SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 178419 8/10/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $368.57
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
8.13
spacerspacer
8.38
panasonic45-200f4-56g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds O.I.S. Stabilized Tested


trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by trentdp
Review Date: 8/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice light general purpose vacation lens supplement to the 14-45.
Cons: Soft beyond 125 mm

This is a good zoom lens for the price. Works well in video on the entire M4/3 line of cameras. The Pany 100-300 appears to be much sharper in the equivalent focal ranges but costs about 2X as much. It is a personal choice is the price difference warrants your use and how often you use this lens. I found my shooting preferences are from 9 mm to 140 mm so this lens did not offer enough incentive to keep it.
VictorN_1212

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 3
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by VictorN_1212
Review Date: 7/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $340.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: bang for the buck, makes for a great travel lens, compact and light
Cons: slow lens and hunts focus in low light

got this lens recently to compliment my 14-45 & 20mm pancake on my GF-1. Good image quality esp. when you shoot raw. Nothing much to complain given the price point and performance. Definitely recommended!
Marriott

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 4
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by Marriott
Review Date: 10/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, sharp enough, OIS, not too pricey
Cons: Could always be better, but a good lens for the cost.

If you don't expect perfection, this is a pleasant lens to use. It's actually quite good. Mine is sharper in the corners than the review on this site indicates. Maybe I just got a top copy. It compares favorably with the Nikon 55-200mm which I use on my D90. In a side-by-side shoot-off, it proved to be just a bit better than the Nikon, and is better constructed. It makes a decent portrait lens in a pinch, blurring backgrounds decently for m4/3. I don't have any pro-level glass, so I'm like the guy who's never driven any Bavarian beasts but is happy with is Honda, and the price I paid. Good bang for the buck.
EdO

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 4
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by EdO
Review Date: 3/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: compact and light for focal range, silent AF operation
Cons: somewhat soft in corners

Very impressive focal range for so compact a lens. Image corners softer than what I can get with my Nikon 70-300 VR but this is mostly visible in test-chart photos, generally not noticeable in "real world" photos. (When using a 400mm-equivalent focal length, how often do you care about corner sharpness?) OIS is worth about 2 EV reduction in shutter speed to be safe in my hands (my criterion is 4/5 test shots as sharp hand-held as on tripod, viewed at 200% magnification)
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by SETI
Review Date: 1/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp, stabilized !!!
Cons: no

I always shoot in RAW and never have any problems with this lens. Yes, it can't create that POP images that can do 70-200/2.8 from both Canon and Nikon, but it's not that lens aim. It's just the best coupling with my G1 for street and candid shots ! Rotating LCD and 90-400mm is all what I could ever dream !
kuroneko

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 2
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by kuroneko
Review Date: 12/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $275.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Long zoom range (90-400mm @35 mm eq), decent image quality, decent price, relatively small & light, great IS.
Cons: relatively slow lenses (f4-5.6), AF hunt,

if there is available, i would have choose a faster lens over this one but as the only tele lens for G system available now, i dont really have a choice but to purchase this lens...


however, after using it for several times.. (i rarely use tele lens... i often use wide to normal lens instead)
i found that this lens is quite a performer..
sharp, good color render, and can create a nice bokeh (out-of-focus image) although with small aperture and small 4/3 sensor, it very difficult to create silky smooth bokeh.


oh btw the image stabilizer is working very well.


enough of words, let the pics talk.
here the sample of images created with this lens.


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030523.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030533.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030557.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030552.jpg


although this lens still cannot create image as "wow" as my Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS, with its weight and size, this is the most tele lens i carrying when travelling!..(paired with GF1),


very convenience for taking candid shot without getting people attention..


i'll keep mine..
until Panasonic , Leica, or Olympus launch faster tele lenses for Micro 4/3 format!
logaandm

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 6
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by logaandm
Review Date: 9/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light, decent image quality
Cons: Focus can hunt in low light.

Compared to a Canon 100-400L on fullframe? This lens does pretty darn good. If your into micro-4/3 this is a great lens to keep in the bag. My 100-400L rarely leaves the house - this one I carry almost everywhere.


I have used this on a G1 and the E-P1. Focus can hunt especially on the E-P1 in low light but works well when used in manual focus.


OS works on E-P1 but NOT when camera based IS is turned on. Camera based IS seems to be better.
dick1234

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 4
Panasonic 45-200mm f/4-5.6 MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by dick1234
Review Date: 6/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light & sturdy lens construction, small size
Cons: Decent photos above 150mm, but not the best

Decent 45-200 lens with decent price!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.