SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 256954 7/12/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $470.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.88
spacerspacer
9.25
spacerspacer
9.25
sigma17-70f28-4os.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Sony Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom DC HSM APS-C OS Stabilized tested


chromavisphoto

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by chromavisphoto
Review Date: 7/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $419.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding macro, sharp images, excellent OS
Cons: zoom rotation is backwards from the other Sigma lenses I've used

I've had the lens now for 1 week and I've put it thru some basic macro and non-macro shots in both low-light, ambient light and sunlight conditions. The lens has performed exceptional in all instances. Paired with my new Canon T4i camera I am getting amazing images in my opinion. Here is a link to some of the photos I've taken with the lens so far:


http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7495572491/albums/sigma-17-70mm-f-2-8-4-dc-os-macro-hsm


Like the other Sigma lenses I've owned, this lens feels sturdy and very well built. The 72mm filter size means the filters are not too pricey.


The official minimum focus distance is listed as 8.7" but as others have stated, that value must be from the sensor and not the lens for I am able to focus on objects 2" away from the lens (e.g. see the photo of the bug on the flower at the link above).


Image quality seems outstanding. The first image at the link above (the cat with its tongue out) is resized down to 1600 pixels but is otherwise untouched. The detail at 70mm, f/8 and 400 ISO is outstanding in my opinion.


Focusing is quite fast and accurate I have found.


My only beef at this point is that to zoom in requires a clockwise turn and to zoom back out counter-clockwise. My other sigma lenses were the exact opposite so I find myself still going in the wrong direction. It is just a matter of retraining myself though.


My previous Sigma lens was the 24-70mm F/2.8 lens (the non OS and HSM) version. It was an excellent lens as well but this is far better. The extra 7mm on the wide-angle end is nice and I am not concerned about not having F/2.8 thru the entire zoom range. The truth is that I prefer to shoot at F/4 to F/8 for best sharpness results anyway. Also, at the close distances I am shooting at F/2.8 starts blurring too soon from the focal point. In addition, the high ISO quality of the images produced by the T4i allows me to shoot closer to F/8 in low-light conditions and not only get clean images but sharp images as well. The following image was shot at iso6400 (F/4 and 70mm) in a room with the curtains closed. Light was not good but I was still able to capture a good image:
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7495572491/photos/2088902/img_2938?inalbum=sigma-17-70mm-f-2-8-4-dc-os-macro-hsm


I definitely like the zoom lock but have found that the zoom is not "loose" and the lens does not zoom out if pointed down as I have noticed with other lenses.


I would definitely recommend this lens and am VERY happy with it so far.
climbhigh4fun

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 6
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by climbhigh4fun
Review Date: 10/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $469.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Outstanding OS (up to 4 stops) Relatively fast aperture, fast and silent AF, rugged build,, excellent IQ.
Cons: I haven't encountered any major flaws other that possible better weather protection, but so far I've not encountered any problems in that area.

First off, the Optical Stabilizer (OS) in this lens has given users up to 4 stops of extra handhold ability. No lens maker has gone higher (Nikon has one lens that can match it.) Personally I have gotten what I believe to be 4.5 stops. Amazing.


This is a great walk around lens. It stays on my main camera most of the time. It is versatile, pretty fast aperture and great OS for low light.


The macro function is outstanding! AS Wembly below points out, the measuring distance is from the sensor to the subject. You can almost touch what you are shooting and have clear, crisp focus. It casts no shadow with the pop up flash.


It is lighter than most f/2.8 lenses, but has a rugged build that can be felt when holding and using the lens. It just feels good on the camera.


About the only time it leaves my camera is when I need more reach for wild life photography at a distance, like birding or dangerous animals. For that I also have a great Sigma lens. the 120-400mm DG OS, a superb lens. Certainly give the Canon 100-400 IS a run for the money (even though i love Canon lenses, and own several). These two with my Canon 50mm f/1.4 will usually satisfy most of my needs.


If you do close up work, work in low light and must hand hold, or work in normal zoom distance, you won't be disappointed with this lens.


I have been a Sigma fan way back to my days of taking roll after roll in film cameras. Sigma is getting better and better with each product they put out in a given class.


It has a lot of features and versatility at an affordable price. I love it and I'm pretty sure you would too.


Update 2/5/2013:
I've been using this lens for a couple of years now and it has performed flawlessly and with excellent image quality. It is not a burden to carry around all day as it is lighter than most f/2.8 lenses in this class with optical stabilization. It has an attractive look and feel and even though its IQ is slightly less than the non OS version, it is not enough to make a big deal and with up to 4 stops with OS engaged, it is very much worth the slight trade. One lens maker has matched 4 stops, none have gone further. It is one versatile piece of glass. I think most advance enthusiasts, and pros can find much to love and use in this lens.


On an ASP-C it is a 27-112 equivalent. While the Canon equivalent has a better weather and dust sealing, at 1/3 the cost you can't go wrong with this lens. While the "Macro" designation gives an added allure, it is not a true 1:1 magnification, but at 1:2.7 at 70mm, it does a pretty good job for close up work.


It also casts no shadow when using the pop up flash on my 50D and 60D, although I usually use a Canon 430 Speedlite II. I use this lens for landscape to portraits and commercial work. It works well in conjunction with my Canon f/4L IS for portraiture and weddings. I've owned many Sigma lenses over the years and have rarely been disappointed and this is one I would certainly recommend.
scooby

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 3
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by scooby
Review Date: 6/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: versatile, decent image quality, good zoom range, budget price
Cons: it's a zoom lens

A great walkaround lens at a budget price. Does everything better that a kit zoom can. Better wider angle, longer tele,wider apeture, closer focus, better build quality. This lens tries to be good at everything and for the most part succeeds. I always throw this lens in my bag for my extended trips through South East Asia, along with an ultra wide and a few fast primes. This is the one that stays on my camera the most.
steve

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 2
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by steve
Review Date: 1/25/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $549.99| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp
Cons: none

Great image quality very good resolving ability zero aberration .I work in the camera industry and i tested this out my self with focus charts mirror lock up self timer 2.8 to f7.1 very little modulation ,did not double halo on the edges at 17mm not many other lenses can do this ,i use a canon 7D and this lens is very very good over all .i was able to stack a cir pol on a 8 x ND filter and retain auto focus .The 1:2 macro is just a bonus.Every D7000 nikon i sold went out the door with this lens as well this year i think the 18-105 is not suited for the camera.
wembly

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by wembly
Review Date: 4/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $480.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good built, decent macro, fast focussing, good sharpness, nice bokeh for this kind of lens
Cons: a little heavy, corners soft at 17mm wide open, focus ring rotates while AF operation

Nice lens with a decent built quality. I don't understand, why the review here is so poor i guess they got a lemon.
Also the macro comment is wrong, they write "just under 9 inches" This is measured from the sensor plane! This lens focusses as close as 1cm from the front element. With manual focus even closer.Closer is hardly possible.
aZn137

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by aZn137
Review Date: 4/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: large aperture, fast focus, little CA, nice bokeh. good build
Cons: VERY apparent vignette, you can pretty much see it in every shot

I like this lens overall, except for the fact that if you crank up your contrast, blacks and whites during PP, you can see the vignette at 4 corners. It's very easy to see that it appears in most pictures.
TODZILLA

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 2
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by TODZILLA
Review Date: 3/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $435.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: well made lens with great optics at a great price.sharp at all focal lengths
Cons: no cons that i can see

very sharp pictures at all focal lengths! great for indoor and good all around! great for portriats and flowers! decent close ups and flowers look very good! crops look great also! excellent color and contrast! cant say anything bad about this lens! the zoom is very smooth and no lens creep.love this lens for close up work! works great with my 7d! best lens in 17-70mm class! the os works great! professional quality at very reasonable price!
moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM review by moose
Review Date: 3/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $470.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: solid build and very sharp
Cons: zoom ring quite heavy

Nikon professional user.


I bought this lens to replace my Sigma EX 24-70 f2.8 and my Nikkor 28-105 f3.5-4.5 as it has optical stabilisation and macro.


Good choice of lens for studio work if you like ultra-sharp photographs without any effort. Very solid build.


Oddly, it feels quite heavy on the D300 and D200 cameras because of it's short chunky shape but it looks and feels like the EX pro range.


The aperture range is evenly spread over f2.8-4, and focusing is accurate and fast with the HSM.


The zoom ring doesn't need the creep lock.


This lens pairs well with the Nikkor 55-200 VR for blur-free outdoor work.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.