SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
75 383855 10/7/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
97% of reviewers $268.04
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.95
spacerspacer
8.28
spacerspacer
8.29
1DX18-70a1.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C DX AF-S Tested


rrwilliams64

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by rrwilliams64
Review Date: 10/7/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $55.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: well built for the price, faster than 16-85 and 18-105, sharp
Cons: lacks VR, distortion, light fall off

Still one of Nikon's best kit lenses and an overlooked offering for those seeking a walkaround lens. Can be found at very reasonable prices on second hand market. Has a metal mount, focuses silently, it's a faster piece of glass than some other choices folks turn to in the Nikon stable. You could do a lot worse as an all purpose walk around zoom...
Tord

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 20
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Tord
Review Date: 3/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $175.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent compliment to my Nikon V1, surprisingly sharp!
Cons: Bit big for my V1!

Bought this as a compliment to my Nikon V1, and together with the TF1 adapter it costed about as much as the 30-110 would have. But used Nikon lenses are easy to find, at very friendly prices!


Focuses fairly sharpish on the V1 and is a pleasure to use!
Tony305

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Tony305
Review Date: 10/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very handy walk-around lens
Cons:

Bought used 2 month ago.
Very happy with the size and performance
mortuus

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by mortuus
Review Date: 6/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, accurate, great flexibility, weather sealed which is quite good
Cons: zoom ring is a bit stiff, lack of vr perhaps

Recently picked up this from someone who had this as a lens for D80 almost 4 years, hard to believe such a lens can still look almost as if new says alot. I figured after 1.5 years shooting with the kit lens 18-55 for my D40 i wanted something that didnt feel so cheap and plastic so this was a bargain in second hand, lens feels very sturdy and is not by any means some cheap just look the street price even today its pricy. Did i mention its weather sealed around the gasket? name a dx lens in this price range that has that. And also the aperture is 1 stop better on 70mm 4.5 vs my kit lens which is 5.6 on 55 not that bad and u get 15mm extra.
Philly

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Philly
Review Date: 5/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Flexible, easy to use, great everyday lens
Cons: Vignetting, especially with filter

It is a pretty good lens, and I've read some other reviews that corroborate mine: pretty good everyday lens. I especially like how it renders colors. But vignetting gets pretty bad, especially when using a polarisation filter in sunny conditions. It's as if the edges are somehow shaded, the difference is that big.
adrian snow

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by adrian snow
Review Date: 3/28/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $190.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quality/Price ratio, very practical zoom range, AF-S
Cons: No VR or fast maximum aperature, Shallow 'sweet spot' ,

Let me come out and say that I have owned two copies of this lens and wasn't really impressed by either.


I rate this lens a solid 8 overall because it is not a bad lens by any means, but not really impressive either. For me, it is a great 'Jack-of-all-trades' lens. I've yet to find anything that it masters.


For the price, I think it is a very good lens. With that said though, I would have a hard time recommending it over any of the Nikkor 18-55mm lenses. It looks nicer than any of the Nikkor 18-55mm lenses if that matters to you. It has nice fat glass and has 67mm front threads. It still doesn't really perform better.


I have replaced this lens with a much better Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 DI lens. The Tamron sells for about $100-150 more used, but is worth every penny and more in my opinion.


This Nikkor 18-70mm can be a little hard to focus at times, which is the only real negative thing I have to say about it.


THE SHAKE-DOWN
This lens is versatile, but if you are thinking about replacing your Nikkor 18-55mm with this lens, you are better off saving your money and buying a faster aperature lens like the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 or something with VR like the excellent Nikon 16-85mm VR.
nikonfreak

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by nikonfreak
Review Date: 3/14/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $233.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent quality, heavy lense
Cons: not worty of the name "kitlense "it is too good for that

this is a excellent lense , it is heavyli underrated by many, imho it is far far better than the average kit lense. the range is good, from 18-70mm optically perfect very little flaws, ed glass a decent range of f3.5-5.6. this lense still serves me great .
Focus

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 11
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Focus
Review Date: 1/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Nice solid built
Cons: Too little for the price

I thought it was quite good until I got the 18-135.
Compared this one it's way too expensive for a lens that's less sharp and has only half the reach.
ZinMe

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by ZinMe
Review Date: 1/4/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp in center, affordable, durable, good focal range (18-70)
Cons: f3.5 is widest it can go, no VR

I bought this lens to go with my D80 in 2007. It is very sharp in the center although on the borders when I shoot team pictures I don't get consistently good sharpness.


Others have complained about vignetting, but I notice no significant vignetting.


I dropped the lens once, breaking the filter but with no damage to the lens. It is very durable. The construction quality is excellent.


The lens is light and easy to carry-- much more portable than the alternatives.


Don't dismiss the value of hte long end at 70mm, this comes in handy and is a big advantage to the 18-50mm alternatives.


My only significant complaint is that it is not a great lens in low light situations. It only opens to f3.5 and has no VR.
Eager

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Eager
Review Date: 10/25/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: small, cheap, mostly sharp
Cons: variable aperture, occasionally hunts for a focus in low light

I used this lens during my short trip in Romania. It managed very well for a lens in this price category. It's only weakness was in lowlight performance. It failed to focus properly in some difficult indoor situations.
Niel

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Niel
Review Date: 8/29/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $45.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Well sealed metal mount, sharp, cheap.
Cons: Short zoom range.

I bought mine cheap as the AF had died, stripped it (not for the faint hearted) cleaned wiper contacts AND flexi-circuit connections contacts, has worked fine since, and the potential loose screw 24mm jamming problem was dealt with whilst apart with loctite.
It's very much a user lens, on my D1x or D50 depending on what I'm doing, though the D50 usually wears a Tamron 18-200 for walk-around use.
Yes corner darkening can be an issue, thin filters are essential at 18mm!
HighSierra

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 13
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by HighSierra
Review Date: 6/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Relatively few optical flaws, good build for the price
Cons: Not the sharpest Nikkor kit lens (see 18-135)

This is a very solid lens with few weaknesses for the cost. It covers a very nice focal range, and is faster than the typical kit F/5.6 at the long end. Distortion is an issue at 18mm but not too bad through the rest of the range. It has average build quality, and feels solid enough for the price, and handles much better than say an 18-55.


The question is whether to get this lens, or its' cousin the 18-135. The latter is sharper and covers a wider range, but the issues of vignetting, CA, and distortion are more apparent, and require greater post processing to correct. Also the 18-135 is built more cheaply, lacking a distance scale and having a plastic mount.


For relevant uses, the 18-70 is a satisfying lens for the price. The relative lack of optical distortions make it more suitable for the JPEG shooter who wishes not to post process their images. If you think this lens works for you, it is certainly a value at current used prices, or in a kit.
f43tgv

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 16
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by f43tgv
Review Date: 4/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, sharp and cheap
Cons: None

This lens is a little gem. Period. There is the unfortunate stigma, quite wrong that as this can be a bundled kit lens that it is somehow inferior. Nonsense, this is a sharp little cookie at a bargain price.


I have used the Nikkor 17-55 2.8 lens which weighs a ton, costs a fortune, and to be frank apart from the 2.8 aperture has little more to offer. I could see NO visible difference in A4 prints.


Some discard this in favour of the 18-200VR, why? The 18-200 is SOFT beyond 135mm and costs a lot of money. Buy yourself the older 70-210 4/5.6 zoom which is far sharper than the 18-200, they are available for silly money, and have a great low cost two lens combo.


Dont believe the hype, great pictures dont require the latest, most expensive glass!
wupeide

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by wupeide
Review Date: 11/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $310.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, sharpness, great range
Cons: Tends to back focus slightly - even with good AF targets

This lens is really great for the price. It only has two serious weaknesses. First, its not a 2.8 so its not great in low light (AF is a bit problematic) and second it back focuses a bit when you are in the mid range of the zoom.
davidabooth

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by davidabooth
Review Date: 7/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp; Good range; Low CA
Cons: Not much for the price

As a "standard" kit lens this is a gem. Optically it performs well across the range. Some slight distortion at the extremes - but less than you might expect. I use this regularly for "pro" shoots and it always delivers. Overall a great little lens.
jaymc

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by jaymc
Review Date: 3/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good optical quality, lightweight, cheap
Cons: Changing focal length a little rough

Overall, great lens for the D70. Highly recommded.


Note:
Found different wide open aperture readings than those sited in on this site (see Blur Index). I found that the aperture changes at:


70----------------50-----35-----24--18 Focal length
|……………………..…..|..|.....|.....|….
--------4.5------------- 4.2- 4- 3.8-3.5 Aperture



f/4.5 was over half of the focal length!
Artman57

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Artman57
Review Date: 2/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good image quality overall
Cons: for a kit lens...none

When I bought my D200, I though of getting the body only, being that I have a 85mm1.8 Nikkor prime but afterwards just thought that for the price difference when bundled this kit lens could be a very good deal. And I was not mistaken. This is a very good - probaly the best - kit lens bundled with any camera brand. Great for overall walk around work, its very well constructed and assembled and image quality in the field is very very good, detailed, sharp. Handling is very sweet, very silent and fast. fastest aperture of 3.5 at 18 mm is good and probably a better lens that the 18-135mm.I am really happy with it.
Rickmail

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Rickmail
Review Date: 2/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $453.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sharp, very low CA, light and small
Cons: Huge amount of light falloff at 18mm wide open

This lens performs great wide open at all zoom stops, except for a large amount of light falloff at 18mm when wide open. Stop it down to f/5.6 when at 18mm if you want to get rid of it.


I upgraded from the 18-55 II kit lens. Sharpness at the corners on that lens was horrible but on the 18-70 it's great.


Chromatic aberration really bothered me on cheap lenses and this one has none of that! Contrast is also great with very little flare.


I compared this one to the 18-135 AF-S and decided on this one for the slightly faster aperture and the reviews I'd read.
Masselink

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Masselink
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $355.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast;Small;Cheap;Good Quality
Cons: f3.5 is not enough, you still need a good 50 mm lens

I sold this lens to my brother together with my D70 Body. I really like the lens and bought a new one together with a D80 body.


I really prefer this one above the 18-135mm lens because it has lower stops at 70mm


I really believe this is the best lens (with a great range) for only $350 in the market.
Odradek

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Odradek
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I like to think of this lens as the semi-pro f/4 L - Canon like - standard zoom lens for Nikon DX format. It's that good...
And there really isn't any other lens to fill this gap: you have either the 18-55DX f/3.5-5.6 in the lower DX end, or the much more expensive and much heavier 17-55DX f/2.8 in the uper DX end.
If you think you need this lens, and didn't get it as a kit lens when you first bought your DSLR, just get it now and don't worry about it for some years.


As for it's strengths and weaknesses I think that's pretty much covered on the other reviewers... reviews!
vNe

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by vNe
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good price, compact, lightweight, great optical quality, fast
Cons: variable aperture

This is a great lens. Small, compact and great image quality at a bargin price. Images are crisp and sharp. Contrast is high with good color saturation. There is some distortion at either extreme, but that's being nit-picky. Focusing with AF-S is super fast and on the dot. The lens is also internal focus, so the barrel does not rotate, saving you trouble with readjusting filters. After banging around on hikes, I find the construction to be pretty good.


There really isn't any drawbacks on this lens. This lens would have been perfect if it was f/3.5 all the way. The variable aperature makes it slightly more challenging to focus on the long end.


If you need an affordable lens that gives you some flexibility, this is it.
rcoder

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by rcoder
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: compact, sturdy, AF-S is great (and fast!), good focal range
Cons: zoom ring can stick a bit, slow aperture at tele end

All the reviews of this lens point out its optical quality, which I won't dispute, but they don't tend to comment much on the physical construction, aside from the occasional reference to it being made mostly of plastic. I can say from first-hand experience, though, that it can also take a pretty serious beating and come back no worse for the wear: a friend once knocked my D70 off a high counter with this lens attached, and although I initially thought it might be toast, (the MF ring was stuck, and AF failed entirely) a few tugs of the focusing ring back and forth freed it up, and it has performed flawlessly since then.


That being said, I only use this lens about 15% of the time, since I'm a total bokeh-junky, and chafe at not being able to open it up wider than f/3.5 (or f/4.5 at the long end). I'm also one of those weirdos who *like* the restrictions imposed by having a fixed focal length, so I do most of my shooting with primes. This lens does have a great focal range, though, and I've been quite happy with the output when I do use it.
Jericho

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Jericho
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, Value for money
Cons: Distortion in wide

Pretty good lens, for its price, its cheap, light, nice zoom range, about 28 - 105 on 35 mm equivalent.


Its a bit soft on open apertures, and a bit soft on corners.


It vignettes on corners too.


Recommendable as a pretty cheap all around zoom lens.
JoSKaT

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by JoSKaT
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: For a kit lens, it's sharp. General purpose lens coverage
Cons: for the price, non

Just like the rest of the reviews, they got this lens as a bundled kit to their camera. I got this with my Nikon D80.
There's 2 kits that came with D80, one's with the 18-135 and the 18-70. I would have gotten 18-135 because of the lens coverage. But i researched alot before i went and bought the camera. It's those reviews that made me chose this lens over 18-135. And i believe i did the right choice. I have gotten good and sharp photos with this lens. For people just now starting on DSLR this is a good beginners lens unless you have money to burn then get something like the 18-200 VR...but we're talking about this lens, so lets go on..
When this lens first came out, alot of folks that tested this lens were surprised because it performed rather well for a bundled lens. It does only proved that Nikon does put together their lenses with utmost quality even on their kit lenses. Actually i dont even use my 50mm anymore. I just have this lens on my D80 and never take it off....until i get my 18-200 VR, but that will be another review.
chili-master

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by chili-master
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality construction, quiet focusing, excellent image quality
Cons: Expensive for a kit lens, zoom for shorter focal lengths are crammed together

I got this as a kit lens with my D80. The salesman suggested me to get this (instead of the 18-135) and I'm glad I did.


What I liked:


- Lens feels very solid in my hand. I used the 18-55 on a friend's D50 and it feels cheap compared to my 18-70.
- Metal lens mount (instead of plastic on the 18-135).
- Focuses quickly and very quietly.
- Excellent image quality. There is a bit of distortion at 18mm but it's not noticeable in real world use.
- Don't need focal lengths over 70mm because this lens lacks VR (stabilization). If I want more zoom I'd get a zoom lens with VR because it's difficult to get sharp pictures at 70mm indoors.
- Covers the complete zoom range of a typical point and shoot camera (I upgraded to the D80 from a 3x optical zoom point and shoot).



What I didn't:


- A bit expensive for a kit lens. I had to spend quite a bit more compared to getting a Canon Rebel XTi with kit lens ($200 more for the D80 and $200 more for this lens).
- Shorter focal lengths (lower zoom levels) are crammed together on the zoom ring. This makes it harder to set the zoom precisely, as turning the zoom ring a little changes the zoom a lot. This is not a problem at longer focal lengths (higher zoom) as they are more spaced out on the zoom ring.



I recommend this lens for anyone getting their first DSLR as well as anyone looking for a general purpose zoom lens to complement their longer range zooms.
Ross_Alford

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 36
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Ross_Alford
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High image quality, solid build, AF-S
Cons: Not quite enough macro or telephoto ability, no VR

I bought this lens along with my D70 in April 2004. it served me well, and I still have it to use as a second-string lens for snapshots. It has been overshadowed by other lenses, though, and I'm not sure I would bother getting it now unless it came with a camera for very little extra money.


That said, if you are a casual shooter, only want one lens, and don't want to spend a fortune, this may well be a better choice than the less expensive 18-55 Nikkor, although if you like to do macro, maybe not as I gather that focuses substantially closer.


Pros: Its image quality cannot be argued with. It is very sharp with excellent contrast. It is not prone to flare. It feels quite solidly constructed, and mine has certainly held up very well.


Cons: It doesn't have a great enough zoom range for me to be quite happy with it as a "walk-around" lens. the wideangle end is wide enough for that purpose, but the tele end is short; only about 2x, not enough to really pull in anything distant. It lacks VR, which is very useful in a do-everything lens. Its maximum magnification in macro focusing isn't high enough for the sorts of closeups I do. In short, it is very high quality, but except for the wideangle, none of its extremes are extreme enough.


If you want an inexpensive, do-everything lens, I would recommend the 18-200 Sigma over this lens. It is not very expensive, is smaller and lighter, focuses closer, and has a much more useful telephoto end. I find its image quality to be about as good. If you want an expensive, relatively large and heavy do-everything lens, you cannot beat the 18-200 Nikkor VR ED IF AF-S, which is what I use now.


Sample images:


http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/50127480


http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/57752568
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by trentdp
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great walk around lens when you want to travel light
Cons: None

I recently got this lens with the D70s Kit so I estimate it cost about $200 based on a market rate of $600 for the bare camera. I have only used the lens briefly but every good thing I read about it appears true. I have not had any problems to report. It takes really sharp pictures and focuses almost instantly.
As an aside from this review, I highly recommend that you pickup one of the D70s kits before they are all sold out. For my large hands, the D70s is a much better fit than any of the newer models except the D200. Ritz Camera and other online sellers, sell the kit for about $800 which is an incredible value. I paid $750 for my body only D70 about two years ago.
If you read the DPReview of the new D80 and see the photos comparing the D80 and D70, to my eyes the D80 only has larger photos which would be relevent for prints larger than 8x10. I am aware of the other D80 features, but for me the SD storage was the deal breaker.
The 18-70 lens still retails for $300 - $400 most places so this is a good opportunity to get one with the close out D70s kit.
yuj

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by yuj
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good sharpness, pleasing color, very good aperture and zoom range for kit lens, AF-S.
Cons: Barrel extends too far for my taste, 67mm filter.

First and foremost, this is an excellent kit lens and it covers a very useful normal 27-105 for nice, wide landscapes as well as pleasing portraits (minus the small aperture around that range). Wide open at all lengths, I have no complaints about sharpness, although it isn't going to cut you. Stopped down, the lens becomes a very good performer.


Flare and ghosting is well controlled and the lens reproduces colors nicely and vividly. Mine copy is starting to show signs of wear though (after 2 good years of use), as the lens will no longer retract to 18mm if I am zooming out from 70mm. It hits 24mm and stops, and I must make a slight turn in the opposite direction and turn it back before it will retract to 18mm. Slight barrel misalignment error but it has not affected the sharpness of the lens.


For most people, this lens and a telezoom would be everything that they would ever need.
Craig C123

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Craig C123
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Decent IQ, comparatively light, decent zoom range.
Cons: Not stellar IQ

Initially buying a Sigma zoom for my new Nikon D50, i quickly returned it and I traded up, paying a bit more to get this Nikon 17-70. For the money, i consider it a great buy. And it seems a fairly light lens for the decent quality it can deliver. It focuses fast and quietly. I've had good results with close up (though not macro) shots. Zooming out i haven't been so impressed, but i'm attributing this more to the D50's somewhat wacky color bleeding in brightly lit settings.
leoric

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by leoric
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Internal focusing, silent wave motor, ED glass, metal lens mount
Cons: 67mm filter diameter, max aperture at 70mm only 4.5

I bought this lens together with my D70 and I was immediately surprised with the focusing speed and the fact that it's very quiet.


This lens has a perspective equivalent to a 27-105mm lens in 35mm terms. The optical quality is very good (certainly better than other kit lenses) and once you stop down the lens a bit, you even excellent results at 18mm.


Other handy features are the M/A switch and the distance information window.


This is not the fastest lens in terms of aperture, but considering the price of a 2.8 zoom, there are no complaints.


The biggest problem is the 67mm diameter, which can make filters quite pricey (especially circular polarizers).


If I had had enough money for a 17-55mm 2.8 zoom, I would have bought it instead of the 18-70 3.5-4.5, but for a tight budget like mine, this is an ideal lens. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
btjh86

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by btjh86
Review Date: 12/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent kit lens, fast silent AF.
Cons: Not as fast as I would like, mine is starting to show lens creep, zoom ring not smooth

I got this with my D70s kit. It is an excellent bundled lens and it has served very well as an all round lens. I have shot beautiful landscapes and portraits using this lens. It is a little soft at 70mm, but at 18mm, its a beauty. Autofocus is fast just like the other AF-S lenses and it has no problems in tracking moving subjects such as cars and bikes even on my D70s. I can imagine it being better on more expensive bodies.
Kong47

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Kong47
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $285.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lightweight, fast and quiet af, good range, decent build
Cons: slow at 70mm, not weather sealed

This is my most used lens. It has a great range and is nicely weighted for all day use. Image quality is very good at all focal lengths and all apertures. It gets very sharp in the f5.6-8 range, but I often use this lens wide open. Autofocus is very fast and near silent. CA is low, but can show up in high contrast areas or backlit situations. Distortion is medium barrel to very minor pincushion. It doesn't bother me at all in my shots. Build quality is quite good considering the price. Whenever I need a lens for general shooting or traveling, this is the lens I take. A great bargain for all Nikon DSLR users.
bradjolly

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by bradjolly
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $309.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp througout the zoom range, accurate color, excellent value and reasonable distortion
Cons: none really, maybe VR would be great to offset slower aperture speed of lens

I have read good and bad remarks about the 18-70 lens (mostly good, though). Maybe it's a question of whether you get a good copy or not. In any case, my 18-70 Nikon is excellent in every way: sharpness, color, contrast, distortion (obviously there is some as noted on the official review on this website, but it is entirely reasonable considering the zoom range and the price). I own a D200 and decided to run this lens through the typical battery of testing through the various focal lengths and apertures. I did not find anything whatsoever to complain about. I also own the Nikon 50 1.4 lens and at 50mm, this zoom seems every bit the equal at equivalent aperture speeds. Obviously the lens is slower and would prevent use in low-light conditions without flash or higher ISO settings (maybe VR would be cool to have). At 18mm it's a little soft until 4.5 (5.6 and slower is excellent), but only a little soft and entirely acceptable as any lens (excluding the Pro series Nikkors) tends to be soft wide open. Trust me, if your copy is as good as mine, you will be completely happy with the 18-70. I am, and I highly recommend it! (I would love to have the 18-200 VR, but who knows when I will ever see one as Nikon has told dealers 6-12 month delays, too bad: I would love to have one of these. Until then, I am happily shooting with my 18-70 on my D200 as my main lens).
kanabeans

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by kanabeans
Review Date: 12/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good range for average shots
Cons: Not very sharp, doesn't go as wide as I'd like

This is the lens that came with my camera. I was never a big fan of this lens. I needed something that would handle low-light situations better and the lens was never as sharp as I would have liked so ended up selling it.
privid

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by privid
Review Date: 12/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $297.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Light weight, optically superior to 18-55,
Cons: build quality to stay home and watch TV for,

A very respectable kit lens but nothing more. It will suit most people most of the time but if you intend on venturing beyond the cafe strip you might run into trouble. Apart from the mount it's basically all plastic. It has a troubling amount of give extended at 70mm. Mine didn't last me more than 4hrs of moderate hiking before it transformed itself into a creaking and wining 24-50 grrr! Images captured though were great, don't not buy this because of image concerns, don't buy this because of build.
Drache

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Drache
Review Date: 12/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great image quality
Cons: Its slow

This is a great medium telephoto lens. Before i bought my first camera i did tons of research and found that this particular lens always had good reviews and many people recommended it. The quality of this lens is far better than i thought. And its very portable, its a small lens but bigger than the 18-55. I think this is the best medium telephoto lens for this price. Great starting lens.
deanzat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by deanzat
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: useful range, surprising image quality
Cons: slow

When I made the leap to digital (and I really leapt, selling my 8008s bodies; burning my ships so to speak), I was just going to buy a D70 body, but standing in the store, I decided to get this lens so I would have some wide angle capability.


Funny, because I was only getting the D70 so I could use all my old lenses, but this lens is so ridiculously practical that I use it a lot. I mean, really a lot.


As a travel lens, I just love it. It's been to Venice, and it's been to the inauguration of the WWII Memorial, and with the SB800 it's a fantastic party or event lens.


I will likely eventually get a faster wide zoom, but if I was going to be stuck somewhere for a couple of weeks and could only have one of my current lenses, this would be the one.
nullphotography

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by nullphotography
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap, light, picture quality
Cons: slow lens

Received this as a kit lens with my d70s and it has been an excellent performer. It's a great kit lens and excellent for beginners just entering into slr cameras. It's a very light and compact lens. Not as well constructed as a pro lens but pretty good for being plastic. Only con is the slow f/3.5, pros would prefer a faster f/2.8 lens. The 18-70mm focal length is a great zoom and has lots of reach for a small zoom. Couple this with a 70-300mm telephoto and you have a great set for everyday use.
JStiffey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by JStiffey
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Weight and size
Cons: Not very smooth

The standard kit lens that came with my D70 and has served me well.
I do find than now after almost 2 years of use the focus and zoom rings are getting gritty and rough.
The lens still produces sharp images and is very compact for the focal range.


It is my "primary" lens still and due to it's versatility.


Still a "slow" lens when full zoomed out to 70.


I have even put a rather large "chip" into the front element along the filter ring. Due to removing a stuck filter. Sad
The chip is horrendous looking, but the lens still performs well with no distortion or loss of image quality.


For a "cheap" Nikor lens it certainly has worked well for me.
kirehe

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by kirehe
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast focusing, nice range, nice build quality.
Cons: Tad slow at long end.

Very nice kit lens. Sharp, moderate distortion (much better than Canon 17-85 IS), and light. Fast focusing too.


Enjoying low-light photo, I found it slightly slow at long end (f/4.5). Also it's close-focusing capabilities are not so good (38cm/1'3 or something). If you like macro, look at Sigma 17-70 or 18-50 instead.
weisgrau

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by weisgrau
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $225.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A close to a perfect performer that you will ever get at its price
Cons: None

I can't say enough good things about this lens, and I have more Nikon lenses than I have fingers. Its equiv. focal length of 27 to 105mm make it a great choice when you are only going to be carrying one lens. Its optical performance is superb and it is built well enough that it can take a few bangs and bumps - I have put mine to that test accidently while mountain hiking. It is on my D200 all the time because if I want to grab a camera and be able to cover almost anything with success and no lens changes, this lens is my choice.
danwatson

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by danwatson
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellant Build, Overall Performance, Price
Cons: None so far

I recently purchased this lens to upgrade my 28-80g. I spent a few months researching lenses and I wanted the most 'bang-for-the-buck'. Though I desired 'pro' glass, the Nikon 17-55 DX was way out of my reach. The 18-70, while no 17-55, delivers similar IQ with a very nice build at a quarter of the cost.


The first thing that surprised me when I purchased this lens is the build. The lens has a nice feel to it, and inspires confidence. The zoom ring and manual focus rings are nice and smooth and the manual focus override is a nice touch. This lens really fills out the frame of the D50, and gives it a nice professional look. So how does it perform? It's very sharp even wide-open and stopped down (just a hair) it's a remarkable optic. Color and Contrast are quite pronounced; in fact I was surprised at just how much ‘bite’ the ED elements deliver in this optic. Focus is fast, if you are not used to a real AF-S lens (as I was), be prepared as this thing focuses quickly and silently. Considering the max aperture is 3.5-4.5, this lens is also a decent performer indoors under reasonable lighting. I am very impressed with the lens and highly recommend it to anyone wanting pro performance at a 'not-so-pro' price.
JoeSchu

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by JoeSchu
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp thru whole range, very flexible
Cons: Slow (f/4-5)

This was my kit lens, so it is hard to really get down on it, but after using (but not owning) the 18-200VR, I'll be ready to give it up when the time is right.


It has great "walkaround" range and usefulness, but it just can't handle indoor lighting conditions without the flash. You just can't squeeze enough light in, which is too bad, because it relegates your walkaround lens to a tripod.


Build quality and fit on the D70 are impecable. I even had the misfortune to have a drink spilled on mine, and it remains very functional.


This is in no way, shape or form a pro lens. I'm dying for an f/2.8 in this zoom range. However, it is a great starter for anyone entering the DSLR world and wants a flexible outdoor walkaround lens.
spuelijah

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by spuelijah
Review Date: 12/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Value For Price, Useful Range, Non-Rotating Front Element, Good Build, AF-S
Cons: Vignetting

This is my most used lens because of its useful focal range. I traded my kit 18-55mm for this lens and the only thing I regret is not doing it sooner. Its better build quality alone to me is worth the higher price. The included lens hood is also a welcomed addition and I use it whenever I'm outdoors.


The only fault I've found with this lens is the vignetting. I have a few outdoor shots where the corners are slightly darker. I need to stress the word "siightly." This doesn't occur often, but it does happen. My favorite part about this lens is the AF-S. Focusing seems instant. I never noticed it until I got a 50mm 1.8D and a Sigma 150mm HSM.
mimic

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by mimic
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: inexpensive (d70 kit), small ,SWM, great digital standart zoom, good apertures
Cons: distorsion at 18, i feel 70mm a bit short,

I bought it as a kit with d70 for only 150$ more than body only.
it's a wonderful kit lens with d70, for an amateur at least.


The AF is really fast and can be adjusted manually, thanks SWM.
good buidling quality, no play between parts, seal around the mount, well balanced with D70.
overall image quality is very good, but distorsion a 18mm can be annoying above all at short focusing distance.
sharpness is very good stopped down 1 stop.


overall, one of the best quality/price standard zoom for DSLR I've seen.
bullfr

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by bullfr
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, well built - great as part of a kit
Cons: Vignetting at 18mm, wide angle

As mentionned before, this lens is a the perfect basic companion of the D70 - it is a sturdy, well designed lens, with all that what needs to start having fun !! As part of the kit, it is definitely a grat advantage of the D70, especially now that prices are dropping. AF is great, optics are more than fine for a lens.
Of course, one cannot expect the quality of primes, but considering its size, price and zoom range, it is well above average !!
There is quit an important amount of vignetting at 18mm ; ok, this can be easily removed through software, but one cannot use the images straight out of the camera.
I would prefer it if it could be a bit more wide angle, but well, it is an all(around lens ; also, the widest settings are a bit difficult to set finely.
jemaerca

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by jemaerca
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: inexpensive, compact size and weight, easy manual override of auto-focus, fast and silent auto-focus
Cons: Will not work with film cameras

Strengths: inexpensive, compact size and weight, easy manual override of auto-focus, fast and silent auto-focus


Weaknesses: Will not work with film cameras


Comments: This is very nice DX lens from Nikon. It will work with Nikon digital SLRs like the D50, D70/D70s, D80, D200, etc. Using it with a film camera body will produce pictures with severe vignetting. The 18-70mm lens has a very usable zoom range although most will probably want a more length (of course, we almost always want more zoom power regardless of what lens we are using!). For about $250 gently used, this is great value for the performance it gives. It is sharp, contrasty, and keeps distortion under control.


Overall, a very nice lens from Nikon that I would highly recommend.
lseguy

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by lseguy
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $230.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast AF, manual focus override in M/A, image quality
Cons: vignetting & distorsion wide open, zoom scale & stiffness from 18 to 35mm

I bought mine used, for a D50. This one is likely to become my walk-around lens !! Great image quality (sharpness & contrast) over the zoom range, fast & accurate AF. Possibility to over-ride the AF in M/A mode can help under specific conditions. Difficult to find con's...


If you shoot quite often using the wide range (let say from 18 to 35mm), the zoom ring is quite stiff on mine, and you jump from 18 to 35 (*2 factor !) with very little move.
Fahza

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Fahza
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Perfect kit lens for a DSLR, AF-S
Cons: Maybe the closest focussing distance, could be a tad closer

This is a very good "walk about" lens on a DSLR.


Colors and sharpness are as good as can be expected. The only bad thing I can think of in terms of image quality is the barrel distortion at the wide end. You really have to watch where you place the horizon in the frame or take care of it in post processing.


I sometimes miss a closer minimum focussing distance.


I'm very satisfied with this lens.


Hans
janda

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by janda
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, fast and sharp
Cons: Could have faster aperatures

Nothing bad to say about this lens, delivers what it promises. In good lightning results are very good. In low light it just isn't able to do miracles.


Good value choice for midrange zoom, if you have too much money I would imagine that better can be found.
rbh8252

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by rbh8252
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great valus as p/o the D70s kit.
Cons: Manual focus ring feels cheep and is very compressed

All-in-all a very nice lens, I don't know that I would of bought it as a seperate item if I didn't get it with my D70s.
However, this lens has proven to be very versital. The 18-70 (27-105) range has proven itself in the field and is the only lens I carry when packpacking and hiking.
My only gripe is when manual focusing and that is a common thing with most AF lenses.
abrahamd

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by abrahamd
Review Date: 11/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $175.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AFS, Solid, Sharp
Cons: n/a

For the price, this is a wonderful lens. I bought this lens with my D200 and am really very impressed with the images made from it. I find that I like the balanced feel of this solid little lens on a heavy body, such as the D200, for handheld shots. I also like the extremely useful range of this lens and the moderately close focusing ability of it. All in all, this lens seems to be a really good, fast focusing all round performer.
freundez

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by freundez
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact, sharp zoom
Cons: Vignetting/shading wide open at 18mm

I've shot with this lens for over a year and am still very impressed with its performance. This lens with my D70s plus the 10.5mm makes for a light flexible setup when out on day hikes or backpacking trips.


From 24 to 55mm, my sample is very sharp. In doing comparisons at 35mm, from f/5.6 up, the 18-70 is as sharp, if not sharper than my 35mm f/2. Are there times where I'd like a constant aperature? Yes, but on a price-to-performance basis, this really is a great piece of glass. Miles better than the 18-55 kit lens offered on the Canon Rebel DSLR's.
sandharvest

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by sandharvest
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $264.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp Lens, quick focus, SWM, ED, IF and solid build
Cons: None

I noticed in an earlier review that a poster said this was a great kit lens for a D70. Well, it is. It is also a geat lens for a D2X or any DSLR Nikon builds!


Why? Well, for one, look at the blur index test on this site. The lens is tack sharp - it does not matter what the APS sensor resolution is for the camera it is mounted on.


It has low chroma. Distortion is easily dealt with in post. Buy it, you will not be dissapointed!


Highly recommended - mine gives me sharp, contrasty images.
audioguru1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by audioguru1
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap, AFS
Cons: sharpness, and not fast

This is a GREAT lens for the d70, which in all fairness is all that it was intended for.


On higher resolution bodies like my s2, and d80 its not that amazingly sharp. Part of the problem with sharpness is the lens starts out at 3.5, so its hard to stop down and get good results. Honestly my standards are probably unrealistically high for such a reasonably priced lens.


This lens does have great color and contrast. The focus speed is good too.


Its very plastic feeling, and the zoom isnt as smooth as it could be. I get the feeling the zoom would get loose over time. So far mine is fine though.


The lens is handy since it gets your pretty wide.
OldRedFox

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 14
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by OldRedFox
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good (but not great) zoom range, excellent IQ. Great quality for the price
Cons: Some small focus issues, could use a distance scale

This is a solid lens, and certainly the best of any "Kit" lens being offered by anyone. The range is great for landscape to casual portraits. The image quality is fairly sharp once you stop down one or two stops. There are distortions, but PTLens (a $15 PS add-in) corrects them nicely. For a starter lens that will stick around for many years, this is the gold standard.
MariuszJ

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by MariuszJ
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: internal focusing, manual autofocus override
Cons: for this price - you shouldn't complain

I got this lens as my D70s Outfit - and I am happy with this lens so far. I like the idea of overriding autofocus without switching any buttons - just move focus ring and it's done, press shuter halfway - and it's back on focus point again. Texture on focus and zoom rings could be more different - to be easier to know which ring you have your fingers on, but after couple hunderts of shots you'll get used to it. You'll also like internal focusing feature when shooting with polarizer or special effects filters (front element doesn't move when focusing).
If you ask me for images quality - I'd say - works for me everyday - either I'm shooting Grand Canyon at sunrise, or my neighbourhood at the sunset:)
overall - a must-have lens for beginers and passionate Nikon owners
jeans

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by jeans
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: inexpensive, useful zoom range, AF-S
Cons: mediocre image quality

Pros:
Useful zoom range
AF-S (the A/F on my D70 is fast and sure)
Price - can be found really cheap now
Very light for an AF-S zoom (Nikon's moder trend)
Good color


Cons:
Variable aperture
Distortions are visible at zoom extremes
Image quality is mediocre (maybe it's only my samle as common belief is that it's a nice lens)
Sharpness and contrast aren't great


Summary:
It's a nice inexpensive lens if you don't demand fast apertures and critical sharpness.
Much better (convenient) alternative would be Nikkor 18-200 VR, but it's more expensive and doesn't offer a significant boost in image quality.
fjbrad

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by fjbrad
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: A good balance of quality and price
Cons: Distortion at wide angle, poor as a macro

I bought this lens as part of a kit with a D70 two years ago, and it has been a real good walk-around lens. It is on the camera 90% of the time.
Construction, image quality, and focus performance are all much better than average compared to other consumer level zooms that I've used.
Images are reasonably sharp and contrasty at mid-range apertures, and a little soft wide open.
I often find myself wanting more range at the long end of the lens (70mm/ 105mm equivalent).
If one can afford it (and find it!), the 18-200 VR lens is a much better choice, and if the new 18-135 afs tests out well, the extra reach at the telephoto end would be a wise upgrade, possibly saving one from the possibility of exposing the camera to dust during lens changes.
Zed

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Zed
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Flexible focal lenghts, better than other kit lenses, AF-S
Cons: Sometimes soft, especially if wide open

This lens came with my D70 kit back in February 2004. I will not claim for it to be best of the best, but it is quite a reasonable performer. In combination with the 70-300 f/4-5.6 G I purchased along side, it provided me with a solid year of good quality shots.


This lens does have heavy distortion at 18mm and is quite soft if you leave it wide open for my tastes. By no means does this outperform the Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, but it does provide much greater flexibility in the focal lengths.


If you are starting off in the digital slr world, consider this lens as part of a kit. It is much better than other kit lenses and it gives you a taste of AF-S for when you decide to get bigger and better lenses.
andrew720

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by andrew720
Review Date: 9/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $260.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, fast focus, image quality
Cons:

I finally bought this lens after using several other lenses with my D70 which I had bought as a body only.
I'm very impressed with the sharpness and image quality of this lens. It seems to have married itself to my camera far better than other lenses I've used.
Focus speed is excellent and the manual override is a nice addition.
Build quality is fine for a lens in this price range, it took a little while to get used to the position of the focus and zoom rings but now I acually feel I'm holding the camera steadier with the outer placed zoom ring.
ralph_wagner

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by ralph_wagner
Review Date: 8/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $225.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lightweight, AF speed adequate (for most shooting)
Cons: none for the price

Been using this lens for a couple of months now on a D200. Hasn't disappointed me yet. Not for critical architecture shooting, but for everything else it's great. Color and contrast are very good.
Josstover

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by Josstover
Review Date: 8/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: fast, nice build, good focusing, good allround lens
Cons: distortion, kinda dark, sometimes moiré

Bought this lens seperately (not as a kit) for my D70, because a needed more wide-angle and because of the many excellent reviews.


Did-not work out for me. I do a lot of architecture and this lens has a lot of barrel distortion. With this lens my D70 produced obscure, rather oversaturated pictures. On fine mazed surfaces sometimes moiré can be seen, and it is not too sharp.


So I got rid of it quiet soon and bought the Sigma 20-40mm f2.8 instead, which is excellent compared to this kitlens, that is for my kind of use. I think as an allround lens for landscape and family use, the nikkor 18-70mm will satisfy all your needs.
vienna

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX AF-S Nikkor review by vienna
Review Date: 7/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Useful zoom range and relatively fast
Cons: Just OK resolution and build quality

This is the Digital Age's equivalent of the mighty Nikkor 28-105, without the handy macro function. It seems pretty good until you compare it with f2.8-league glass, and the build quality is only adequate. I think it's overpriced but what else you gonna do if you want 3-shot-to-portrait range?
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.