SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 188545 12/15/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $551.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.33
spacerspacer
8.67
spacerspacer
9.00
panasonic14-140f4-58g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds HD O.I.S. Stabilized Tested


langier

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 10
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by langier
Review Date: 12/15/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $365.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SIze and range
Cons: The rubber focus ring is sloppy and and be a PIA, could use a little more range

This is one of two lenses that I use on a regular bases with my GX7 bodies. I've had mine for a year and bought it used and in great condition.


I've used this lens for many things, from landscape to portraits to general shooting. Compared to my full-frame and DX all-in-one lenses, this one is better constructed and is pretty sharp throughout its range.


I've used it in low-light and the stabilization seems to help in hand-holding.


All in all, this is a great basic lens for an M43 system where speed isn't needed. What would make it even better is to either be a couple of mm wider (12mm) or perhaps a little longer, more than 150mm, but wider would be my choice.


The only issue I've had with this lens is that the rubber focus grip became sloppy in some hot weather and is still loose months later. It sometimes becomes an issue when I need to zoom and the rubber is askew.
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by halfmac
Review Date: 12/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small for reach, Great for video outdoors, Good walk around lens
Cons: Slow aperture, heavy compared to other m4/3 lenses

Lens is Sharp and takes very good stills but needs a lot of light because of the starting aperture at F4.0


Much Better than the kit lens for video because it is silent while focusing. Lens IS helps a lot too especially for the E-PL1 which only has in body IS which doesn't help with video.


Disadvantages are it's a heavy lens and not especially suited for small cameras like GF1 or EP series because of the bulkiness. It balances much better on the GH1.
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by trentdp
Review Date: 8/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $640.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent build and ergonomics
Cons: A little soft at 140

The IQ from 14-100 range is very good as indicated by the tests at this site. I agree with comments of other raters. This is the supreme 10XZoom lens for M4/3 cameras for video recording as nothing else compares with it's smooth/silent AF during video and relatively quick acquire of focus. It is a bit heavy on the smaller cameras but great balance on the G1, GH1 and GH2. It gets a bit front heavy even on the new G3 and all the Olympus M4/3 cameras. Many reviewers consider the lens a good fit on the GF1 and GF2 but a little out of proportion on the GF3.
It is my perfect vacation lens.
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by SETI
Review Date: 3/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Silent work,good construction,sunshade
Cons: soft,price

Great lens for video ! Absolutely silent, fast. But not as good for still pictures - need to use f/9 to achieve best results
Best regards. Dmitry
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photodrug/
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by Ocean
Review Date: 7/31/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, good build, sun shade, no CAs, very sharp for a zoom
Cons: heavy, thick, OIS could be better, no really good near performance

better than Olympus 14-150 mm, but heavy and expensive
m43

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 1
Panasonic 14-140mm f/4-5.8 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO HD review by m43
Review Date: 4/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good Sharp Lens for stills and good especially for Video
Cons: Heavy for Micro Four Thirds, largest aperture is F4 so needs a lot of light

Lens is Sharp and takes very good stills but needs a lot of light because of the starting aperture at F4.0


Much Better than the kit lens for video because it is silent while focusing. Lens IS helps a lot too especially for the E-PL1 which only has in body IS which doesn't help with video.


Disadvantages are it's a heavy lens and not especially suited for small cameras like GF1 or EP series because of the bulkiness. It balances much better on the GH1.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.