SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 56296 3/31/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
71% of reviewers $295.71
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.29
spacerspacer
5.57
spacerspacer
6.14
1nikon28-200f35-56a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm


JacoJazz

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by JacoJazz
Review Date: 3/31/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Great on a DX camera
Cons: Horrible on an FX camera

I loved this camera on my D300. When I tried it on a D800, I was shocked at how soft the edges were. Pretty bad actually. This lens is not useable on an FX class camera in my opinion.
Roland

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 5
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by Roland
Review Date: 2/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Zoom range
Cons: Optically horrible, soft, no contrast, distortion, ghosting (at least on a full size DSLR)

I buyed one to try it on a D700 (full frame DSLR)


I don't know if this one had a specific problem (it was a new one), but at apertures between f3,5 and f8, the left quarter of the photos was ugly between 28 and 50 mm.
Very very blurry, and with huge ghostings between dark and bright zones.
The right side was also soft, but way better then the left side.
This issue was so strong, it was pretty well visible on 6x4 prints.
Vignetting wide open at the wide end was also very visible.
Even toward the tele end, the photos were soft and flat, without contrast.
Another issue is the very heavy pincushion distortion toward the tele end.


Maybe this lens behaves better on an APS-sized DSLR, but on a D700 forget it.
I don't know what Kenn Rockwell has smoked before he wrote his review about this lens on a D3, but I think it was something very strong !!


I returned mine after about 40 photos and I'm now happy with a 24-85 f3,5-4,5G ED IF AF-S lens (see my review) wich gives very good results in all situations.
billrogers945

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by billrogers945
Review Date: 5/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, size, image quality
Cons:

This is a little gem of a lens that is often overlooked. For the price, it delivers excellent performance.


I originally purchased this lens because of my unhappiness with the 18-70mm kit lens that came with my Nikon D70. I have taken many excellent photos with the 28-200 lens.


When I purchased a D200, I also purchased the Nikkor 18-200 VR lens.


I kept the 28-200 lens, however, for use on the D70, and as a backup if the 18-200 VR ever needs to be repaired.


The 28-200 is not a DX lens, it is not an AF-S lens, and it does not have VR. Still, it delivers excellent performance for its price.
Solutionsetcetera

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by Solutionsetcetera
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $315.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light weight, and sharp.
Cons: none in this price/zoom range class.

I love this lens, and find it on my D50 most of the time. I have yet to use it much on my F75 so I can not speak to the vignetting and pin cushion issues others have mentioned, but it performs well indeed on the D50.


While not a real macro it focuses quite close, and is an excellent close up lens.


As for the plastic mount... you'll be fine as long as you're not planning on dropping it.


This lens has taken some remarkable images at many different focal lengths, and of the do all zooms, is as good or better than most. It is a shame it has been discontinued but I am guessing all the hoopla about the pricier 18-200vr has stolen much of its thunder. You'll be hard pressed to do better than this for three hundred bucks.
twmangrove

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 1
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by twmangrove
Review Date: 11/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $260.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: low cost, good AF speed, nice image quality
Cons: plastic lens mount, not prime glass images

I've had this lens for several months on my D70 and it has served me well. I've shot with it at rodeos, and I have used it with an SB-800 shooting hockey indoors under horrid lighting conditions. It has always given me images worthy of publication. It's a terrific all-in-one for keeping dust out of your DSLR. Physically it's surprisingly compact and light, yet solid enough to work with. No zoom creep either. Also, because it's not a DX lens it works very well with either the SB-600 or 800 (I've used both with it) - you don't have to calculate in the flash's zoom function for the crop factor. The exposure tends to be bang on.
I admit, I am selling my copy to pick up the new nikon 18-200 (I tend to shoot more on the wide end), but for what I paid for this lens it has more than paid for itself. A pleasant surprise for an all-rounder.
And though the image quality may not be that of higher end glass, it's been so rewarding that I couldn't give rat's arse. Fun to use and quick enough to capture those important moments. Besides, there's always post-processing for fine details.
It's a lens to remind you that photography isn't always about the gear you're lugging.
Cheers!
robertdeanda

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 1
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by robertdeanda
Review Date: 11/6/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Zoom Range, Internal Focus, Included Petal Style Hood
Cons: Soft Wide Open, Severe Pincushion at Tele End

I just recenlty acquired this lens as an "all rounder" walk-around lens. For my serious work I use a set of primes on a full frame camera, so I was not expecting too much from this little guy. Overall, the lens is a good buy. It truly is very small, and light, but solid.


At 28mm, vignetting is very noticeable. On the tele end (200mm) pincushioning is very bad. Chromatic Abberation is well controlled. The corners are soft when shooting wide open, however, sharpness and resolution are very good stopped down. Try F8 for maximun results. I'm sure that it will perform far better on an APS-C sensor camera.


As the Gin Blossoms used to sing... If you don't expect too much, you might not be let down.
WCranston

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 4
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF Nikkor review by WCranston
Review Date: 11/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Inexpensive & big range.
Cons: Slow focusing, not 2.8, 28mm is ok on low end for film, not for DSLR. Ugly out of focus areas.

Pro: Inexpensive & big range. Focus limiter.


Con: Slow focusing, not 2.8, 28mm is ok on low end for film, not for DSLR. Ugly out of focus areas. Plastic mount.


The worst part is really the out of focus areas on telephoto shots. They are very hard a ring-like. It is really not a great lens for a DSLR & overall picture quality is not bad, but not nearly as good as the 18-70.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.