SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
10 166066 12/15/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $877.55
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
9.60
spacerspacer
9.50
panasonic7-14f4g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Wide Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds Tested


langier

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 10
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by langier
Review Date: 12/15/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $720.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size and sharpness
Cons: Not much to dislike

This is one of my workhorses for m4/3. I bought mine 2nd hand and it was like new.


Now that I have a year on this lens, I can say that it is one of my favorites. I have the Nikon 14-24 2.8 and the only advantage over the Panasonic 7-14 is that it is one stop faster. However, with that extra stop and having to cover a 35mm frame means that it is large, heavy and subject to lots of lens flare, even when the source is out of the frame. The 7-14 flares less and on my Panasonic GX7 bodies is just right. Flare is well controlled, it's sharp and it is just the right size and weight.


On a GX7 body combined with this lens, It is smaller than my 14-24mm and weighs less!


When I traveled to Serbia this year, this lens was an ace in the hole for some of the photos I needed to crate in a tight space. Combined with the GX7, the size was just right. I had to photograph in a tight space and the full-frame camera with my normal workhorse lens, a 17-35mm was not quite wide enough. The 7-14 saved me for these photos.


Later in my trip, I simply left the full-frame behind and shot with the 7-14 and a 14-140mm on the GX7. This lens looks too small to be professional, but everywhere I used it, I was able to shoot without drawing attention to myself and size was one of my stealth measures. Even in low light, shooting hand-held with this small lens was easy, much more than with my other system.


For both street shooting and tight spaces, one could not go wrong with this lens. The only drawback I can say is that at f/4 it's a little slow, but then the lens would be larger, heavier, cost more and probably have flare issues.


I've also used this lens for landscape work. It's liberating not to have to deal with the size and weight of a full-frame camera and lens yet still get very good image quality.


Overall, this lens is a good balance when one needs an ultra wide angle lens that isn't a fisheye.
LowTEC

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 4
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by LowTEC
Review Date: 6/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: SHARP, corner to corner sharp
Cons: lack of filter mount, purple blob issue with E-M5, E-PL5, GH3

Simply say, I love this lens. This lens is one of the sharpest UWA lens I have ever used, and I have used Nikon 14-24mm, Canon's, Tokina, and Oly M.zuiko 9-18


It is compact but relatively front heavy for smaller M4/3 cameras, it is decently sharp wide open, and corner to corner sharpness at 7mm f5.6. Build quality is excellent with nicely damped zoom ring (although I only use 7mm range). Sharpness level is comparable to Nikon 14-24 f2.8, which is the best UWA in FF system. I wouldn't go travel without it, the 7mm does give breath taking dramatic POV if used properly. The only down side is not the price (good lens costs a lot as we all know), but the SERIOUS purple blob issue when mated with my E-M5, E-PL5, GH3, which they are all use the same sony sensor, which can totally ruin the image when it happens, but for the rest of the time, the IQ is breath taking good, tack sharp corner to corner at 7mm. Although I wish for a filter mount for day time long exposure.


Here are couple samples.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/13108951383/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/14182278315/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/13292857844/
regardlese

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 3
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by regardlese
Review Date: 3/4/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The Best 4/3rds Lens.
Cons:

The Best 4/3rds Lens.
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by iffo
Review Date: 5/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Zoom lens with extreme large optical angle. Extreme good optical performances in terms of resolution, low chromatic aberration and distortion, Very compact and still well built
Cons: High price, Visible vignetting

One of the best micro-43 lenses imho
The Panasonic 7-14 is a lens where superlatives fall short.
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by halfmac
Review Date: 1/17/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $770.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Small, Constant Aperture, Internal Focus and Zoom.
Cons: Price

The Best 4/3rds Lens. This is the lens that made m4/3rds a necessity.


On a video or CSC camera it does not breath when focusing. Constant aperture is a bonus.


Very well made and small for what it does.


And did I say sharp. I should.


This is a lens that would be great on any camera system if it would fit.
naveedakhtar

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by naveedakhtar
Review Date: 9/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extremely sharp, very low CA on GH1, very light weight, no vignetting
Cons: 0

Origionally posted on 09/10:


I used this on my GH1 and carry it with me on long trip to middle East - Levant area Syria, Jordan and Lebanon.


The lens proved to be an excellent companion to all my outdoor landscape work and tight indoor shots in meusums, churches and mosques.


With its lightweight body and almost no distortion at all (thanks to excellent GH1 in-camera correction), this was the only suitable lens for my travelling style.


I used Tokina 11-16 f2.8 an excllent lens on D90 but very heavy comparatively and with less flexible focal range.


Can't recommend it more, a must have for any travelling photography enthusiast.


Update 01/01/2012:
Though my rating is unchanged for this excellent lens, recently I bought Oly 9-18mm so thought should give some quick comparison:


Well focal length is obviously wider on this and sharpness is much higher at corners and is faster at f4 throughout its range, if you are only interested shooting at 9mm and f4.5-6 (where this lens is sharp) is all you need, in my case yes that's what I normally use my UW at (good enough for tight interiors), then Oly gives you following advantages:


- bit extra reach on your disposal
- smaller size/ collapsible design
- can mount a UV filter (other filters are not required in this digital world IMO)
- half price chop


otherwise extra price on panny 7-14mm is worth every penny.


For some real world samples see my photo set dedicated to this lens:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/hakeem-na/sets/72157628659096193/
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by Ocean
Review Date: 7/31/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: simply the BEST, light, short,
Cons: Plastic, expensive

my Olympus 4/7-14 mm showed some better colors in the picture, but the Pana is so much lighter and smaller
and with the fantastic G2 its a dream lens in every holiday!
Canon, Nikon, Sony, Pentax, Sigma, Tamron have bad dreams on this lens and nothing to compete with.
EdO

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 4
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by EdO
Review Date: 3/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,170.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f:4 constant aperture, fantastic wide-angle coverage
Cons: none really

On an M4/3 camera this produces 14-28mm 35mm-equivalent. This is a slightly wider coverage than a Sigma 10-20 f:4-5.6 DC lens, with up to 1 EV faster maximum aperture, lighter and more compact, and only slightly softer corners (noticeable only at 200% magnification). Perfect complement to the 14-45 and 45-200 lenses; those three lenses give you a fantastic focal coverage at a fraction of the bulk and weight of comparable DSLR lenses. Now if only Panasonic would come out with a fisheye lens in this format ... and maybe an f:2.8 constant-aperture tele zoom, say 50-150, and I'd seriously consider giving up my DSLR kit entirely.
kuroneko

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 2
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by kuroneko
Review Date: 12/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $927.75| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color, low distortion, near zero noise operation, fast AF
Cons: Price, not possible for add-on ring filter, easy to lose lens-cap, plastic construction

Bought this lenses 1 month ago, paired with Lumix GF1 and has created a lot of great images..


overall..i think this lens is a great performer! worth every yen i spent!..


weight very light and small.. paired very well with GF1, and it can create sharp image with nice color rendetion...
it really fits with Micro four third spirit.
(light small compact and great image quality)


Love this lens.. great partner with pancake 20mm f1.7!


Highly recommended!


sample image created with this lens with GF1


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030496.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P10305861.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P1030597.jpg


Bigger image size
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/kucingitem/P10305031-1.jpg
dick1234

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 4
Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 ASPH LUMIX G VARIO review by dick1234
Review Date: 7/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp images, at F/4.0 & F/5.6
Cons: Relatively expensive, inconsistent F-stops.

Great lens with great images!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.