SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 113128 12/30/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
50% of reviewers $329.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.25
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
6.25
olympus17f28m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Mid Prime Micro-Four-Thirds Tested


Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 17mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by Ocean
Review Date: 12/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: ???
Cons: AF; f:2,8; cheap plastics, no hood

Don't know for whom is it good for.
Not very sharp, not fast.
Not my lens.
At last, to pricey for the construction.
pixnat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Olympus 17mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by pixnat
Review Date: 5/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, light, sharp center, contrast, nice bokeh
Cons: soft borders wide open, not fast enough, CA

This is a nice little lens, great for street shooting.


It's more than sharp enough in the center, a bit soft in the borders, but nothing terrible.
The bokeh is nice and smooth, microcontrast is very good.
Most important : this lens is a joy to use on m4/3 if you like 35mm FOV!
logaandm

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 6
Olympus 17mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by logaandm
Review Date: 9/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Small, light
Cons: Image quality mediocre. Too slow for a prime. Odd filter size. Filter size does not match kit lens.

This lens fell far short of my expectations and does not do the E-P1 system any favors.


It is only slightly faster than the kit lens with less contrast and only slightly sharper in the corners. For a prime lens this is not good.


Should have been at least f1.4 and have better optics. I have used a Nokton 40mm on the E-P1 and it blows this lens away for sharpness and contrast.


Really Olympus - what were you thinking - this is something I would expect in a point-and-shoot. You should have released at least one high quality lens with the E-P1. If it wasn't for the Nokton my E-P1 would be on the used market.


Very disappointed.
moti

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 17mm f/2.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by moti
Review Date: 9/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $439.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: very compact, weight, decently sharp,
Cons: no hood, plasticy, price (in Europe)

It's a very compact lens and a fun to use. But the lens has his limitations. Be careful with apertures over the digit 11 ! Diffraction ! And as a standard lens for a camera without flash she is IMO not really fast. Maybe the Pana 20mm /1.7 is the better lens for you, if you can stand the look (big black cowpat on Pen in silver). I also miss the hood. If you are not careful with the sun you get a mild haze over your picture which is hard to control in PS. My -subjective- impression after the implementation of the new firmware (E-P1 and lens): autofocus is a lot faster now, clearly faster as on the 14-42 Oly MFT-Zoom lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.