SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 122150 6/10/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $156.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.25
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.75
sony50f18s.jpg


Keywords: Sony Mid Prime A-Mount DT APS-C SAM Tested


translucent mirror

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 4
Sony 50mm f/1.8 SAM SAL-50F18 review by translucent mirror
Review Date: 6/10/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, nice bokeh
Cons: for this price, none

The lens would effectively give you a 75mm focal length on a APS-C camera. It gives beautiful colors and sharpness and the bokeh is good too. At f/1.8 it is a relatively fast lens and pretty good for low light photography. All in all it is good value for money and the plastic does not bother me at all as that makes the lens lighter.


To see some sample pics check out http://translucentmirror.com/2012/06/walking-around-with-my-50mm-well-75mm-lens/
Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 22
Sony 50mm f/1.8 SAM SAL-50F18 review by Beachrider
Review Date: 2/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very light. Good on LA-EA1 on NEX 5n, very sharp @ f/2.8, very inexpensive, adapts quickly to temperature changes
Cons: Plastic sides and lens mount

The last of my plastic-fantastic lens purchases. SAM is quieter than in-camera focusing, but noisier than SSM/HSM/USM. Although purchased for LA-EA1 AF compatibility, has also been very-sweet on LA-EA2 with video. Lens performance @ f/2 and f/1.8 is like 'olde 50 f/1.7'. Use at f/2.8 and above is terrific.


I don't-get where anyone complains about noise on this lens, though. It was not-noticeable during video on NEX5n


When I bought it, it was on-sale. It was an easy bargain.
Nas79

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 3
Sony 50mm f/1.8 SAM SAL-50F18 review by Nas79
Review Date: 1/2/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, Light, Bright and Cheap
Cons: Cheap, Noisy

I now rarely use this lens because I recently purchased a SAL1650 that is much sharper than this lens. I did use it for some time though and for an inexpensive lens it had pretty good image quality. It was quite capable of taking good portrait shots indoors. I have recently bought Macro extension tubes and an adapter to mount this lens backwards to use it as a macro lens and it works great.


My biggest issue with this lens is the amount of noise it produces when focusing and how slow it is to do so.


For a $150.00 lens I think it's an easy addition to a camera bag that needs an Ok performing portrait lens.
armyhidi

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 2
Sony 50mm f/1.8 SAM SAL-50F18 review by armyhidi
Review Date: 10/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light,natural color,
Cons: bayonet plastic(not a big deal takig in consideration lens weight)

good lens, sharp at F 2.8 . rare I used it at F 4.5 were seems to be very sharp(at least in my PC and accrding my eyes).no flare .u dont need a hood as front element its very inside of lens body.sam motor not so silent as proclamed.AF hunting is normal to moderate fast.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.