SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 93646 10/31/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $107.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.50
sony55-200f4-56s.jpg


Keywords: Sony Tele Zoom A-Mount DT APS-C SAM Tested


joseph175

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 1
Sony 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DT SAM SAL-552002 review by joseph175
Review Date: 10/31/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, light, cheap
Cons: small manual focus ring

Bought this lens 2nd hand, using it on my NEX 5 with an adapter and am very pleased.


Pictures are excellent, very sharp. I rate them higher than the images I got from my Canon 70-300 IS USM on a 40D.


Autofocus with the E-Mount adapter isn't great, searches a lot at times, don't know if that's to do with the lens or adapter or.. but I've been using manual focus mostly and with focus peaking on its easy to focus.


The high image quality rating of 8 I give it isn't a "for the price" rating because I think this lens stacks up well against much more expensive options. I give it a 10 overall when its low price and value for money are considered.
revdano1

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 3
Sony 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DT SAM SAL-552002 review by revdano1
Review Date: 5/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $107.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, Sharp, and Practical. Great sports lens and any outdoor activity.
Cons: Mounting ring plastic. Should be metal.

This is a terrific lens. I use this lenes for sports, nature and family activites outside. It is sharp, clean, and crisp. For the price this is absolutely a steal.


This lens perfoms just as good, and if not better then some expensive lens. Truely the only drawback is the plastic mount, but there has never been any reports of any breakng. But that is it!!!!


Color is great, very satisfied, again the pics are clean and crisp. On my a580 I could not be happier as this lens stays on my camera the majority of the time for outside pics due to it being so light and practical zoom ranges.


This lens does great in sunny to overcast days!!!


I sledom need to go wider as I adjust my distances to take wider pics outside. Usually there is all kinds of space outside to adjust. Over all you will be very satisfied and happy with this lens, as its a wonderful medium zoom lens.
Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 22
Sony 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DT SAM SAL-552002 review by Beachrider
Review Date: 1/11/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $135.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, compact, affordable, usable zoom range, SAM better than in-camera focus
Cons: Plastic lens mount, SAM not as quiet as SSM/HSM/USM. Need f/8 to get sharpest images.

Got this lens used on Ebay. Now using this largely on NEX 5n with LA-EA1. If you want mirrorless photo & video shooting, then SAM/SSM will be very handy. Hundreds of photos later, I am finding that this is a useful for grab-shots when you leave it pretty much wide open most of the time. Otherwise shutter-times drift too low rather quickly.


The lightness of these lenses makes them VERY usable when you have NEX and Alpha in your bag. No sign that the plastic construction is wearing too quickly, yet.
ostenbaken

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 2
Sony 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DT SAM SAL-552002 review by ostenbaken
Review Date: 7/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extremely sharp, low weight, low price, compact, bokeh not bad for so chip lens
Cons: dark :(

very good lens for this money. Good companion in travel.


Examples:
http://www.fotozoom.ru/gallery2/gallery.htm?id=photo:1035
http://www.fotozoom.ru/gallery2/gallery.htm?id=photo:826
http://www.fotozoom.ru/gallery2/gallery.htm?id=photo:787
http://www.fotozoom.ru/gallery2/gallery.htm?id=photo:592


all photos with tag DT 55-200mm F4.0-5.6
http://www.fotozoom.ru/gallery2/gallery.htm?id=tag:DT%2055-200mm%20F4.0-5.6


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.