SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 44569 2/10/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $587.60
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
9.40
spacerspacer
9.00
olympus9-18f4-56.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Zoom Four-Thirds ED


sandstone

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by sandstone
Review Date: 2/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: relatively light, low CA, smooth operation
Cons: none

I've had this lens for a year and a half now, and it has become a huge favorite for taking on trips. I'm not a professional, but I am picky about image quality and very impressed with what this delivers, especially when one considers its size/price.
entropius

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 3
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by entropius
Review Date: 2/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, cheap, sharp, lightweight, sharp
Cons: only f/4, not weathersealed

Images are very sharp at any aperture and focal length, even out to the corners; the sharpest aperture is actually f/4. There is a little chromatic aberration around the extreme edges, but nothing too bad, and it is the type that can be corrected in post if you care. Distortion and falloff are not an issue.


The lens is mostly plastic (to keep weight and cost down) with a metal mount, but it feels solid enough.
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by trentdp
Review Date: 7/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness entire range wide open
Cons: High geometric distortion - however, NOT unique to this lens

This is a great Ultra Wide lens for the 4/3 system at a bargain price. DPReview tested this lens and rated it Highly Recommended which matches my personal results.


The only concern is it is f4.0 minimum so requires higher ISO in low light setting and/or an external flash to prevent a shadow from the lens. The internal flash on any of the Oly 4xx, 5xx, or 6xx cameras is too low and results in a shadow at the widest setting (i.e. 9 mm).


This is very light lens which makes it nice as a carry aroung provided you are limiting you shooting to the range of the lens. However, combined with Oly 14-42 or 40-150 it makes a compelling light field combination especially with the new Oly E-P1 using the 4/3 to M4/3 adapter.
gth

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by gth
Review Date: 5/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $790.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very sharp mounted w. adapter to pana g1
Cons: autofocus a bit slow

At the time the only available wide-angle-zoom with autofocus-compatibility on panasonic G1 (mFT-FT-adapter needed).
I made some architecture images - details and accuracy of lines are impressive good.
(my german is better than than my english – sorry!)
Liebe Grüsse
gth
ManuT

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 3
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED Zuiko Digital review by ManuT
Review Date: 12/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $548.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light for wide angle and sharp
Cons:

I havent tried this lens very much, but initial impression is good and sharp. Although the lens is consumer grade the results are good and it is light too. I was thinking between this and 7-14, but decided on this because of the price difference and good reviews. Would have taken the 7-14 if it was f2.8.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.