SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 46716 6/16/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,757.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.40
spacerspacer
8.80
spacerspacer
9.60
sigma50-500f45-63os.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Mid Tele Zoom 35mm DG HSM APO OS Stabilized


profmbo

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO review by profmbo
Review Date: 6/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great (& unique) range, efficient optical stabilization, fast focus, price
Cons: Good (but not very) quality picture

I use this lens as a complement of my (14-24, 24-70, 80-200 f2.8) Nikon lenses with a Nikon D700 (full frame) camera.
The long focal Nikon lenses f4 are not affordable for my budget.
The range is very large, this is comfortable allowing not too frequent lens change. I made some comparison switching on & off the OS with a low light inside house during night,a small light and witout support, various f (up to 500) the difference is great ! the test objects were small labels, you are unable to read the text without OS. It is easy with OS. Sometime, it does not work properly (< 5% of cases) and a picture that would be ok witout OS is not usable with it !
The focus is fast but I recommend (for small objects or birds tracking to start with 100 and zoom to 500)
It is more or less heavy but only boring after 3 or more hours walk.
With 500 mm and 22 opening using 95 mm filter), the angles are cut !
When comparison is made with the (best ?) of Nikon f2.8 you clearly see a difference, the reason of my quality 7.
Sumarizing, very interesting for low light but a bit disappointing for outdoor suny days.
Bigma is a robust construction !
I wrote "I am wondering to change to a NIKON 80-400 f4.5-5.6 D" on June 16th, finally I will go to a Nikkor 400 f/3.5, an old reference with manual focus (updated 11/11/11) & will comment it asap.
P.S. DXO optics pro (soft) does not recognize this lens.
After "playing" with the very wide range of the lens, it is clearly amazing, I come to the conclusion that the pictures taken are not in the 1% I love. I generally prefer to uses my Nikkor and...zoom to "increase the focal length !"
termotronic

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 2
Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO review by termotronic
Review Date: 1/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Incredible range, sharp, OS
Cons: NONE

50-500mm wow!


This lens is very sharp almost to 400mm and sharp at 500mm. Also the edges at 500 are not perfect, but not bad.
The focal range from 50 to 500mm is great!
The OS work really great. I found mode II work very good on a monopod.
The AF didnĀ“t work at all with the 1.4x sigma extender.


The AF is very very fast and accurate.
pjammes

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 4
Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO review by pjammes
Review Date: 9/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,756.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: versatlity
Cons: none

Excellent lens, amazing results. No comparaison with the old one. A good investment.


Some pictures here:
http://picasaweb.google.fr/patrick.jammes/50500mmOSSigma#
dilshan74

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO review by dilshan74
Review Date: 6/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,680.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp at all focal lengths at centre of frame, Fast AF (HSM), OS, Macro Mode
Cons: Heavy, Slow aperture of f/6.3 and 95mm filter!

I am not a pro but really enjoy bird photography and macro nature photography. I have used the predecessor (BIGMA) without the OS and that was not a bad lens by any means. This lens however takes what was a good product and makes the old one look like an antique! Firstly, gone are the yellow hazy tinted images which the BIGMA was notorious for- the new glass produces superb color and contrast with no abnormal color shifts. Secondly, the new version has an amazingly useful and effective OS function that has enabled me to get more keepers of sharp hand held shots in lower light situations. I would say the OS gives more like 3-stops improvement which is very decent. Thirdly, this lens has a very decent magnification ratio of 3:1 at 200mm which is amazingly useful- I have now also a macro capable lens which becomes a nature photographers dream walk-around lens ! Make no mistake-it is no prime lens but lately my prime shooting mates are not talking to me anymore...;)
Once you see the magic that this baby can do you will want one- be warned!


I recently went on a Safari in Sri Lanka with this lens. Please see some of the pictures that this lens is capable of here:


http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=755980986#!/photo.php?pid=5696168&id=755980986
Fgbd300

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 3
Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO review by Fgbd300
Review Date: 6/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,549.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great zoom range, excellent image quality, great image stabilisation, fast focus, price
Cons: weight (but you get used to it)

I wanted a birding lens with some kind of VR. The Nikkors are all outside my price range, so I had to look at Sigma. The 150-500 they offer had mixed reviews so I checked for reviews on the 50-500 OS which were hard to find. After reading some of the user reviews and seeing some nice pictures I decided to take my chances and buy it. I have no regrets, I love this lens. For me it has the 'wow' factor, I am sure it's not the Nikkor 500mm prime quality, but what it offers satisfies my needs. Take look at http://www.opdatmoment.nl/lesbos/ for some pictures taken with this lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.