SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 188244 1/18/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $841.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
7.40
nikon10-24f35-45.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Zoom APS-C DX AF-S tested


henryreyes

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED DX AF-S Nikkor review by henryreyes
Review Date: 1/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, solid build
Cons: flare, distortion but fixable

I've had this lens for three years now and it is the lens that is on my camera most of the time. I've taken lots of pictures with it ranging from landscapes to indoors and as a travel walk around. I find it to be sharp and well built - no regrets here. At first I was thinking of getting the 12-24 but in the end I have found myself shooting more in the 10mm so the wider the better. Distortion is a little bit of a problem but with Lightroom that is easily fixed. Great lens all around.
nthbeach

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED DX AF-S Nikkor review by nthbeach
Review Date: 6/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Decent Zoom range
Cons: Very inconsistant focusing

I found this lens to be extremely frustrating to use.
Auto focus was definitely a case of hit and miss, so i found myself often using manual focus.
The corners were very soft at f3.5.
This was especially noticeable whilst taking indoor shots.


I Tried the old Sigma f4-5.6 and to my surprise, found it to be far sharper and consistent in every way.


I really wanted to like this lens. It has a great range, but it was just too unreliable.
For the premium price, you would expect far better quality! Very disappointed!!
PeterB666

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 5
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED DX AF-S Nikkor review by PeterB666
Review Date: 11/13/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice zoom range
Cons: Affected by flare, build lacks a quality feel

I have mixed feelings about this lens. The image quality most of the time is very good indeed and that's what you want but I am returning to Nikon after a absense of a number of years and find the build quality very dissapointing.


The zoom ring has a courseness that surprised me and the focus ring movement on manual focus could be extended to allow more accurate focussing however I cannot say that I have had any real problems focssing the lens. The amount of movement beyond the infinity marker before you encounter the increased resistance of the ring is odd to say the least.


Probably the thing that concerns me the most is the amount of flare that can be induced when the lens is pointed towards a pont source of light at night or sunrise/sunset. I this respect, if falls well short of my Olympus M.Zuiko 9-18mm lens which is a somewhat cheaper lens.


Overall, I am giving it 7s due to the dissapointing build quality (I guess this is the modern 'standard') and the poor control of flare.
RnR

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 2
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED DX AF-S Nikkor review by RnR
Review Date: 10/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp images
Cons: Colour could be better, strong distortion at 10mm

I had heard mixed reviews about this lens, so I tried the more affordable Sigma 10-20 3.5 first. I did some basic brick wall tests and indoor shots and time after time, the colour and contrast on the Sigma proved quite superior to the Nikon, but where the Nikon excelled was in overall sharpness. Center sharpness is very strong even at 10mm and wide open at F3.5. The same can definitely not be said of the Sigma, which proved soft throughout the range (yes it improved as you got to F8, but it was still inferior to the Nikon).


As a result, I returned the Sigma and paid the premium to get the Nikon, which has an MSRP in Canada of close to $1,100 (!!). Thankfully, I got it on sale.


I wish this was a constant 3.5 throughout the range, but I know I will use this as a walkaround lens considering its strong zoom range and creative potential.
Itzadeal

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 2
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED DX AF-S Nikkor review by Itzadeal
Review Date: 6/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $866.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good WA range, fast focus, size and weight balance well with d90
Cons: little test data, built-in flash works only with long end

Purchased from amazon.com because of reliable service in past, but prices are lower through other online dealers. Wanted 10 mm that the nikkor 12-24 did not offer. Have used it for about 10 days, shot several hundred pix both inside with flash and outside, they appear sharp, no flare problems, no apparent ca with d90 processing. It balances well on the d90 and build quality similar to VR 18-200. Focuses much faster than the 18-200.


This will probably be my main camera lens, just wish there was more test info available. Built in flash works from about 18 up to 24 without shadows.


Originally wanted Tokina 11-16 but gave up because of the back-order problem. QC issues and narrow WA range.


Overall, I'm happy with the early performance of this lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.