SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
17 267419 10/22/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
82% of reviewers $390.55
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.81
spacerspacer
8.94
spacerspacer
8.63
nikon50f14g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Mid Prime 35mm AF-S Tested


photospots

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 5
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by photospots
Review Date: 10/22/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, great bokeh
Cons: could have better autofocus speed

A very sharp lens which is very sharp and creates great bokeh if you use it as a portrait lens or other places where bokeh is important.


But you should consider buying the 50mm 1.8g which is cheaper, but has almost the same picture quality.


http://www.photospots.dk/2012/10/buyers-guide-to-nikon-50mm-lenses.html
lalitjee

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 12
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by lalitjee
Review Date: 11/26/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp,compact size,fast focus.
Cons: not any

i totally enjoy the image quality from this lens,
maskinmoller

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 6
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by maskinmoller
Review Date: 3/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, build quality, AF precision
Cons: AF a little slower than the old version

Love this lens for generel photography and as a short portrait lens. AF is precise could be faster. Sharpness is great over the whole frame stopped down a bit and in the center it's quite good wide open too.
Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 20
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 1/24/2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Cheap, sharp, compact, quick, light.
Cons: CA horrendous on 3 copies, AF lacking in speed and precision

Very bad CA. Uncontrollable distortions. Very inconsistent up to 2.8. Tested 3 copies, all unusable on the D7k and D90. Really the 50 1.8 afs is leaps and bounds better.
colinjames

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 8
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by colinjames
Review Date: 11/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp from f2 & beyond across the frame
Cons: Contra lighting a huge obstacle, hunts

This was the 4th 50mm I've owned from Nikon - I'm giving up on this focal length unless a future 50mm 1.2 is done right or a Sigma 50mm 1.4 is given to me. The most annoying part about owning this lens is its propensity to hunt. It's af-s is a joke. Worse than a funky 3rd party macro. IQ is superb when it takes pictures. Shot on D700 - I had this lens since it came out and sold a couple months ago and I'll never miss it. I played with 3 samples at the camera store so I feel I got the best (minor variation on this particular lens I believe). This one showed apparent aperture blades in oof at 2.8 only - all other apertures were nice and round. C'mon! LOca's weren't too bad in its defense...
Tony305

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Tony305
Review Date: 10/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $370.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good size on D90
Cons:

Bought it used.
Very happy with it, for low light.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 7/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: outstanding bokeh, no flare, sharp from f1.4
Cons: AF slow, big

I've shifted to this new model after a long experience with two 50mm f1.4 AF-D.


Compared to them, the AF-S is more definited til f2.8, and present no flare (considering the large aperture) when spot lights are in the frame.


The bokeh (already at the top in the former model) is outstanding, now!


The linearity is better than in the AF-D, even at f1.4, without any coma on the corners.


Color rendition is very close to the old lenses, lacking the nano-crystal coat that make the new zooms hypersaturated.


The only cons is the AF.
Precise, as well as the former AF-D, the AF speed is almost the same (and sometime the impression is that's too slow).


But, actually, it is never a real problem in the "real life".
a_
moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by moose
Review Date: 7/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $288.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast and accurate high resolution lens
Cons:

Nikon professional user.


On the D300 and D200 this lens is superb. Fast to focus and very very sharp.


This is a high resolution 50mm lens that every Nikon photographer will want to own.
colors

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 1
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by colors
Review Date: 1/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

can be mounted on d5000 too?
and i was wondering if is better Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S ?
any ideea ?
Cliff Beard

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 12
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Cliff Beard
Review Date: 9/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, compact, light, Great image quality on full and crop frame
Cons: Slow AF, slightly soft and lacking in contrast wide open

This is a classic all-rounder on full frame and a short portrait lens on crop frame. I find it far more useful on full frame, where it can be put to almost any use and has to be the most versatile lens overall.


In conjunction with the high ISO capability of modern bodies its low-light potential is fantastic and I find that subject isolation and smooth bokeh can be achieved very easily.


As with all fast primes, wide open it lacks a bit of contrast and sharpness outside the centre, but stopping down to even F1.8 sees an improvement and by F2 its really good. Great for portraits at F2 to 2.8. Stopped down to F4 and smaller its bitingly sharp across the frame and doesn't seem to suffer significantly from diffraction softness at F16.


The SWM is quiet and accurate though AF is a bit slow...not an issue with real-world shooting with this lens. The MF ring is surprisingly good for low light and close up work. It even has a focus distance scale.


In real world situations I don't find the vignetting at widest apertures an issue, nor the slight CA you see either side of the focal plane when test shooting text on paper for example.


Overall, its a similar story to the 35mm F1.8...a great performing and top value lens with immense versatility. If I had only one lens, this would be it.
jake

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 8
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by jake
Review Date: 8/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

super lens for this money
VictorN_1212

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by VictorN_1212
Review Date: 7/16/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small and light, sharp
Cons: a little prone to ca as i would expect

i got this lens a couple of days ago and mounted it on my D60. makes for a very light combo. overall image is quite good... very sharp when stopped down to 2.8 and sharpness peaks at around 5.6, imho.


highly recommended for a dx - short portrait lens.
Toby

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 6
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Toby
Review Date: 6/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $475.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: The (slow) autofocus will work also on cameras not supporting AF-D
Cons: Autofocus too slow, image quality average, no image stabilizer

Considering that this is a prime, the sharpness is rather average (on my D300). It is certainly not to complain about, but also nothing to get excited about. E.g. only at f2.8 (or smaller) the sharpness matches my 16-85 DX VRII set at f4. I would have expected a much better performance from a prime as compared to a zoom lens.


Build quality seems to be ok and is certainly better than the one of my 16-85 VRII.


I have to agree with the test: The autofocus is really slow! If you use the lens in theaters or concerts, the slow focus will make you miss some good shots. Again, the 16-85 (or the brillant 70-300 4.5-5.6 VRII) show how it can be done.


I would rather opt for the 1.4 AF-D, if I were not expecting that Nikon will slowly phase out camera bodies supporting the AF-D system.


Following the first posting of my review I got so fed up with the slow AF that I finally exchanged the lens for an AF-D.


I was absolutely annoyed by the slow autofocus of the AF-S, I missed too many good picture opportunities.


Now, the autofocus of the 1.4 /50 AF-D is about twice as fast on my D300 body.


Large aperture lenses like the 1.4/50 are being bought for low light portrait/people photography. In such situations you just need to be quick.


For a lens of this size, you would expect an VR, but it is bulky even without it. The AF-D is only about two thirds of the size and currently you can get it as a real bargain.


The image quality of the AF-D may be slightly better, but it does not appear to make a practical difference.
ktwse

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 11
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by ktwse
Review Date: 3/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great IQ, fairly compact
Cons: Slow AF, poor bokeh

Stopped down to f/1.8 this lens truly delivers, across the frame, on an FX camera. But it's still quite useful at max aperture, delivering good center sharpness and decent enough corner sharpness. It's also a lot of FUN to use, and the size is just perfect on a D700. The Sigma EX 50/1.4 might be slightly better optically but is also twice as large and more expensive. My choice would be this one.


The AF can be a bit slow, most likely because of the long travel between infinity and the closest focusing distance, and the bokeh is not all that great. Apart from that, this is a brilliant lens.
igorisk

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by igorisk
Review Date: 2/2/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $473.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality
Cons: sometimes slow focus

image quality is excellent, very satisfied
Thoppa

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 12
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Thoppa
Review Date: 12/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality is excellent
Cons: AF-S has not made a significant AF speed improvement.

This is an ideal short portrait lens on DX. If you don't mind the price then you won't be disappointed.


I have no real complaints, however, the close focus distance could be better and the AF speed is not hugely better than AF-D, but it does seem to track a subject better in AF-C than the AF-D does.


I quite disagree with the previous poster about bokeh and I'm not the only one who does :


http://www.naturfotograf.com/lens_norm.html


However, I quite agree about a new AF-S 35mm f1.8 - yes please !!
Canon-Nikon-user

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 14
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Canon-Nikon-user
Review Date: 12/10/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good IQ , with very high resolution , good wideopen perf, almost no CA.
Cons: a bit slow AF, harsh bokeh

on my D300 , it is slower to focus than my 35f2D or 85f1.8D, but on a D80 or 90 , it is a bit faster lens than these screw-driven primes.


it is sharp wide open , it is very bright with good contrast , and I see almost no CA at atll.


bokeh is not so good a bit harsh compared to the excellent Sigma , but for my use candid street shots , I think it is good enough and more importantly, I love the size of it , it is very inconspicuous and makes my D300 look very compact , now I go out with my D300 withou hesitation.


this is what I was waiting for for a long time , thanks Nikon , this time you got it.


now, you should design an AF-S35f1.8G and AF-S85f1.8G, no need for a huge f1.4 prime , but make it small and inconspicuous with high resolving power like this one or the AF-S60f2.8G, if the 60 was f1.8G ,it would be the perfect lens for me though.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.