SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 209747 3/18/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $2,287.71
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.67
nikon70-200f28vr2.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Zoom 35mm AF-S VR II Stabilized Tested


dhale001

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 6
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by dhale001
Review Date: 3/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,195.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, durable.
Cons: None

I have had this lens for two and one-half years. It has been on a Nikon D90, D7000, and now D800E and D3200. The latest cameras are the first digital's I've had that deliver the image quality I expect, and this lens is not a limiting factor. This is the primary lens I use for wildlife and landscape.
Yucel

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 15
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by Yucel
Review Date: 8/15/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wow, the VR and image quality are amazing!
Cons: Big, Pricey

Love the pictures it takes, see samples at: http://glamourphotography.co/?p=2466


I can take shots at 1/13 sec at 200mm on a D7000 hand held with the VR, wow.


Or can reach out to a surfer on a board.


Great lens.


The construction is well done, just can't believe all the dust inside... I mean really, can't they assemble it in a clean room? Even if it doesn't effect picture quality... It just looks wrong...


All in all, my favorite lens in the bag.
ZinhaEq

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by ZinhaEq
Review Date: 7/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, lack of vignetting, distortion and chromatic aberrations, focus speed and accuracy
Cons: none

This is the best Nikon's 70-200mm lens yet. It's simply stupid to talk about IQ, lens construction and so on. Not even to mention VR II system, which is really effective. The lens is perfect! And for those who hate focus breathing: if you really can't live with that, than you should be alright with the old 70-200mm, which is quite soft in corners and has a lot of vignetting wide open.
Nikonuser

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by Nikonuser
Review Date: 4/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, VRII
Cons: A bit expensive

Just a word WOW! I have been using a 70-300 VR and I recently upgrade for the 70-200, it is a world of difference. I use it with a TC-14e II and it is precise clear and realy a good IQ. It is realy a pro lense without any doubt.
azoele

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by azoele
Review Date: 2/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: *Sharp* (from 2.8), very fast autofocus, VR works very well, excellent construction, beautiful colours
Cons: Only 135mm@1.4m, not sharper, on D700, than a good 80-200AFS, expensive

I own a 80-200AFS, and that is an extremely impressive lens: sharp from wide open, fast focusing, beautiful rendition. Only drawback, no VR.
What was a surprise to me, is that in side-by-side tests, the VR II, despite all the hype, is just *marginally* better. Perhaps on a D3x it'd show its qualities better, but on a D700 it simply vignettes less than the AFS! Sharpness wise, I can't distinguish them in a blind test, even at F2.8, and the only giveaway is the AFS's more pronounced vignetting at full aperture...
That, and the nasty VR II's habit of getting shorter the closer you focus. Before owning it, I thought it was one of those net's whines, now I can assure you, it really bothers... for this issue, the old AFS is a lot better.
It is built like a tank, really, excellently built, and autofocus is very, very silent, and fast. I feel it is even faster, just a little, than the AFS.


All in all, it's a *stellar* lens. But after having owned it for a month, I'm inclined to believe it's not really worth 2x the cost of an AFS...
radityopradipto

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 5
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by radityopradipto
Review Date: 4/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,489.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Sharp and Sharp!, F/2.8 at all range, VRII works wonderfully!
Cons: heavy, price, and focus breathing

I just got this lens a few weeks ago, and I can promise you that this lens is one of the sharpest tele zoom I've ever tried.
Sharpness is awesome, this lens replace all of my fast tele primes needs. VRII also works awesome... I can shoot static object at @200mm effective focal length (@135mm DX) with 1/10 shutter speed, and it was tack sharp!
Hawaii-Geek

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by Hawaii-Geek
Review Date: 1/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Bokeh, AF
Cons: MFD at 200mm wish it was closer to 190mm vs 128mm , but is all good in exchange for sharpness

Am sooo glad (and lucky) I changed to Nikon at "this" time. With Nikon updating there FF f2.8 lens. This 70-200mm f2.8 VR II is a dream to use , and answers most if not all the FF lens issues of the past. And in my mind shows what is ahead in the future. Sharp Wide Open shooting.
* maybe a new and improved 24-70 f2.8 (which I also own) Nano coat VR II ??? Smile ... I will be first on the list for that one. As I was for this one. And not for a second do I regreat it. One of the few times , being first did not cause regret. Smile
* literlly, from the first AF lock, wide open at 200mm on a models eye , I knew ... This was the lens for ME !


Awesome Lens!
Did I say , I "also" did that .. now famous test with this lens ... 200mm 1/15 , f2.8 , iso6400 low light shot with a D700 and was WOW'd by it.
The kind of WOW, that makes you a Nikon shooter Forever ! lol
HG
bradhill

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 9
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by bradhill
Review Date: 12/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,130.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Overall image quality, bokeh, autofocus speed, improved performance on FX bodies
Cons: Minor (and controllable) sharpness fall-off in corners/edges at 200 mm

In summary, if there was ever a single "must-have" lens for ME (and I think many Nikon-using nature photographers), this lens would likely be it. Here's the slightly longer "Executive Summary" that I posted today on my website:


5 December 2009 UPDATE: I have updated my "Executive Summary" immediately below - and the more detailed review on my website (link below) - to include the "Mysterious Shrinking Focal Length" (when focusing on near subjects) issue...


The Executive Summary: This lens is a very, very solid performer that I will be using a LOT! It is VERY sharp at all normally-used apertures (which means f2.8 thru f11 for me) though not quite as sharp when shot wide open. The bokeh (quality of the out-of-focus zones) is superb and at f2.8 rivals that of the venerable (and amazing) Nikon AFS 200mm f2 VR. The autofocus is blazingly fast. The VR works as advertised (which means very, very well!). Teleconverter performance (with the 1.4x TC-14EII) exceeded my expectations dramatically. BUT, the lens is NOT completely perfect - edge-to-edge sharpness is not stellar at 200 mm at larger apertures, though this limitation can be overcome by stopping down to only "reasonably small" apertures. Plus, some users will find the reduction in focal length when focusing the lens on very close subjects troublesome. But, in my opinion there are enough subtle improvements (and some not-so-subtle improvements) in this lens that combine to make the "whole package" markedly better than its precursor. For me, and I suspect many FX body owners, this lens is as close to a "must-have" lens as any on the market. DX body owners who don't already own the previous iteration of this lens will love it (and I highly recommend it for them). For DX body owners who already own the previous version - you know, that "old" (but nearly legendary) lens works so well on DX bodies already that I couldn't really recommend swapping your current lens for this one (unless, of course, you have money to burn).


A far more detailed account of my findings on this lens, and selected sample images, can be found here:


http://www.naturalart.ca/artist/fieldtests/70-200mmVRII.html


A final word regarding my rating of this lens. In my opinion the best telephoto zoom I have ever used is the 200-400mm f4 VR - which I would give a rating of 10. If the 70-200mm f2.8 VR didn't show slight sharpness fall-off in the extreme corners/edges, it too would rate as a 10 in my eyes. It's very, very good, but not quite perfect!
jake

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 8
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by jake
Review Date: 12/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excelent, very fast, sharp and good optics, perfekt image quality also at f2,8
Cons: nothing

this the best zoom at this category


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.