SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 36035 1/30/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $523.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.75
pentax35f28macro.jpg


Keywords: Pentax Mid Prime Macro APS-C DA Limited


kh1234567890

Registered: January 2014
Posts: 6
Pentax 35mm f/2.8 Macro Limited SMC DA review by kh1234567890
Review Date: 1/30/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice build, compact, excellent optics
Cons: AF prone to hunting

Solid design, optically excellent - little distortion, no CA to speak of, very sharp even wide open, no flare. Colour rendering is excellent, as is contrast. Bokeh is OK, can end up a bit 'busy' with some shots when wide opened. Mechanically it is a good design with a built-in retractable sliding hood and a recessed front element.


35mm is a nice focal length on APS-C and I've found that I tend to use this lens more and more, not just for macro shots. f2.8 is not all that fast though.


The AF can hunt - it is a long way between the end stops and it takes time to spin if AF misses the first time. Assembly quality and QA could be better - on mine one of the iris blades sometimes slightly sticks.


At 35mm you have to get in really close for macro shots - not much use for things that can crawl or fly away !


If you are thinking of splashing out on a DA prime, get this one - it will grow on you. But do not lose that expensive metal lens cap !


Some of my shots taken with this lens are here :
http://flic.kr/s/aHsjwHnZse
brecklundin

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1
Pentax 35mm f/2.8 Macro Limited SMC DA review by brecklundin
Review Date: 4/29/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $569.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: small, light weight, metal construction, full time manual focusing, true 1:1 Macro, built-in hood, 49mm filter size
Cons: none really, maybe the bokeh in some shots - maybe

Might be my most used lense in my bag, and I have the three amigos (31ltd, 43ltd, 77ltd). I jokingly call this lense my 4th Amigo.


I bought this lense for it's macro capability. Anyone doing so needs to remember to get 1:1 you are going to be just 1-2" from the front element. That can be an issue if you need to light the subject. While there is a lot of room to crop thanks to the resolving power of this lense, if you want to light your subject at 1:1 distance I would consider the D-FA 100/2.8 WR which sells for a hundred bucks more give or take. I decided to grab both as I really like the versatility of the 35ltd as a walk around lense even a street lense as well.


Being a macro the AF is never going to be speedy. If you need faster AF look at the older FA35/2 sibling which can often be found as new old stock. MF'ing can also take some getting used to because of the long travel of the focus ring. Again that is due to the lense being a macro. Macro lenses have to cover a lot of AF range that standard lenses do not.


As a walk around or general use lense I don't there you can do a lot better at any price. It just a very consistent and solid performer.


I use mine a lot for product and tabletop shooting but did find it being somewhat problematic for shooting items I need to get very close to in order to fill the frame to a reasonable degree. But that is due to the focal length and is not a short coming of the lense. Just had not thought about it when I bought my first copy.


Over all I find no real weak areas for this lense when using it. Then again I don't put a lot of stock into lab numbers for a lense. I want a lense for pictures not for running tests.


Oh, yeah, about CA and bokeh. I have yet to run into anything but very minor CA and then only when using a flash on a metal piece of jewelry. Bokeh might be the lenses only marginal area. Even still it is not bad but can, at times, be a bit 'nervous' given a 'busier' background. It's not as smooth as say the FA 77mm/2.8 Limited but is still very acceptable. Here are a couple examples shoot at not quite 1:1 distance:


http://www.brecklundin.com/Lenses-Gear-and-Setups/Pentax/Pentax-DA-35mm-f28-Macro/PentaxDA35mmLimitedhiiso/590462831_dD3Gf-L.jpg


http://www.brecklundin.com/Lenses-Gear-and-Setups/Pentax/Pentax-DA-35mm-f28-Macro/k20dlenstests35mm-20090704-2/581608892_WywZM-L.jpg


http://www.brecklundin.com/Lenses-Gear-and-Setups/Pentax/Pentax-DA-35mm-f28-Macro/k20dlenstests35mm-20090704-1/581608065_f6wpm-L.jpg


http://www.brecklundin.com/Lenses-Gear-and-Setups/Pentax/Pentax-DA-35mm-f28-Macro/k20DDA35mmlimitedtest-20090629/577926360_CfamW-L-1.jpg


A bit more nervous bokeh
http://www.brecklundin.com/Jewelry/Antique/14kt-Amethyst-Cocktail-Ring/amethystbracelet01-4/955540006_XAJx3-L.jpg


You can see the bokeh in the last shot is not as smooth as the previous shots. It can be distracting for some shots. Just the way it goes with this lense.
slider

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Pentax 35mm f/2.8 Macro Limited SMC DA review by slider
Review Date: 7/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its a very small lens, pull out len cover, witch you can adjust to your needs.
Cons: almost to small.

I have bought a number of prim and limted len's from Pentax, all have been of high quality and construction, the best part is the picture quality,and extreme sharpness of the pictrues, not just sharp but stand there and look at all the detail sharp,sharp. you won't go wrong buying this lens if sharpness is what you are looking for in a Macro lens.
MichaelinA2

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 1
Pentax 35mm f/2.8 Macro Limited SMC DA review by MichaelinA2
Review Date: 8/18/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: close focus, color rendering on K-7 & K20D, field of view, speed, self storing lens hood, compact size
Cons: easy to lose lens cap

Great walk-around lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.