SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
28 87291 10/13/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
93% of reviewers $132.76
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.38
spacerspacer
7.27
spacerspacer
7.15
1nikon70-300f4-56ga.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Zoom 35mm


dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $145.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: slow AF, build quality, unusable in lowlights

a decent performer in IQ department. Use it properly, and it will deliver sharp results. It has a sweet spot somewhere between f/8-f/11, therefore you'll be needing.. a lot of light. I think the lens is best suited to be used outdoors, in broad daylight.


You get what you pay for. For the price, you'll get the all plastic lens, and yes, including the lens mount. Thankfully it comes with a free lens hood. It's a basic telezoom after all. For the similar price, I prefer the Tamron 70-300 Macro. It has better built quality, and does macro too.
jeremiah

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by jeremiah
Review Date: 8/16/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: CHEAP and light. decent quality images.
Cons: LOUD AF and you have to stop down quite a bit for it to become sharp. Need lots of light.

(D90)


I'm only giving it an 8 overall because it's so cheap.


It's not that great of a lens if you're going to scrutinize the image quality @ the pixel level, but it's a cheap & light zoom. Near super-zoom w/ a DX sensor (which I have).
Ty-Photo

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 2
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by Ty-Photo
Review Date: 9/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, Inexpensive, Sharp, Contrasted
Cons: Plastic Mount, Small Focus Ring

I'm not sure why everyone gave this lens a bad rating. I took images last night at a football game and it produced sharper and more contrasted images than my Tokina 80-200mm F/2.8 Pro and my Nikon AF 70-210mm F/4. It also makes a great travel lens thanks to the focal range and light weight. Yes, it is cheaply made and probably won't last you years - but to be able to buy a lens like this for under 100 bucks is quite a value! Also, the AF is not that slow - especially if you have a lot of light. If you're still not sure whether to go for it or not, go ahead and just take the inexpensive chance.
libertinephotography

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 9
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by libertinephotography
Review Date: 8/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $139.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, Inexpensive
Cons: Slow autofocus that searches, Need tripod for best results

This is a working man's telephoto zoom. It is super inexpensive, and the results are not bad. But sometimes you get what you pay for; in this lens, its downsides are an obnoxiously slow and loud autofocus, and the fact that it is best suited for tripod use, in order to take true advantage of that 300mm range. Go for it, if you want something to try shooting this focal length on, but don't buy one if you expect to use it for sports or other fast action settings.
HighSierra

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 13
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by HighSierra
Review Date: 6/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Very cheap, light, and compact for a 300mm lens
Cons: Shaky construction, hardly the sharpest pencil in the class

Let's be honest. This lens is no world-beater, and one wonders how much it even deserves to be called a Nikkor. From about 135mm onwards it is fairly soft, even stopped down to F8 or F11. The extending tube rattles back and forth while the AF clanks, clunks, and hunts in all but brightly lit scenes.


So why bother? Well despite the drawbacks, it does get you effective 450mm on a DX sensor camera. If telephoto is not your primary focus as a photographer (no pun intended), or you just need a lens for getting closer in low-light where P&S camera go to die, this lens is a very attractively cheap option. I've used this lens to take casual photos at baseball and football games that were nice to have, but not worth investing $1k+ into a single lens for. Considering that ISO1600 was needed for night events, the output from a point and shoot would have been a noise nightmare.


Without spending $400+ on a 70-300VR or $1k+ for a 300mm F/4, you can buy into this little lens, and get pictures where you otherwise might not have. It's hardly the greatest lens ever built, but considering the price, it has a place and time for those who might need it.
wijnands

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by wijnands
Review Date: 2/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $120.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap, nice form factor, optically decent
Cons: Prone to CA, needs stopping down after 200mm

OK, let's face it. At this price you won't get superior image quality and sharpness. So, what do you get?


- A telezoom big enough to hold properly and yet not too heavy
- A usable manual focus ring
- Decent images, especially if you have light enough to stop down a bit
- Nice looking Bokeh


When shopping for a telezoom I also looked at Nikon's 55-200. However, this lens is hardly bigger than the 18-55 kit lens and I found it difficult to steady at maximum zoom. With this 70-300 I do not have that problem.


Some common problems:
Hunting:
Yes, this lens will hunt in low contrast situations. Solution to that is manual focusing or paying more attention to selecting an AF point that's over a more contrasty part of your subject.


Softness:
Simply put, at more than 200mm stop down to at least f7.1


CA:
I mostly notice this when photographing aircraft against a clear blue sky. No real fix for that although using the supplied hood helps a little.


All in all, a lot of lens for a very, very decent price. Don't expect 70-300VR performance from it and you will not be disappointed.
Ludwig

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 1
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by Ludwig
Review Date: 2/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: nice cheap telephoto lens
Cons: bit slow, but what do you expect

For the price you pay for this lens, its actually quite nice. So far it has taken images that I expect for its price. I used this on my nikon d50, 1.5x300=450! Sweet.
matthewporter

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 12
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by matthewporter
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $184.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Fairly cheap
Cons: AF searches a lot

Actual amount paid: £95(GBP)


This lens offers a lot of zoom for not much money and is well worth considering as a second lens on top of one of the standard zoom kit lenses. It is really good for taking pictures of animals and passable for flowers. The downsides are that you need a lot of light at 300mm to get a decent shutter speed and that the minimum focus distance of 1.5m is quite large.


As one of the older Nikon lenses, it lacks a Silent Wave Motor and so focussing is slow and very noisy in comparison to some of the newer offerings. The Auto Focus also tends to hunt around a lot in certain situations and the manual focus ring is a bit small to use comfortably.


I would recommend considering one of the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Macro lenses as an alternative though. The standard one costs the same as this Nikon with the special APO version costing a little more, however both feature significantly better minimum focussing distances than this Nikon.


This lens may not be fully functional on the D40 due to its lack of an internal motor.
hbcc100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by hbcc100
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $190.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

For the price, it is a fairly good lens. It has a good zoom range, but as you'd expect given how much you can spend on a similar telephoto lens, there are some bad points. To start with, the auto focus is very slow and noisy, and what I have found to be the biggest problem, is that you have to stand quite a long way away from your subject (over 1 metre). The amount of light you get also isn't very good and it doesn't feel very solidly built. That said, it does take very good pictures if you have enough light available and for a lens of this price, this could be a good choice for a first zoom lens.
tommy

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by tommy
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: cheap, portable
Cons: light, slow (in every sense)

I've had a love-hate relationship with this lens. I bought it because it I wanted something portable for very occasional long shots. And because it was very cheap.


The lightweight means it's a great lens to throw in your bag and forget about. Unfortunately, the lightweight means that's it generally best off *staying* in your bag. Long, light lenses are very prone to vibration so you need very high shutter speeds. Unfortunately, long, light and cheap lenses also need to be stopped down quite a way to make sharp images.


Auto-focus is very very slow and, to compound the problem, very prone to hunting. If you miss your target the first time the lens will rack all the out and all the way back again looking for something to focus on, which feels like a very long time when you're waiting to take a picture. Pretty hopeless for any wildlife faster than a three-toed sloth.


On a tripod, with a cable/remote release, shooting at f16 or smaller I've had some very good shots from this lens. It has certainly allowed me to get a few shots I would have otherwise missed.
leoric

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by leoric
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Poor optical and build quallity, only 5.6 at 300mm, rotating front element, extremely slow autofocus

Of all my lenses, this is by far the worst. Sure it's cheap, but wide open or even stopped down it's not sharp at all and the build quality is poor.


You can use it for portraits with a nice out of focus background, but don't even think about action shots or bird photography. You will be disappointed.


I think it gets sharp if you use at f/8.0, otherwise at the 300mm end and wide open be prepared for some serious softness and chromatic aberrations.


Another problem is the autofocus. It hunts like hell and you will have difficulty locking on to moving subjects. Moreover, the front element rotates during autofocus, which complicates the usage of polarizing filters.


I'd only recommend this lens if you have a tight budget and if you are desperate for a telephoto lens.
vNe

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 7
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by vNe
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, light, high zoom
Cons: Slow AF and apeture

If you are on a tight budget and need some zoom this is a good solution. The image quality is excellent up to 200mm; after that, images get slightly soft and there is some loss of contrast; however it is not much of a problem. The end of the lens rotates as it focuses, which is a bit annoying if you are using filters. The lens also does not focus very close, which makes the lens less optimal if you want a cheap macro option. If you plan on shooting outside in good light, the lens is a great bargain.
jkukec

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by jkukec
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $179.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Inexpensive in comparison to other 70-300 options
Cons: some occassional wild-colored pixels

I read a lot of reviews to figure out the differences between this and other similarly-named lenses that were much more expensive; I think this is a great lens for "prosumers" like myself. I found that you DO get the occassional wild-colored pixel or small pixel cluster from time to time. In most pictures, it may not even be noticed. In the really important pictures, it's easy to paint it out using the clone tool or healing brush in Photoshop. The image quality is very satisfactory.


I had been trying to use a great old Nikon SLR lens with my D70 - which is great, but using a lens that actually talks to the camera is SO much easier...expecially for sports photography where you don't have as much time to monkey around with settings.
bullfr

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by bullfr
Review Date: 1/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap, long range, light
Cons: average optics, slow AF and aperture

Just bought one ; it does exactly what it is supposed to: a really cheap, lightweight, long zoom !! Ideal for travelling, since it adds longer zoom ability for a ridiculous price. But it comes to the cost of build quality (who cares, by the time it s broken I'll have enough to buy a better one), and optics features (only f/4, no VR,...).
gnip

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by gnip
Review Date: 12/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cost, "G" type lens works with metering system and comand dial.
Cons: Slow lens for action shots.

I've gotten some nice pics with this lens. I have recently purchased a tele-converter to enhance the focal range. I feel the that the focus tracking works well enough to recomend it, but I would prefer something faster.


Maybe the D-100 will work better than the N-75. We'll see next season,(I'm shooting little league football).
CocoMonGo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by CocoMonGo
Review Date: 12/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light weight, cheap, high power zoom
Cons: Slow to focus and not-so-bright lens

About 3 years ago, this lens would not be even considered anything but paper weight by most photographers then. Even though back then they had a ED version of this lens which I guessed helped with the colour.


This is a cheap lens, and unless you are willing to spend 8 to 10 times more for the 80-200mm from Nikon, go ahead and buy this one. It is a great travel lens.


It is light (therefore a cheap feel to it), but makes for a good lens to hike up mountains with, small again a plus for travelling. I rarely use this lens at the 70-100mm setting, but rather at the 200-250mm. This is where I find the limit of the lens (about 200mm), any more the picture gets soft. Distortion is noticable at the long end, though not sufficiently severe. Colour is OK and rendered quite naturally. Non IF means problems with polarizers. Generally a sharp lens, use around f/8 onwards. Frankly speaking, hand-shake will be more of an issue using this lens then the lens not being sharp.


As mentioned earlier, this lens is a slow-mo. Focus is slow and will hunt for its target and even fail at times at low light levels. But at f/4 doesnt make it a low level lens anyway.


Recommended? Yes, but if possible try the ED version or the newer (and better??) IF-ED-VR-AFs version. Got 10 times more money? Go get the 80-200. Even more? got the 70-200 VR.
afirozia

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by afirozia
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, powerful zoom, great result with sufficient light
Cons: slow focus time especially when low light, hard to hold steady at 300 mm - no VR,

This lens works great especially from region 70-200mm. Beyond >200mm, you really want sufficient light to get a good result. However, tripod will help you to get great photo at low light condition.


Recommend newbie tryout this lens first and I think you won't regret.
dhcn50

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by dhcn50
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $179.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

What a great lens for the price. I picked one up this weekend and took some great shots with it. Works perfectly with my D50, seems just like and extension of the camera.


Image quality of the 4x6 photos was excellent. Somewhat soft at the long end but I think that was me as I was handholding and I should have increased the ISO to get faster shutter speed.
nunoferreira

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by nunoferreira
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, focal distance range
Cons: too plastic, soft focus

I bought this lens on a second hand deal. I wanted a tele-objective and this with 70-300 for that price seemed a nice deal. It’s a good lens to practice and have fun with some snap shoots. I use it with my Nikon F80. The focus could be better. On the other hand it’s quite lighter than the "big and expensive" professional ones. If you find a good deal, buy it. If not you may think in saving a little more money and buy on the next "levels".
JStiffey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by JStiffey
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $160.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light inexpensive
Cons: Slow

Bought this originally with my D70 2 years ago.
It has been a solid work horse for any subjects that don't move too fast. Smile


The plastic construction actually feels pretty solid and doesn't exhibit any weird traits.
The zoom control is smooth and accurate.


The auto focus is on the slow side and certainly will hunt if presented a quick moving subject that is changing focal ranges.


Image sharpness has never been a problem so long as you have ample light.
Wide open the lens seems to work well and I have not noticed any irregularities.
Overall for an inexpensive lens it is an A+ in my opinion.
VIDKEY

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by VIDKEY
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: CHEAP, DECENT SHARPNESS
Cons: SLOWWW

FOR THE PRICE YOU CAN'T BE WITHOUT ONE, BUT IT GETS VERY FRUSTRATING WHEN THE AF STARTS TO HUNT. VERY LIGHTWEIGHT AND COMPACT.


SAVE UP AND GET A USED 80-200 F/2.8 AND YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED
JoeSchu

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by JoeSchu
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Fun range to play with
Cons: Bring your tripod if you're shooting indoors.

Another great bargain zoom. You can't really complain about this lens other than f/4-5 is just slow. If you want pro glass, pay for it, otherwise, this is a fun zoom for newer SLR shooters who want more range when shooting outdoors. This is a tough lens indoors unless you're working with a quality speedlight. I wouldn't reco using it with the "pop-up" on a D70.


Fun, cheap, but it'll leave you wanting more.
danwatson

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by danwatson
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Excellant Bang for the Buck
Cons: Soft at Tele, Slow Autofocus, Some CA

I received the 70-300g as part of a D50 camera kit sold at Costco. The lens is light weight and made of decent plastics (better than my 55-200DX). This lens performs well for the price, color is good, contrast is decent and sharpness isn't too bad given you stop down to f8 - f11. The lens is a bit slow to autofocus (though autofocus was accurate), and as it is not an AF-S lens, I found that this lens tends to drain the battery of the D50 a bit faster. On the tele-end this lens is a bit soft and looses a good bit of contrast, of course a little PP sharpening and curves can make up the difference in a pinch.
olaieryk

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by olaieryk
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $175.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: big CA at 300

+
Very cheep
Good image quality
-
Little soft at 300
AF is noisy and slow
Big CA from 200-300
Zed

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by Zed
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, Flexible focal lengths
Cons: Slow focus, f/4-5.6 is unacceptable for anything with low light, extends quite far

This lens is a great beginner lens. This combined with the Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5 provide a great foundation to learning about photography. I would recommend only using this lens during bright daylight. Wide open, it is very soft at any focal length. This is a great way to learn about the basics, but not very useful beyond that.


One of the ‘secrets’ about this lens is the fact that it can do 1:4 macro (micro) photography. At 300mm, you can get as close as 6 feet (give or take a few inches) and get some good shots. It can not replace any of the Nikon micro lenses, but it can provide a good starting point to learn.


The focus speed is quite slow, so avoid situations where you need to track moving objects. If you ever upgrade to an f/2.8 lens within the 70-300 range, you will notice t he quality jump. Not a bad lens to start with. Mine is collecting dust right now.
vienna

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by vienna
Review Date: 7/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $99.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light weight, wide zoom range, low price
Cons: Soft at 200mm & up and lots of CA

Considering its absurdly low price, this is an OK lens. AF performance isn't AF-S class but it's fine for most people. CA is a problem wide open and things get soft from 200-300mm, but stopping down to f8 helps. It has nice bokeh. Don't knock the abundance of cheap plastic -- that's what makes it carryable. Bottom line? I have a wall full of 8X10's done with this lens and nobody has complained.
feadin

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by feadin
Review Date: 3/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, good zoom range, can be very sharp.
Cons: It can be too light sometimes, images a bit soft at maximum apertures at long telephoto and too noisy.

Image quality is very good at all ranges when using the correct apertures. i.e. f/8 at 70mm and f/11 at 300mm works best for me.


AF is on the slow side, and hunts a bit sometimes at very low lighting (as the lens is not very bright at maximum telephoto), but it's perfectly usable most of the time.


It pretty light, so it's easy to carry, but sometimes I miss a little more weight to help stabilize the shot.


The motor can be noisy if you use it in a very quiet place, but most of the time it just feels OK.


One thing I didn't like was the included hood, I find the locking mecanism too loose for my taste, anyway you can use a standard 62" rubber hood if you wish.


But overall it's a very nice lens, it's plastic but feels very solid, and when used properly image quality is very good.
Discpad

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor review by Discpad
Review Date: 10/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $99.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great bargain!
Cons: G-mount

Having sold my first one to a friend, I quickly missed it and plopped down $99 (grey) at Adorama. It is surprisingly sharp, especially when used on a dSLR with standard 4/3 (1.5x magnifcation) sensor. If you can tolerate the f/5.6 aperture at full (300mm) zoom, then this is one of Nikon's best bargains.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.