SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 164323 7/19/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,992.53
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.89
canon70-200f28lis2.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm L IS II Stabilized USM tested


mariuspavel

Registered: July 2014
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by mariuspavel
Review Date: 7/19/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,499.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: super sharp, IS, build quality
Cons: price and weight

Without a second thought this is the lens to have. A must have for any professional photographer looking to max out his or her arsenal. A key piece of glass that will not only expand your skills but increases your overall performance as a photographer. Great in low light, ideal for concert photographers, incredible bokeh. Grab this lens ASAP. Check photos with this lens here - www.mariuspavel.ro/trash-dress/
rifqi36

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by rifqi36
Review Date: 10/28/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,251.43| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: BOKEH + DETAIL + FOKUS PALING CEPAT
Cons: BERAT BOSS

SANGAT BAGUS SANGAT COCOK UNTUK YANG PENCINTA TELEPHOTO...


DAN RECOMENDED BANGET KALAU YANG PUNYA BUDGET BANYAK


HARGA RP. 24.799.000


Waktu Gw Beli Kemaren,,,,
waro52

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by waro52
Review Date: 11/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, contrast, color fidelity, Canon L quality
Cons: weight

Another awesome 70-200 zoom from Canon. I think this lens is sharper than my f4 IS version, which is incredible. For indoor sports it focuses quickly with no mircoadjustment needed on either of my bodies. The only bummer is it's weight. Small price to pay for the images it produces.
Pino

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by Pino
Review Date: 2/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: not too heavy for walking in the forest
Cons:

not too heavy for walking in the forest ,even with the extender. With extender monopod recommended.
Verry fast and sharp AF even with the extender X2.
Used for nature and close ups.





http://www.panoramio.com/user/971669


http://www.hdr-photgraphy.be
ddoy2k

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by ddoy2k
Review Date: 11/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid as a Rock
Cons: Bulgy

I got this lens as a second hand from a friend for 1/2 the price [$1,200] as if it were brand new [$2,400]. I am only an amateur but the photos taken from this lens give everyone the impression that I am a professional. Just having the lens attached to my 7D make me look like a professional. Three weeks ago, I assisted the main photographer at a wedding and the newlywed couple told me after seeing my work that they were going to use 70% of my photos for their wedding album so that gotta tell you something positive about the lens. This lens is a MUST have for portrait and wedding photography. Customers and clients are always expecting more for their money, and this lens will not fail you. Expect to receive comments like, "WOW", "AMAZING", and "GREAT" shots from friends and families when using this lens. Let the lens do the work, and you get the credits.
Xven

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by Xven
Review Date: 7/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2.30| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp and sharp
Cons: Heavy, expensive

I started with a 70-200 F4 IS three years ago and back then I choose the F4 version over the F/2.8 because the F4 was sharped, lighter and cheaper. Few weeks ago I went out and spend a lot of money on the new F/2.8 version. It is still heavy and it is still expensive (even more today then ever), but it is also sharper - a lot more sharper. I'll claim it is like the F/4 version - but at F/2.8. I managed to sell my used F/4 for $70 then I gave and putting additional $1100 for the F/2.8 I have a dream lens. If you are looking for something light - don't go for this baby - it is very heavy, and the sharpness is almost the same with the F/4. But if you want the extra step, the latest in IS (now up to spec with the F/4) and the latest in sharpness, this is the lens to go for. In terms of money it is too expensive, and the best value for money is IMHO the F/4 version. But if just just the BEST, this is it.
bangkokuwa

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by bangkokuwa
Review Date: 5/26/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: super fast AF, super sharp wide open, amazing CA control .
Cons: a bit busy bokeh.

it is simple , it is the best zoom ever made in any mount available today.


I replaced my f4LIS with this one , I use 5D2 as my main cam and 7D as a back up and for action or reach limited applications.


I also have the Nikon D700 and D300s, I also had the AFS70-200f2.8GEDVR2 , it was a really good lens also , but the Canon was simply better , sharper at wide open ,with a bit less CA to deal with.


So, I sent back my Nikon vR2 and kept this amazingly sharp Canon zoom.


To be honest , the only real reason why we choose a f2.8 zoom over the perfectly fine f4LIS version is good wide open performance at f2.8, so I do not care if this or the Nikon sharp at f5.6 but at f2.8 it must be better than my f4LIS at f4 , and it is better than the f4LIS at f2.8.


So, I have no regret choosing this over the Nikon VR2.


But that said , if I could wait it , I would wait the Sigma FLD to be out and compare this lens to the Sigma , and then decide which 70-200f2.8 lens to keep.


Any way , I think I go wide with my D700 and long with my 7D and 5D2.


it is the best zoom ever made and replaced my 3 primes in its range effectively ,so it is worth every penny.
chrisjoerg

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by chrisjoerg
Review Date: 5/20/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,380.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: superb image quality - even wide open, IS, build quality, autofocus
Cons: price, a little posh, white, makes you dislike other lenses ;-)

Finally I grasped the nettle, spent a lot of money and got it! And? Wonderful!
I upgraded from the 70-200 f4 IS and it's definitly worth the money.
Backgroud blur / bokeh is amazing, images are pin sharp, even @ f/2.8 - and that's what I bought it for.
Didn't have much time to leran using it properly, but here are some first impressions:


First impressions of the new Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM:


http://www.christianjoerg.de/joomla/index.php/equipment/canon-lenses


The only problem is, that you really start to avoid other lenses (maybe except some primes). The image quality is so good, that I don`t want to use my 24-105 f4 L no more. I always think: "Can I do the shot with 70mm+ focal length?" But I can accept this... ;-)






www.christianjoerg.de
photography@christianjoerg.de
MalteR

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM review by MalteR
Review Date: 4/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,950.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: perfectly sharp, ultra fast AF, built like a tank, strong IS
Cons: a bit heavy

I just got the chance to try out that lens and, folks, i found nothing to critizise at all. This one is simply outstanding in every aspect.


When i first used it on a 5D Mk II, i was wondering why it felt so heavy, there is obviously more mass in front than in the 70-200/4IS. But if you manage to hold it properly, you wont get any problem.


Weight/price is the only point against that lens at all. It is perfectly sharp at all apertures and all focal lengths, on the level of a superb prime (like my 100/2.0). Contrast, Bokeh, Abberations - simply outstanding. The AF is the fastest i have ever experienced in a tele zoom, and finds its target immediately. The IS seems to be even superior to the ones in the 70-200/ 4.0 IS oder the 70-300/4-5.6IS.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.