SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 163949 12/7/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $274.40
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.22
spacerspacer
9.44
spacerspacer
9.44
panasonic14-45f35-56g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds O.I.S. Stabilized Tested


theelderkeynes

Registered: December 2013
Posts: 3
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by theelderkeynes
Review Date: 12/7/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great IQ, small and easy to use shooting at waist/hip level using fold out screen on Pana G1
Cons: None really but I have had the occasional problem shooting direct into the sun(!)

Great lens for all purposes really, sharp, light, versatile...
ricky

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 1
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by ricky
Review Date: 2/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: impressive IQ
Cons: bigger size

After comparing with Olympus 14-42, Panasonic 14-42, i decided to keep this high IQ zoom. it's comnenient for everyday use. But if you want go further, some primes are suggested, such as olympus 45 1.8d, sigma 19 2.8, and of cause 85 1.8d which is expected by every one.
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 11
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by asulea
Review Date: 8/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $270.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, good construction.
Cons:

Very good standard-zoom lens for Olympus OM-D E-M5.
oluv

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 4
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by oluv
Review Date: 3/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: the best mFT standard-zooms
Cons: "big" when mounted on a small camera

this is still the best standard zoom lens for micro four thirds if image quality is the most important factor and you don't care about size. unfortunately it is quite big and doesn't fit well on small mFT cameras like GF3 etc.


it is quite sharp across the zoom range if you get a good copy, my first one was decentered with a soft side to the left.
i compared this lens to olympus' m.z 14-42 as well as the 20mm pancake, and the 14-45 compared pretty well to the pancake in sharpness and was much better than the m.zuiko.


unfortunately i sold mine as i didn't use it that much on my GF1 and GF2 because it was simply too big.
i tried the new x14-42 instead and hoped it to be a good substitute, but the x14-42 was a real disaster.
therefore i still think that the 14-45 is one of the best kit-lenses apart from the fact that it is not a small lens!
JRenato

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 5
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by JRenato
Review Date: 1/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nitidez e cores exelentes, focagem rápida.
Cons: O material usado em sua construção poderia ser igual a 14x50.

Em relação a qualidade de imagem e a rapidez no foco, sem dúvidas que se trata de uma exelente lente.
Só acho que o material usado em seu chassi, poderia ser de qualidade melhor.
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by trentdp
Review Date: 8/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $210.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness entire range wide open
Cons: None, considering the price and target market.

The best choice for going light on all the M4/3 line of cameras. When I want to keep it light, I use it on my GH1 due to superior optics. It works well for video with silent AF and relatively smooth zoom (much better than the 14-42).


This lens is perfect on the entire Olympus M4/3 line for video recording due to quick/silent/accurate AF, and the OIS which is switch selected on the lens as opposed to the Pany 14-42. Digital IS during video is the achilles heal of the Olympus line of lenses.
EdO

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 4
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by EdO
Review Date: 3/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $342.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: versatile, compact
Cons: none

Excellent, versatile lens. Compares favourably with my Nikon and Sigma zooms in this focal range. OIS adds about 2 EV to the shutter speed that is "safe" in my hands. ("Safe" in my book is four of five test images as sharp as on a tripod)
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by SETI
Review Date: 1/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp, versatile, stabilized !!!
Cons: no

Not much to say - one of the best kit lens I ever saw. 28-90 equivalent of 35mm - very versatile. I love 28mm wide lens and 85-135 portrait lens, so that's what I mean. Of course forget about bokeh =)
dick1234

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 4
Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by dick1234
Review Date: 6/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small lens with great image quality
Cons: Limited zoom range

The best compact lens, well-built, with image quality compatible with the big guns like Canon & Nikon.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.