SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
3 35591 3/9/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $850.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
zeiss18f35.jpg


Keywords: Zeiss Canon Nikon Pentax Wide Prime Distagon 35mm


jajambo

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 4
Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18 review by jajambo
Review Date: 3/9/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, colour contrast, smooth focusing, reasonable price, build
Cons: vignette, f/3.5

Delivers exactly what it promises. Superb quality. Manual focus works very well with Canon 5D MkIII. Solid build - metal and glass, not a cheap plastic toy. Vignette can be a minor problem, but it adds to the taste of this lens. One pet peeve I have is that the shallow lens hood does not stop my finger from touching the front of the lens by accident... just my problem, I guess.


If you are used to Canons (prime or otherwise), you will find that the colour contrast this lens delivers is another animal. Whether that is better or not, it is up to your taste.


Highly recommended.
lukaswerth

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 1
Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18 review by lukaswerth
Review Date: 7/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, sharp, crisp
Cons: not so fast

I jumped at an opportunity to get this lens for a very reasonable rate in like-new condition. I had read mixed reviews about it, particularly in comparison with the Nikon 14-24.
I don't have the latter lens, I wanted a lighter, also cheaper alternative less prone to flare - as I live in a place with a lot of sunshine.
I use this one on a Nikon d800e, and what I can say after a few days of extensive testing is that it compares excellently with the other lenses I use, all new, all bought for this camera. Whatever some reviews say, it is as sharp as I could with for, picking up every bloody cigarette stump on a pavement in the fringe of a night shot. It has a crisp image quality which gives me a lot of keepers, it is light, easy to focus - I am positively surprised!
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18 review by jtorral
Review Date: 9/14/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color, contrast, build
Cons: Maybe a little too wide for regular use. Very specific need for this lens

Sample images on a canon with thi slens can be found here


http://www.zeissimages.com/showgallery.php?lenstype=356


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.