SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 214302 9/27/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $312.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.40
spacerspacer
9.00
canon18-135f35-56is.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF-S Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C IS Stabilized tested


makcv113

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 8
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by makcv113
Review Date: 9/27/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Zoom range, image quality, versatility, price
Cons: Slow aperture

I bought this lens with the Canon 60D, and I use it on a 40D for the imaging company I work for. My work needs a zoom and I chose this over the 17-85mm that I sold recently. My backup lens to the 18-135mm is actually the 18-55mm.


I like the lens because of the zoom range, you can go wide at 18mm and lengths for portraits @ 50, 85, 135mm. The only downside is that the aperture gets smaller so you might not have the DOF like their primes.


Sharpness is decent. Autofocus was average. Aside from street photography, I did use this for a night softball game. What happened was that I shot games a season ago and I used the 55-250mm (also reviewed), but this new season I didn't have a real "telephoto lens". The best I had was this 18-135mm. Luckily I had the 60D so I was able to crop some photos since the 135mm wasn't long enough.


With that said, I guess it's a below average lens for sports if: the field is small, you don't mind walking around to get closer to the subject, have a high MP body to crop, and if the game was in daylight.


For anything else, this lens is pretty good. Stabilization is great. Has some correctable distortion.


This lens is one of the lenses I used to shoot this little music cover video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=697s4mfilu0


Visit my FB page to get updates on new videos and specific gear used so you know how it was shot. Also feel free to ask questions about anything camera/video/photo related.
http://www.facebook.com/MAVPMedia
http://www.youtube.com/user/MAVPMedia


Here are some photos taken with it:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mlaphotography/8028414415/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mlaphotography/8028409510/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mlaphotography/8028413779/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mlaphotography/8028408926/in/photostream
andrew720

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by andrew720
Review Date: 12/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: veratile zoom range, good balance between focal range and image quality, image stabilised
Cons: none really at this price

I bought this lens to replace my 17-85mm which developed a problem with the aperture assembly(a common problem with that lens), I also have a Canon 18-55mm is lens but wanted something with a little more reach.


The build quality is a step up from the 18-55mm but maybe not as good as the 17-85mm, in terms of image quality it is balanced nicely with the zoom range making it a very useful walkaround lens.


Autofocus is swift despite it not being USM, and it seems quieter and quicker than the 18-55mm.


All in all a good lens for the price.
charley

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 6
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by charley
Review Date: 9/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, a good walk around lens
Cons: none

makes my bag lighter with carrying just this and my 70-200mm IS USM f/4. Now I leave my 55-250 and 18-55 at home. Great lens at a great price, can't go wrong
lu2mdj

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 1
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by lu2mdj
Review Date: 12/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: buena construcción y resolución óptica
Cons: Nada para su costo

Hasiendo comparaciones me parece mejor que el EF-28-135 f/3,5-5,6 IS, Tanto en construcción como en calidad de imagen y con un mejor rango focal.
RadiantLite

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 16
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS review by RadiantLite
Review Date: 11/15/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: versatile, image quality
Cons: no USM, price/value

Canon EF-S 18-135mm IS is an affordable all purpose lens designed especially for Canon beginner digital SLR camera users. The built quality are very similar to Canon Rebel XS, XSi and T1i body. It does not feel heavy and too long.


Focal length of 18-135mm (equivalent to 29-216mm) is very versatile. It is wide enough for indoor or long enough for outdoor.


There is no USM (ultra sonic motor) in the lens, so it will make a a bit of noise when the lens auto focus is activated. AF is moderately fast and very good for everyday use.


Image quality is very good, although it is certainly not as good as expensive high grade Canon L lenses. Bokeh is round and quite pleasing. Check out sample images at


http://www.radiantlite.com/2009/11/canon-ef-s-18-135mm-is-impression.html


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.