SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 158848 1/31/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $652.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
8.17
sigma17-50f28os.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Sony forcanon forsigma fornikon forsony lens Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom DC HSM APS-C OS Stabilized tested


joe88

Registered: January 2014
Posts: 6
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by joe88
Review Date: 1/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp in centre
Cons: wide open wide angle not so sharp in the corners; CA's

suitable for portraits, for my taste wide open too much CA's on extreme wide angle, not so good for architecture, good lens, but not an excellent one
Lamar

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by Lamar
Review Date: 12/7/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $609.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lighter, Less Expensive than the Nikon option. Generally very good overall sharpness and excellent in the center. Stabilization
Cons: Corner softness at f/4 or less when wide.

I wanted a fast normal zoom to use with my D300. Based on the many reviews online it was easy to narrow my decision down to two choices, the Nikon 17-55 f/2.8 or the Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8. I decided to get the Sigma since it was half the price of the Nikon and had VR. I have never used anything but Nikon glass for my Nikon cameras so this was outside the box for me. I was concerned about build quality and image quality, sharpness in particular.


The first lens I received had an obvious alignment problem, the left side of the frame would be very soft while the right would be sharp even at f/8 on equidistant objects. I exchanged the lens for another sample.


When I got the new lens I shot test images using a D300 to compare the Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 OS HSM lens to Nikon's 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 AF-s and 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S VR. I was specifically interested in determining whether to keep the Sigma or return it and get the Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 for TWICE the price. After seeing the results I decided to keep the Sigma. It's faster and sharper than what I was using, it's half the cost of the equivalent Nikon option, plus I get VR. Central sharpness on the Sigma is excellent. Corners are soft at the wider settings below f/5.6 but as focal length increases past 35mm the image sharpens up nicely even wide open everywhere but the most extreme borders.


Link to images: <a href="http://www.lamarlamb.com/Things/Testing-Sigma-17-50mm-f28-OS/26935388_MqHphg#!i=2257949078&k=QzNjTXT" target="_blank">www.lamarlamb.com/Things/Testing-Sigma-17-50mm-f28-OS/26935388_MqHphg#!i=2257949078&k=QzNjTXT</a>
jho

Registered: September 2012
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by jho
Review Date: 9/22/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $590.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast and accurate focus, image quality
Cons: Occasional focus hunting in very low light

Pros
Image quality excellent.
AF performance excellent.
Build quality very good
OS effective
Excellent image resolution
Excellent low light performance
Hood and case included
Just over half the price of the Canon 17-55
Easily the best buy in this focal range.


I would highly recommend this lens any day.


Cons
No AF manual override
No weathersealing
hudson46

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by hudson46
Review Date: 8/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $930.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ease of use, image quality, OS, build
Cons: Lack of full-time focus, lack of hyperfocal markings

Had to choose between Canon 17-55 and this Sigma. Tried both, and very happy with the Sigma. Image quality is superb, as good as an L-lens I borrowed for a while. Manual focus is tricky, with a short turn (30 degrees?) and distance scale is therefore cramped, making hyperfocal settings tricky - I do a lot of landscape and outdoor work. Working round lack of full-time manual focus is a little annoying, but I got used to it fairly quickly. Switches for OS and Auto/Man focus work well, as does the zoom lock, just in the right place.


Overall, very satisfied with this Sigma 17-50. Excellent choice as replacement for standard kit lens, as well as Canon 17-85. Slightly better in my opinion than the Canon 15-85.


Had to return the lens direct to Sigma for autofocus problems, but returned to me in one week, focus fixed, lens better than ever.
bridges

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 4
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by bridges
Review Date: 11/8/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $670.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fast, smooth
Cons: size, zoom ring turns 'wrong' way, plastic filter ring

Zoom is smooth like other recent sigmas, HSM is fast, quiet. Hood is smooth to put on, but feels not secure.
Construction feels solid, tho I prefer Nikkor ON/OFF switches to Sigma's.


There's no full time manual override, not an issue for me. Zoom turns the wrong way, that's quite poor on their part. No weather sealing, also a bit poor since it'd be trivial to add that rubber seal at the mount at least.


Barrel extends when zooming, and the Barrel surface itself isn't smooth, that doesn't feel so good.
jsonic

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM review by jsonic
Review Date: 6/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $765.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, well build, near silent OS, superb optics
Cons: focusring does turn and no full time manual focus

I was waiting for this lens to become available as I was looking for this type of lens for shooting weddings. I also looked at the Canon 17-40 4.0L and EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS I was very interested to see how well the new FLD glass would perform after reading very good reviews of other lenses with this type of glass. After comparising the lenses I dropped the Canon EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS from my shortlist mainly due to the high price and less than stellar build quality. The 17/40 4.0L is an impressive lens with stellar build quality but does not have IS. I do consider IS and 2.8 as a bonus as light conditions during weddings can be very troublesome so having a 2.8 lens can help focussing (also 2.8 means high precision AF) and IS helps to avoid camerashake so I can use slower flash sync speeds to get a more natural looking picture when flash is needed.


So I went home with the Sigma and boy does it perform... It is stunningly sharp even wide open and it gives me very clear, brilliant beautiful pictures with great microcontrast. It has the same brilliant high quality picture feel as for instance the 70-200 4.0 L IS


The FLD glass sure is doing a great job as abberations are almost completely absent as is purple fringing that can be a pain on these wider lenses (my Canon 20-35 has very high levels of it) I did take a picture of a military chopper against a very bright sky and there is none aberation visible... Compared to my Canon 20-35 and even my Sigma 24-70 2.8 HSM it has clearly beter optics as also the distortions are well controlled. Bokeh quality is also good, it has rounded blades which give a nice even background blur.


Mechanicaly it was suprising to see a rotating focus ring on a EX lens. I guess it is done to keep the lens as small as it is. ALso full time manual focus is not available. Both points are a pity as it would have it made mechanical and ergonomical even better. The AF is on the other hand very precise and fast, I had no problem tracking cars that where doing 70kph. The OS is the best I have seen from Sigma yet, it is completely silent (in fact I had to held my ear on the lens to hear it as I thought that it did not work) It is also effective. There is no play in the zoom and focus ring and the tube when zooming out to 50mm has no play as well. Although being light it does have a quality feel about it as to be expected of an EX lens. The swithces are precise and have a nice click to it, a definite improvement over earlier lenses.


So all in all I am very content with this little marvel and I am looking forward to do my first weddding shoot using it.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.