SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
18 123564 4/11/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
89% of reviewers $414.08
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.06
spacerspacer
8.94
spacerspacer
8.50
1nikon180f28a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Prime 35mm Tested


Glutte

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 6
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by Glutte
Review Date: 4/11/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very well built, Sharpness from f/4,exceptional lens after f/4, good bokey.
Cons: chromatic aberration and color fringing f2.8,

Mine is the AF 180mm ED non D model.


I would have given this lens a perfect score if I had not been owner of a Nikon 180mm 2.8 ED ai-s before. This MF lens was sharper at f/2.8 and completely free of chromatic aberration and fringing.Bokey at 2.8 was a dream. It was looking like a wreck but took incredible pictures...and I sold it. Very bad idea!


From 5.6 there is no difference between these 2 lenses. But a f/2.8 is supposed to be good at f/2.8.


At least I must say AF is very useful and sometimes makes the shot. This 180mm is just light enough for all day hiking (very not the case of 80-200mm 2.8)which makes it very good for wildlife shots. It's not at ease with extenders so you have to walk closer to your subject.
pictures.
wakaba

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by wakaba
Review Date: 1/21/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well thoughtout, wellbuilt professional lens without unprofessional frilly stuff.
Cons: None

Quick and precise AF on D600 and D50.
Light for a 180mm lens
Build quality is absolutely stunning.
Repeatable IQ.


At -3.5 stop:
really really high resolution.
No pincushioning and no distortion
Essentially no vignetting
Bokeh is right



It does 180mm/3.5 - and does it right. If you want 300mm performance - walk the 30m.


Freehand indoor shooting at acceptable ISO levels 1-400 is easily possible. Fast enough for Nature, surfing and generall sports.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/11/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $375.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: compact sized, pretty sharp wide open, built like a tank
Cons: limited usability

for a 180mm lens, it's in a compact-side, though it's quite heavy, thanks to its full-metal-body (looks like its gonna survive a nuke blast). IQ is nice, acceptable & pretty (not so) sharp wide open. It creates beautiful bokeh & good for headshots. Use it outdoor, and it delivers terrific images, indoors/night..? yeah, that's why they invented the VR (or you can use tripod).


I don't work headshots that much, so for me it has a limited use. I prefer the 70-300VR for its flexibility & usability (it focuses faster, zooms & has VR).. for the similar price range (used).
123click

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 7
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by 123click
Review Date: 12/4/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful bokeh and a very nice outdoor portrait lens
Cons: None but VR II would sure come in handy

Love this lens for sharpness even a full aperture which I do frequently do with portraits outdoors. Wouldn't it be great if it had VRII?
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 10/8/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: bokeh
Cons: CA out of focus, color fringing, AF slow, tricky to shift AF/MF

I've used this lens on Full Frame, on my D700.
The definition is good, even at f2.8, and the out of focus is outstanding, in BW.
Who have alwais shoot with telezooms doesn't know what I mean.


But alongside the old, slow and tricky AF, the 180/2.8 has a most important and visible weakness: the Color Fringing, and a chromatic aberration in the out of focus.


But the Fringing is really umbearable, and return very poor results when there is a spot light or a reflection in the frame.


It's a pity, because on film this lens has great results, and when there isn't any highlight too.
But it's necessary too nuch attention to have the best results...
a_
GregTheRotter

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by GregTheRotter
Review Date: 2/26/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $640.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, really light, very nice build quality, pretty snappy AF
Cons: Not tack sharp. On DX it might be, on FX it isn't.

First off, I am using this lens on the D700.


I bought my copy used off ebay. The lens I got was cosmetically in mint condition. The catch? It front focuses. After a lot of testing, I managed to correct it to the best of my abilities with Nikon's AF Fine Tune. My copy needs +6 correction.


Build quality;


The lenses uses the same crinkled finish as Nikon's 80-200 AF-D, and 84 1.4D and as such it feels just like a quality piece of equipment. The only nit pick you could have, is that the aperture ring, looks like it's come off the Nikon 85 1.8D, with glossy plastic, and as such, feels out of place, next to the crinkled metal exterior of the rest of the lens.


Handling;


This lens weighs 760 grams. Compared to the Nikon 70-200 VR (1470grams), this lens is 710 grams lighter. Compared to the 70-300 VR (745 grams), it's 15 grams heavier. So as far as weight goes, it feels pretty much the same as the 70-300VR. With the 180 f2.8 IF ED, the focusing ring, is raised over the main part of the lens so my hand doesn't seem to grip the lens in the same way. Not something you could really fault the lens for, but it just feels 'different'. I suppose you could say it's like having a strip of material over the lens barrel as opposed to being 'part' of the lens barrel with the two zooms mentioned.


Focusing manually requires both the body and lens be switched to M, unlocking the lens from the body. The focusing action is smooth. Not loose like the 70-300VR, or 24-70, but not dampened like with AI-S lens or other manual focus lenses for that matter.


AF Speed;


I haven't tested this lens with any sort of moving subjects, but as far as locking onto a stationary target goes, the D700 provides enough torque for the lens to snap to focus quite quickly. I suppose I would compare it to the 85 1.8D. Not as fast, but good for an AF-D lens and I don't find myself wishing it was faster.
Image quality;


I was expecting this lens to be super sharp wide open. Similar to the Nikon 24-70 in fact. I suppose that really is a tall order, expecting a lens that was released in the early 90's to compare to a lens that was released in Nov 200. In tests done by photozone.de, the 180 f2.8 IF ED, scores slightly lower in sharpness wide open. I realise their test was performed on the DX format, but as a comparison goes, at least for centre sharpness I suppose I can't really complain. I've done tripod based tests as well as normal shooting, and if you aren't pixel peeping, you won't be disappointed. That's not to say the lens performs poorly wide open. I just don't think it's one of those lenses you shoot something and then go and look over every little detail in the shot. Stopping down doesn't make everything tack sharp either.


Overall, the rendering of oof areas/bokeh is very pleasant and that's where this lens excels. For the price, and weight, this is a great lens.
HighSierra

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 13
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by HighSierra
Review Date: 6/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp straight from F2.8, very solid construction
Cons: Purple fringing around extreme contrast borders at F2.8

Wow, what a lens! I really can't detect any increase in sharpness when stopping down, on a D200. Thus F/2.8 can be used with impunity and no remorse. Beyond sharpness though, this lens has great bokeh, and a very nice way of rendering tone. Though I'd probably be better off with a more versatile 50-150 or 70-200 for event work, something about the images this lens produces just keeps me coming back for more.


The only image quality issue I have found is that areas of extreme contrast can be subject to (uncorrectable) purple fringing at F/2.8. Stopping down negates the issue.


The build is great, with nice crinkled metal, the slide-out lens hood, and damped manual focus ring. Sure it is screw-drive, and not AFS, so it could be quieter, but on a D200 is focuses quite quickly, and i've not had any issues with hunting.


If you can live with a fixed lens, the Nikkor 180 is a great choice, and quite a steal on the used market currently.
Iyhel

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by Iyhel
Review Date: 3/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, rather cheap
Cons: No focus range limiter combiend with slow AF

This is a must-have lens for anyone who enjoys primes.


Image sharpness is excellent at any aperture, the bokeh and color rendering delicious, it's light and easy to handle.


My only regret is that there is no focus range limiter in order to have it hunt a little less in dim light conditions. With a limiter I wouldn't complain about the slow AF.


This is - as any old Nikkor - a durable lens: mine is over 20 years old and optics are still flawless - just a few wear on the body.


If you get it second hand, I would suggest to look for an early one, without the M/A switch which seems to be a pain in the ass, and if possible the rubber ring version, not the plastic one which is not that wmooth to use.


I have tried the 70-200VR, and the convenience of a zoom was not enough to convince me to handle twice the weight of my 180 ! (optical qualities are comparable, maybe slightly slightly better for the prime)
fergusonjr

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 15
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by fergusonjr
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great image quality
Cons: No internal AF-motor

It's hard to argue against the image quality from this lens, because it's just great. I suppose my opinion could have been skewed slightly by the fact that I had just come away from playing with a Nikon 28-135 lens whose image quality was just dismal . . . and this 180mm lens seemed like heaven by comparison. But objectively speaking, this is a great lens.


I'm not a big fan of the type of construction Nikon uses for these larger lenses, frankly. The metal body is reminiscent of military surplus gear and while it feels very solid, it doesn't feel so much like you're getting what you paid for in the same way you do with so many Canon lenses. For the price, I would also expect an internal motor, and not the noisy drive-screw operation. I also found not having FTM focusing a real limitation, particularly at lower apertures (smaller DOF) where I would more often need to fine-tune the focus. Having to switch both the lens and the camera to manual focus was a really crummy limitation.


My used sample also came with an annoying problem -- the aperture ring-lock too easily unlocked itself, and the aperture-ring would turn by itself and cause the camera to declare an error. It took me a bit to figure out why the error kept coming up. This continued to be annoying as it seemed to disable the camera at the very moment I really wanted to snap a shot.


However, all the negatives aside, this lens produces some really great images. The background blur (bokeh) is quite nice, and the color transmission is superb. The DOF on this lens can be made exceptionally tight, and even at f/2.8 the focused target is very very sharp. If you can tolerate the drive-screw-AF limitations, need a big aperture telephoto lens, and can get a good used-price, I would recommend this lens.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, fast (aperture), good build, sharp
Cons: Slow focus, not pin sharp at 2.8

I loved this lense when I got it about 5 years ago. And I have used it a lot both on film and on the Nikon D1. But it is slow to focus even on the D1 body. And at 2.8 I do not find the result pin sharp, at f/4 it is everything you can ask for, and really outstanding bokeh. The lense shade is of questionable quality and utility in my opinion.


My current combination of 20D and 200L is to be prefered in my opinion. Much faster AF, and the same outstanding IQ.
wl2

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by wl2
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and light
Cons: None

The lens is extremely sharp even at F2.8. The built-in hood is very handly.


Highly recommended.
diamondpete

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by diamondpete
Review Date: 12/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $380.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, great all-around focal length
Cons: litte slow in focussing

I love this lens. I use it for general purpose photography and mostly for sports. Sports use is soccer, wrestling, swimming, and baseball, mostly. It is fast enough for the indoor sports and at the same time, not too big to be lunking around for the outdoor events. All in all I have found it to be very sharp, and a good example of why it is worth paying more for Nikon glass.
kirehe

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by kirehe
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $310.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharpest lens I've ever owned. Cheap used ones out there.
Cons: Tele primes not so useful for travelphoto.

I had the older version which wasn't as high-quality as the newer one. But oh so sharp. Lovely. My primary photo style is travel stuff though, and primes just aren't worth it for that stuff.


But if you need tele and sharpness and can be ok with slow focusing (and perhaps short on $$$), this is your lens.
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $443.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution,distortions,vignetting,CAs,bokeh, weight
Cons: No SWM

This is an excellent lens. I have not found any weakness using it,resolution is very good to excellent , very low distortion, very low vignetting and low CAs. Excellent contrast and very nice bokeh. I highly recommend this lens.
audioguru1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by audioguru1
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight compared to 80-200
Cons: slow AF, not zoom

This is a great lens - really it is. Its actually light enough to comfortably handhold, compared to the alomost 3 pound 80-200 lens. Its pretty sharp after you stop down from f4 on. Good bokeh.


AF operation is kind of slow, but tolerable, having IF helps some.


Fit and finish is great, is solidly built. If you want to MF this lens has great feel, but you need to remember to switch the lens and camera body.


Ultimately I think the 80-200 is probably just as sharp, this lens's main advantage is weight.
jeans

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by jeans
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, f/2.8, weight
Cons: prime

Pros:
Image quality is outstanding:
Sharpness, color and contrast are great.
CA, ghosting, and flare are well controlled.
Very useful with TCs (Kenko 300 Pro x1.4 works great) - works better than with the f/2.8 zooms
Fast glass is nice for wildlife portraits
Much lighter than the zooms like Nikkor 70(80)-200/2.8
Price


Cons:
Not being a zoom lens limits its usefulness at fast-paced action environment


Summary:
Great image quality for an acceptable price in a light package
kenunger

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 3
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by kenunger
Review Date: 1/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $235.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: high sharpness, superb color rendition, light weight, excellent build quality
Cons: AF mode is never completely disengaged when in M position

Images taken with this lens are rendered with high sharpness, contrast and vivid colour saturation. Wide open high quality images are produced and when this lens is stopped down from f/4.0 to f/11 it's almost impossible to get a better image quality. This is one of the greatest Nikkors of all times in optical performace
wilfried

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 5
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by wilfried
Review Date: 11/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have one of the very first copies, still with a semi-gloss finish. Now it comes with the nice and professional looking paint.


Optically it is simply flawless, one of Nikon's finest.
AF speed is okay, but not great. It even does a fine job for macro work (dragon flies) in combination with extension tubes.


This is one of the few remaining lenses with a built-in telescopic lens hood. Very nice and practical. The lens doesn't have a tripod collar, but it also doesn't need one.
One curious thing is when you look at it from the back: Deep inside, instead of the last lens element, you see the aperture blades.


I gave this lens a "Yes" recommendation, because it simply deserves it.
However, would I buy it again, now that I have the 70-200mm VR? Zooms are more practical for digital cameras (sensor dust).


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.