SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 101474 6/7/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $640.43
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.56
spacerspacer
8.56
olympus9-18f4-56m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds ED tested


LowTEC

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 4
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by LowTEC
Review Date: 6/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Extremely light weight, ultracompact
Cons: Excellent sharpness only at narrow range and aperture, so so construction

Extremely light weight, small size, and decent image quality out of this lens. Samples of my favourite shots out of this lens:


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/9069614224/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/13535551174/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/8429376520/



Smooth operation and the extension action doesn't bother me, although I find the lens a bit wobbly when extended but that doesn't affect the IQ. I like light weight plastic body with metal mount, decent corner to corner sharpness at 9mm f5.6-f8 and the benefit of able to mount a ND filter when need. It was a no brainer for me to carry it to anywhere since it is so compact.


Since then I have replaced it with an used Panny 7-14, which is much sharper corner to corner, but I am doomed by the purple blob issue with my E-M5 and E-PL5, and lack of filter mount bothered me when i shoot day time long expsoure
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by iffo
Review Date: 7/19/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Compact and light weight High optical quality: high resolution, low weight and limited distortion Large viewing angle Low price
Cons: Visible chromatic aberration Construction feels cheap

Especially at the smaller focal lengths, the corner sharpness remains behind the centre sharpness. This lens, like the Olympus 45 mm 1.8, is an inexpensive lens that offers first class optical performance: a very high resolution, low distortion and low vignetting. Chromatic aberration visible at 100% cropping, which you can easily correct afterwards, is the only disadvantage when you evaluate it's optical performance.
naveedakhtar

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by naveedakhtar
Review Date: 12/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tiny, sharp enough, wide enough
Cons: can't complain at this size and price

Well ok, its not the sharpest and widest you can get on M4/3, Panny 7-14 is excellent in that regard. But how much it matter, is really something that matters Smile


I had Panny 7-14 before and I loved it, but later I couldnt hold my >800£ in drawer for more than a year, so had to sell it. Lets admit, ultra wide is not a lens you would want on your interchangeable lens camera all the time. Its application is mostly limited to some specialized work.


Recently I planned again my trip to MiddleEast, this time Jerusalem, I found this little lens available, (two years ago only UW option was Panny) at roughly half the price of Pan 7-14mm, reviews were not bad, so I gave it a try and here is my opinion:


+ Its ultra light, ultra small and very easy to carry in a corner of your jacket pocket. Specially, its collapsible design is amazing.
+ Its budget king and give you some impressive standard coverage as well. In day light I don't really need to switch on my 20mm f1.7 as often as before.
+ Its sharp enough, don't compare with Panny at pixel level specially at corners and you are fine. Little PhotoShop RAW adjustment and there you go. I found it shapest at f5.6 and 9mm.
+ It takes filter so add on a small UV filter (Hoya HD Pro UV is my choice) and you are safe with the glass. I lost the lens cap (at western wall), so UV filter is all I am having on it now. Actually its good in a way, I dont have to keep worrying about removing and placing cap, all the time now.
+ Its wide enough, though 7-14 was wide, insanely wide, this in my opinion is mostly what I needed, there were very few times (less thab 5%), when I missed the wider coverage.


The only complain is they don't bundle a carry pouch or lens hood. But then this is like a normal Oly practice these days.


If you want to see some real world result on this, have a look at my recently uploaded photo set dedicated to this lens:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/hakeem-na/sets/72157628658823079/


So in nutshell I will only suggest Pann 7-14 if you really need 14-film equivalent coverage.
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Ocean
Review Date: 11/22/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great sharpness and brilliance, very small
Cons: crappy socket, no hood, CA, cheap plastics

I like the small little zoom.
but I am not used to the extreme cheap-construction Level without lens hood and I got dust between the lenses
Optics are good with a bit to much CA. With weekly practice it's getting worse.
The price is to high, it's just a cheap-starter Zoom.
The Panasonic 7-14 mm ist by far better.
ecle

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 1
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by ecle
Review Date: 10/20/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $697.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: weight, sharpness
Cons: field curvature (depends on copy)

Sadly my copy has field curvature at 18mm.
I have to stop down to at least F8 and focus to ~8m instead of infinity. It's acceptable with these settings.
The performance from 9 to 14mm ist very good. Can't complain here.
The lens is really small. Big advantage over WW slr lenses.
Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 21
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 7/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ, small, light, very cheap for the IQ
Cons: non

This single lens is reason enough to get into m4/3! It makes the EPL1 really shine in IQ, AF and portability. On the epl/2 it shines equally. Buy this lens! Waiting for the OMD5 to try this gem.
PeterB666

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 5
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by PeterB666
Review Date: 5/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $697.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very compact when stored, great image quality, excellent flare control
Cons: No lens hood or pouch supplied

This is an outstanding lens, and despite the cost, great value for money. I got my lens from Japan and the price paid includes EMS shipping and currency conversion fees. It wound up cheaper than the Four Thrids equvalent lens is locally (Australia) so very pleased as this lens will be selling at a premium.


The lens feels good on the Olympus PEN cameras. Although a telescoping lens, there is only minimal play when extended.


It focuses reasonably fast and is absolutely silent as far as I can tell.


It is a joy to use and the only caveat I place on that is that as the lens is so compact, I found that you can accidently change the focus (I shoot a lot of MF) when you zoom the lens. Once you get use to it, that problem is essentially eliminated.


There are no problems with using Cokin P series holder and filters which keeps me very happy. There is no vignetting with the filter holder at 9mm even when 3 P series filters are stacked. One of the advantages of the compact design thanks to Micro Four Thirds.


There is a lot of detail in the photos and they seem pretty sharp from edge to edge. Flare is minimal at 18mm and low at 9mm.


The lens is still small enough to fit with the camera into some compact camera pouches.


Highly recommended.
irpm

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 1
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by irpm
Review Date: 5/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 9-18 good fit for wide to normal
Cons: price

This could easily be my main lens, good range for the way I (and a lot of people) shoot. Like the way it folds away for easy carrying.
Esa

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 1
Olympus 9-18mm f/4-5.6 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Esa
Review Date: 5/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $690.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, quality
Cons: price, no hood in box at this price

Really fantastic objective to holiday trips.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.