SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 162910 10/5/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $547.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.33
spacerspacer
9.89
spacerspacer
9.44
nikon60f28microafs.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Mid Prime Macro 35mm AF-S Tested


sjkip

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 9
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by sjkip
Review Date: 10/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Shockingly sharp and distortion/CA free. Can be used with FX or DX
Cons: None.

This is the only macro anyone probably needs, whether with FX or DX. You can get in close for bug's eye views and use it handily for ordinary scenery and flower shots. Despite what some reviewers say, you can get plenty of light on the subject even close in.
dhale001

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 6
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by dhale001
Review Date: 4/4/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Sharp, Sharp.
Cons: None.

I have been shooting a Micro Nikkor 55mm 1:2.8 since 1986 on a Nikon F3. When I bought a Nikon D90 three years ago, I bought this lens. I also have the Micro Nikkor 105mm 1:2.8. For flowers, general photography inside and outside, this is an excellent choice. It is sharper than the 55mm, or the 105mm Micro lenses.


If I could have only one lens, it would be this one.


I know all the pros advise to get the 105mm 1:2.8 to increase the working distance to critters, but this lens on an FX camera is very useful for so much more than closeup stuff. I'll am using it on a Nikon D800E as a general purpose lens.
Toby

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 6
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by Toby
Review Date: 4/1/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Smooth AF, manual focusing possible any time, full frame compatible
Cons: changes focal length at higher magnification, somewhat bulky

I have now tested several samples. Although it seems to be a sharp lens, one should know that the focal length changes considerably at higher magnification ratio. At 1:1, the working distance is only about 5 cm cmpared to the Tamron 60 mm lens in which the working distance is about 10 cm (on a Nikon D300, APS-C sensor).


Therefore the lens will cast its own shadow on the subject to be photographed. For me this is clearly not acceptable. I am still looking for a decent 60 mm macro lens for Nikon (the Tamron 60 mm f/2 having an unpleasant tendency to underexpose).
doomin5

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 2
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by doomin5
Review Date: 2/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Super obiektyw do makro i portretu.Ostrość - żyleta.
SolokNikon

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by SolokNikon
Review Date: 1/26/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Build quality, AF speed!
Cons: none

Really sharp, very thin DoF.


Build quality is great, autofocus is INCREDIBLY fast, even compared to the 18-55 VR and 55-200mm VR lenses.


Simply a great lens, at a bargain price.
Canon-Nikon-user

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 14
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by Canon-Nikon-user
Review Date: 12/2/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $560.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpest lens I ever used, fast AF, FTM, very well built lens, great color rendition.
Cons: none.

I think this is the best Nikon lens .PERIOD.


This is sharper than anything else , I hope Nikon makes all lenses this good , the new Nikon lenses released in this year were all so good , so they should make the orver priced unsharp 17-55f2.8DX as good as the 16-85Vr or this one with Nano Crystal coating.


I hope Nikon will replace the 85f1.8 with SWM and Nano Crystal coating , the 85f1.8 and 1.4 are both already very good lenses though.


Forgot to tell you this lens works great on the D3 at my work , my personal camera is the D300 and D90 , but I think this lens works better with the D3 with more beautiful bokeh than I can get with DX body.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by lextalionis
Review Date: 9/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Finally a tack-sharp and fast micro prime that's affordable!
Cons: Only slight vignetting.

A very good piece of glass at a very good price!


Sample Photos taken with a D200 and D40


-Lex
umberto

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by umberto
Review Date: 6/2/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp
Cons: Can't think of any

Excellent image quality! Fine piece of lens. AF is fast.. build and feel is solid.


This lens is seriously sharp with excellent color rendition.


Worth every penny!
heavyJ

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 1
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro Nikkor review by heavyJ
Review Date: 4/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $624.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, crisp photos
Cons: AF can be slow but manual is what I normally use for macro stuff

This is a good 60mm lens. The extra 200USD extra you spend compared to the older 60mm lens is well worth the quality of pictures as well as the IF.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.