SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 73672 8/20/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $499.88
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
7.50
spacerspacer
7.50
tokina12-24f4ii.jpg


Keywords: Tokina Canon Nikon Wide Zoom APS-C DX AT-X PRO II


tclune

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 6
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX II SD review by tclune
Review Date: 8/20/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, high-contrast, excellent color fidelity UWA
Cons:

This lens is wonderful! It is well-made, tack-sharp, focuses well and is virtually without CA (which I attribute to my D5000 's processor rather than the lens itself, but on that body this lens is a marvel).


I have taken a set of images at the Grand Rapids Meijer Gardens Chihuly glass sculpture exhibit that illustrate the lens properties: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/6370541681/albums/chihuly
I down-res'ed the images for upload purposes, but they still give a reasonable idea of what this lens can do. I experimented with indoor hand-held architectural photography using the Tokina here: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/6370541681/invite/D009981C86CC45969DFDAF45DA9DCDBF


Some people have reported that the lens comes on/off their Nikon only with difficulty. My copy is as well-made in that regard as any Nikkor lens, but YMMV. The only negative I have encountered is that the lens hood impinges slightly on the upper left/right corners of the FOV at max width. All-in-all, I am absolutely thrilled with this lens.
gtblackwell

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 1
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX II SD review by gtblackwell
Review Date: 4/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $430.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Well constructed, very good value, quite capable
Cons: none to speak of

I have taught and practiced design and architecture for nearly 40 years . I bought this lens to photograph architecture and interiors and record my work. I think I have a well trained eye and I have found this lens to be more that satisfactory, it performs well on my D300, focus is accurate, image quality very good and built quality if slightly heavy is certainly solid. I am very pleased with this lens, having owned scores of lenses, mostly Nikon..
mtravella

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 6
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX II SD review by mtravella
Review Date: 1/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $499.50| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price/performance. Quality build
Cons: CA

I Just bought this lens a week ago and took about a 100 photos
of landscapes and test targets.
I am very impressed by this product compare to a much more expensive Nikon lens.
darthbaboon

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 1
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX II SD review by darthbaboon
Review Date: 8/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $570.00| Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Sharp,
Cons: Serious Front/Backfocusing Problems, CA

I use a Nikon D90 and did extensive reading and finally settled on this lens because it was prolly the most bang for buck around, with a good reach to compliment my 24-70mm f2.8.


Bought this lens and upon testing it, it was pretty apparent that there was backfocusing. Even at f4 the effect was very obvious. Shot almost 40 shots using different angles, different subjects but all ended up with the same result. Tested another copy of the lens and that too had focusing problems. Am now waiting for new stocks to arrive before sending this back to change for a new copy that hopefully doesn't back/front focus.


From initial observations, there's CAs too... although seems controlled and acceptable to a certain degree.


Image is sharp.... but again that's subjective.... because whatever I aim for isn't coming out sharp due to the backfocusing, and something else is instead.


For comparisons purposes, I slapped on a 14-24mm f2.8 Nikon, shot at f2.8, and got on-the-dot focus accuracy.


You get what you paid for I guess.


The Quality Control associated with the Tokina lenses are seriously crap.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.