SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 262956 8/13/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $903.40
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.17
spacerspacer
7.83
spacerspacer
8.17
sigma120-400f45-56os.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Tele Zoom 35mm DG OS Stabilized HSM APO Tested


andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by andre_
Review Date: 8/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: focals range, OS, rendition at f8 and over, price/quality
Cons: definition at large apertures, finition

Good non expensive zoom.
Well definited when stopped down (at 400mm at least f8, better at f11), good stabilization.
I don't love the "panning mode" in the OS, but it's functional.


The AF works without flaws, fast enough for virtually any situation.
Even follow flying birds is never a problem.


The collar is very well made, detachable.
On the other hands, the hood is small and cheap.


The finitures are the same of other Sigma lenses, and they are peeled away after a short periodo of use.


The price is rather low, and the quality at all the focal lenghts are good enough to pay what spent to purchase this lens.


Maybe it's not the better lens in the range, but I think is a very good deal.
The Nikon omologue is far too expensive (and the old version is too slow).


If one look for the best quality in the market, then go to the bulky and expensive primes.
Foer every other "amatorial" use, this lens worth the money and the results are good.
a_
climbhigh4fun

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 6
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by climbhigh4fun
Review Date: 5/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $849.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very well balanced, excellent IQ, positioning of the manual ring and zoom ring
Cons: A bit heavy, but not much different than others in this class

I had read mixed reviews on this lens and wasn't sure if it would be the best choice for my needs. I do mostly wildlife photography and needed a long reach lens. After driving myself crazy, I finally chose to buy it over the more expensive Canon 100-400 IS. I was amazed for so many reasons. Excellent picture quality, great features and for such a heavy lens, the incredible balance made hand holding a breeze at getting clear, crisp photos. I would dare say that the balance of the Sigma is far better than the Canon lens making handheld shots easier. Their weight is very close and the tripod ring, for me, doubles as a grip for handheld shots since it has finger channels in it. I love the positioning of the full time manual focus ring directly above the tripod ring making it very easy to tweak the Auto Focus if necessary since it has full time manual override. This was a great idea by Sigma.


Although I have only been shooting with it for a few months, the construction seems to be excellent. Some reviews I have read say that the matt black finish looks like it would be prone to scuffing, I have found no evidence of this.


The HSM AF is fast and quiet. I've also read that the OS seems loud compared to Canon's IS. Well, I have Canon IS and Tamron VC lenses and I don't notice a great deal of difference. Certainly not enough to be an issue. Of the three, I would say that the Tamron is the loudest.


At the high end of 400mm it has been said it drops to very good, this is not unusual and for the most part, not a problem. Even Canon's 100-400mm has had the same said of it. So, if you want to spend $600 to $800 more for the Canon, go for it. Dollar for dollar the Sigma seems to be a much better choice. My feeling is you can get pro level results from both lenses. If you are a top pro working at these focal lengths and longer, you are probably going to be using Prime lenses costing $4,000 to $20,000 anyway.


All in all I would say this is a great pro-sumer/enthusiast lens.
Bee

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 3
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by Bee
Review Date: 5/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Zoom range, Construction, Focus speed, Optical Stabilizer, Excellent Warranty
Cons: Weight

This is my first Sigma, and to make a long story short, I am really happy with it.
I was saving to buy the Canon 100-400L but after the price increase, I looked around for another zoom in that range.
I read some positive reviews about this Sigma and I thought I will give it a try. This is a very nice lens that comes with hood, case and collar. It is a heavy lens (about 4 pounds/ 1750 grams) and it uses 77mm filters.
Autofocus speed is fast ( almost as fast as Canon) and Image Stabilizer ( Sigma calls it OS) does a good job.
In some reviews, it's been pointed out that OS makes too much noise. It is noisier than Canon but it is nothing annoying or loud ( at least to me).
The annoying thing about OS is that you have to turn it off before you turn off your camera.


As everybody else has mentioned, it produces softer images than Canon wide open at 400mm. However I usually use it at f/8 and I am happy with the results. It is very sharp around 300mm.
I must tell you that I am not a pro and I am not trying to make a living out of photography. It is my hobby ( and an expensive one!!) and this lens with it's zoom range and price was exactly what I was looking for.


There is one more thing I have to mention. This lens came with 10 years ( yes, 120 months!!!) Sigma Canada warranty. If a company stands behind their products like this, they deserve my money. I am sure this will not be my last Sigma.


If you need some of my sample photos, you may check this link:
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3578/3561047790_f8e7060f25_o.jpg


http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3596/3600423434_4bd13e471f_o.jpg



I hope you find this short review useful.
PalmettoMan

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by PalmettoMan
Review Date: 4/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $749.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast and silent focusing (HSM) - AF quickly latches on to moving subjects. Solid Construction. Zoom Lock. Easy to handhold.
Cons: Ultra matte-black coat some what prone to scuffing.

Comparing this lens to the Canon 100 - 400 L Series, you get a lot more bang for the buck with the Sigma.


In my opinion, and although image quality between the two slightly differs (with Canon being the better overall), there is not really all that big of a difference (compared dozens of shots on Flickr taken with these two lenses).


In test, it is reported that this Sigma lens delivered excellent range SQF numbers at 120 and 250mm, indicating superior sharpness and contrast. As with most long tele zooms, however, it dipped into the Very Good range at 400mm.


Bottom line: overall it's a good lens and very stiff competition for the Canon in it's zoom range - and at hundreds less in price!


*** Product Warranty Registration On Line – FREE added 2 Year Warranty "Bonus" when you register on line ( 3 Years total ) for non-EX lenses - 3 Year Bonus for EX lenses (4 years total ). Additional extended warranties are availble through authorized dealers >>>


http://www.sigmaphoto.com/support/registr.asp


* Canon's warranty is for a period of one (1) year from the date of original purchase
Ghibanez

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by Ghibanez
Review Date: 11/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $920.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ..
Cons: ..

It's a good lens not for professional use bat good lens!
franzoi

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 4
Sigma 120-400mm f/4.5-5.6 DG OS HSM APO review by franzoi
Review Date: 8/26/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $899.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: OS 4 stop, HSM, ring tripod, price
Cons: weight, soft and... I have a big problem: front / back focus. Not good!!!

good OS 4 stop, but less than IS canon, much slower and noisy to stabilize the image.
Very soft 400mm f 5.6 !!!
medium sharp 400mm f/8 and f/11.
Bat I have a big problem for front / back focus to send assistance
SIGMA to adjust


With Canon 450d = 192mm - 640mm
With Sigma Teleconverter x1,4 or x2,0 AF does not work.


link with first photos


http://www.franzoi.eu/index.php/links


I SOLD IN NOVEMBER THIS LENS FOR
CANON 100-400 CANON


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.