, HSM, VERY close focus, 3 year warranty
Cons: moderate CA, which can be corrected

I'm going to rate this lens a full 10 and not just because there's nothing else quite like this available. It is quite sharp wide open, but at it's best stopped down to f4.5 or further. The peculiarly named reviewer dpreview (?) should do well to try AF microadjustment. My lens needs +10 AF adjustment to focus properly and give sharp results (and some of my Canon lenses have need even more adjustment).


This is a fun lens because of such a wide angle, sharpness, pretty good AF and close focusing combined.


Do note, that there are excellent programs like Rectfish and Fisheye Hemi available, which can be used very effectively to remove the fisheye distortion but preserve most of the image area.
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp-very sharp from f4-5, very good construccion, fast and silent
Cons: not so sharp from f2.8-4.5

Iam very satisfied with this new fisheye-lens. Excellent optic rendition (only wide open its a bit soft, but from f4,5 very sharp). Quick and silent AF and very solid construccion. I really dont understand the first valoration from deepreview (5) and not recommended! May be a decentering.....
CajunMan

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 2
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by CajunMan
Review Date: 2/16/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Optical Quality, Fast/Quiet Autofocus, Well Built, Autofocuses with ALL Nikon DSLRs
Cons: Not Weather-Sealed

First off, bear in mind that I purchased this Sigma fisheye to replace Nikon's 10.5mm f/2.8 fisheye. While I was happy with the Nikon's optical performance, I was disappointed with the AF design. Nikon's lens relies on the AF motor in the camera, which makes for noisy AF. In addition, this design precludes full-time manual focus touch-up. And finally, the lack of an in-lens focus motor precludes AF on the existing D40/D40x and new D60, as well as future Nikon DSLRs lacking an in-camera focus motor.


In any event, when Sigma announced their fisheye lens a few months ago, I decided that I would purchase one. And I am very happy with it! The HSM provides autofocus performance as fast as the Nikon (at least on my Nikon D300 DSLR), while being eerily quiet.


As for the optical quality, it appears to be virtually identical to Nikon's, which is to say excellent. Both lenses are slightly soft wide-open (i.e. at f/2.8), but sharpen considerably when close down one f-stop. Indeed, both lenses are almost as sharp at f/4 as they are at f/5.6.


Besides the built-in autofocus motor, another difference between Nikon and Sigma's fisheye lenses is the field-of-view (FOV). Sigma's lens is 0.5mm wider, and provides a small -- but definitely noticeable -- increase in the angle of view.


So, it all comes down to this:
* Do you currently own a D40/D40x/D60, or plan to purchase one?
* Do you prefer super-quiet AF to the noisy mechanical variety?
* Do you prefer a better-built lens?


The one advantage that Nikon's lens has is size/weight. While arguably not as durable and well-built as the Sigma, it is lighter and more compact. If this is important to you, then you may prefer the Nikon.


As for Cons, there is one. Sigma's lens is, unfortunately, not weather-sealed. I was hoping that Sigma would at least utilize a gasket around the lens mount, but that is not the case. As such, I recommend against using this lens in rain/drizzle -- or in a super-humid environment. (It is important to note that Nikon's fisheye lens is not weather-sealed either, and also lacks a lens mount gasket.)


Apart from the one aforementioned complaint, I highly recommend the Sigma 10mm fisheye lens. It provides all of the performance/quality of Nikon's fisheye lens, while providing fast and quiet autofocus to owners of ALL Nikon DSLR's, including the D40/D40x/D60. You will not be disappointed!
dpreview

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 10mm f/2.8 EX DC Fisheye HSM review by dpreview
Review Date: 1/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Construction, HSM, comes with nice case
Cons: Very soft wide open

Bought this lens as an alternative for my EOS 5D/ EF 15-2.8 Fisheye combo. Tested the lens on my EOS 40D and was very disappointed by the image quality wide open. The image was far to soft, beyond recovering with Unsharp mask.
This is really a pity because the construction and HSM autofocus is superior to the Canon EF 15-2.8.
The lens is larger and quite a bit heavier (475 gr, 330 gr for the EF 15-2.8)
Stopping down to f8 gives a comparable result with the Canon EF 15-2.8 (also stopped down to f8)
Images made with this lens are a bit warmer (typical Sigma, one likes it or not, its a matter of taste) than the images made with the EF 15-2.8
Also noticeable is the slight reduced angle of view (167 degrees instead of 180 degrees for the EOS 5D / EF 15-2.8 combo).
The lens comes with a very nice padded case.
The lenscap consist of two parts (cap and a kind of ring) and fits very tight (Canon might learn something here...) Leaving the ring on the lens gives a nice circular effect on the resulting image (not quite like a circular fisheye but still this is a nice feature).
At the back of the lens is a slot for gelfilters (a metal plate to cut the filters in the right size is also provided with the lens)


www.geckophoto.zenfolio.com


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.