SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 113340 9/8/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $628.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.67
olympus14-54f28-35II.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Four-Thirds Tested


attila_feher

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 4
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by attila_feher
Review Date: 9/8/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good zoom range and IQ, not too big for its class, fast phase-detect AF, reasonably fast CDAF, DxO support on MFT cameras
Cons: currently nothing (DxO support for MFT just added)

I have used it extensively on my old Olympus E-510 with excellent results. I guess it was supposed to be the "poor-man's 12-60" but it is far more compact than the 12-60 and it has a pretty similar zoom, maybe a tad more restrictive on the wide end. Additionally, it turned out to be a "future-proof" investment, as it works fine on the contrast-detect AF system (CDAF) on the micro-four-third (MFT) cameras.


Meanwhile, I have indeed switched to micro-four-thirds (I already own my second MFT camera) and use this lens with a FT2MFT adapter, especially indoors and for events, where a longer zoom is not needed.


Even though it seems a bit big for the tiny MFT cameras, I could not yet find any reasonable replacement (both in terms of size and price). The only thing I really need on MFT (e.g. on my Oly E-P3) is a custom grip, that helps me balance its extra weight.


The focusing speed on MFT/CDAF is somewhat slower than with the classic phase detection AF (PDAF) or with the newest MSC (movie & still) lenses, but is not slower than some older MFT lenses, like the excellent Panasonic 20mm f1.7


Update: 22.09.2014
DxO has just added support for it on the MFT bodies (hooray!) so I am back in the "pro league" with it.


It is a great lens, I really recommend it.
lichtloper

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by lichtloper
Review Date: 11/24/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: build, little distortion, zoom range practical
Cons: distance window not very useful

Image quality is very GOOD. The lens handles very well, zoom ring turns positively - not too easily. Good balance with E520.
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 11
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by asulea
Review Date: 11/1/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excelent build quality,sharp, fast AF, no distortion.
Cons: No.

Excelent for Olympus E-P3.
lensreporter

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 12
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by lensreporter
Review Date: 5/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, little CA´s, no distorsion, perfect ergonomy
Cons: none

One of my best lenses! Great resolution capacity, very sharp, nearly perfect. Not only from my side a 10!
lalitjee

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 12
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by lalitjee
Review Date: 1/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $670.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All over exellent
Cons: not any

I bought this lens to replace my 12-60 after having issues with 12-60 focusing problems. I am very happy with this standard zoom lens which I use with E3
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5 II Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 3/2/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast AF, CDAF support, weight, Closest focus distance, price
Cons: none

After having issues with my 12-60 SWD on my E-30 i decided to switch to the 14-54 II. I already owned the 14-54 Mk1 previsouly and i was happy. The 12-60 was an improvement over the old 14-54.


On the E-30 the 12-60 looses AF speed in LV and hunts in low light. This lens here does solve this perfectly.


The focus distance of 22cm is almost the length of the lens. A bit hard to get the light on the subject, but perfect to do some nice macro shots.


CDAF is fully suported, fast and accurate.


Only 430g weight is perfect to carry around.


I haven't found any difference in the IQ between the 12-60 and this lens.


The price in Europe for the 12-60 is so exagerated that buying this lens, you can even afford to get a 50F2


With the money i got for my 12-60 i was able to get a LNIB 50mm and an LNIB EC-14 + this nice lens of course.


The 14-54 II matches my day to day needs in terms of focal length. I don't miss the 12mm of the 12-60. For panorama i would prefer wider anyway. I prefer a dedicated lens to that.


it is an improvement over the 14-42 and as good as the 12-60 SWD


The SWD speed is IMHO no argument for this focal length. SWD advantages comes into play when talking about the telephoto and fast moving targets.


From my side -> highly recommended


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.