SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 167785 6/22/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,666.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
canon24f14l2.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Prime 35mm L II USM Tested


fsnfs

Registered: June 2012
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM review by fsnfs
Review Date: 6/22/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ
Cons: $$

Good Lens, Very sharp
It maks canon become nikon feeling
kinematic

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 12
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM review by kinematic
Review Date: 1/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp lens, gorgeous build, amazing low light performance.
Cons: Nothing major, but the lens hood is a touch too loose.

Currently my favourite prime to use. On my full frame this is such a versatile lens and I love the look it gives. It's not overly wide that it starts to distort like ultra wides, but it's wide enough to cover a good landscape shot, or to do fantastic environmental portait shots. I would defer to genotypewriter for his expertise on this lens. He has had a lot of experience with this lens.


I really enjoy using this lens for late night astro photography based landscapes. Several friends of mine also use this lens for that kind of application and it's just such a treat to use.


I own several wide angle lenses (17-40L, 16-35L II, 14mm Prime) and it's one of the sharpest of the lot - the 14mm actually is a touch sharper.


As per SLR Gear's review, the vignetting is a bit extreme wide open, but it's very desirable to me. Even wide open this lens is pretty impressively sharp.


I also occasionally use this on a crop camera (7D) and it's actually quite nice on that camera as well. vignette is more reduced and it acts more like a 35mm would on my 5DmkII but I can't say too much more about this lens other than buy it!
genotypewriter

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 12
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM review by genotypewriter
Review Date: 6/14/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp and extremely handholdable
Cons: nothing specific to this lens

Here is my very detailed review of the 24L II vs. Nikon 24mm f/1.4G (both on a 5D MkII):


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/4698284415/
Cindy

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM review by Cindy
Review Date: 4/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,899.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great upgrade!
Cons: Difficult to find on the market currently

Sharp from 1.6 (can beat 16-35 at 2.8), no Vignetting from 2.8, No any flare. The weight is just same as 24-105.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.