SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 123322 5/31/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $566.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.83
spacerspacer
8.17
spacerspacer
8.33
olympus14-150f4-56m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds ED Tested


Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 21
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 5/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good IQ for a superzoom
Cons: no hood as standard

On my new EM10 it really shines! Even better then on my former MFT bodies. Beats superzooms on other platforms (FF, APSC) by a large margin.
dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 12/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: all-round lens - good image quality (not perfect, but good)
Cons: none

this one is on my OM-D 50% of the time - I combine it with the 12 - pana 25 - 45 and voigtlander 17.5 / happy with it
attila_feher

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by attila_feher
Review Date: 8/22/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, small, good IQ and DoF control for a travel zoom
Cons: Zoom too stiff for smooth movie recording, visible corner CA when using the macro adapter

I have been using this lens on my E-PL2 for a few moths already (I got it as a kit lens), and I would like to compare it with the double zoom kit I had on my previous Olympus E-510 (14-42 + 40-150).


First of all - is much more light and compact, and, better then all, is just one lens, with less need to swap lenses (btw, I still swap lenses if I want to use prime lenses or the excellent full FT-sized 14-54mm f2.8-3.5 II Zuiko lens)


Compared to the E510's dual-zoom kit, this lens offers significantly better depth of field control (this was quite a surprise for me, as the sensor size and the f-stop specifications are pretty much the same), more precise focusing, especially at the tele end, and, also at the tele end the focus is often faster, even if the focusing system is contrast-detect and not phase-detect.


The macro performance is significantly improved (0.28 vs. 0.18 without adapter or 0.4 with the macro adapter). Is still not a true macro lens, but at least is usable for some real close-ups (the largest image size is actually 0.8 if you consider the 35mm equivalent).


The main drawback of the macro adapter is a rather pronounced blue chromatic aberration in the corners. This can be corrected by software (I use DxO and it does a really fine job) but it might be problematic to use directly some of the in-camera jpegs.


My only real complaint is that the zoom ring is too stiff for creative movie recording. While it can be handled really easily for shooting still pictures, if you want to zoom in or out while recording a movie, it is nearly impossible to do it without causing camera shake at an extent that cannot be compensated by the built-in stabilizer.


All in all is an excellent kit lens, and if you can get a MFT camera kit with this lens, just go for it!


Just for comparison, its is not much bigger than the Oly MFT 14-42 II lens or the Panasonic equivalent, and is just marginally larger than the Sony 18-55 on the NEX cameras, but is much more capable!
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 10
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by asulea
Review Date: 5/29/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

A good allarond lens.
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by SETI
Review Date: 3/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp,small
Cons: no sunshade

I have Panasonic GH2 kit with 14-140mm lens and have read a lot of positive opinions about that lens. Now I can compare panasonic and oly and want to say that I like Olympus 14-150mm more but only for still pictures. Sharpness is noticeable better especially on the long end. So I can recommend it to all who want light and versatile lens.
Best regards. Dmitry
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photodrug/
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 14-150mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Ocean
Review Date: 7/31/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: light, small, thin, seems solid, good Near-Performance
Cons: sometimes too light, no hood - to protect, expensive, CA, dust-problems

Olympus FT useres have always dreamt of such a Holiday-Lens with good performance, now its real - but not for FT - too bad!
I tested against Panasonic 14-140 mm, which is heavier, has built in OIS, comes with Sun-Shade and has a little better sharpness und no chromatic aberrations.
Even if it is more expensive, I kept my Panasonic.
I think Olympus can do much better (I have most Olympus FT lenses!)
but for a E-PL1 or E-P 3 its a good and much needet lens for starters with too much money!
small and handy but I am not used to the extreme cheap-construction Level without lens hood and every few month I got dust between the lenses
Optics are good - the first half year, with a bit to much CA. With weekly practice it's getting worse.
The price is much to high, it's just a cheap-starter Zoom.
The Panasonic 14-140 mm ist by far better.
Olympus can do much better.For best possible optical Zoom results, I would prefer the Panasonic 12-35 mm & 35-100 mm OIS!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.