SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 109495 1/23/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $650.71
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.78
spacerspacer
9.33
spacerspacer
8.89
sigma8-16f45-56.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Wide Zoom DC APS-C HSM tested


Yucel

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 15
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by Yucel
Review Date: 1/23/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wide, so very wide. Price is so very reasonable, Sharp, pretty sharp
Cons: Not FX ... But good enough in DX even on FX

I love the Tokina 11-16mm... Recently got a D800...


So was investigating options. Tried the 12-24mm Sigma version II...


I prefer the corner sharpness and image usability in the 8-16 shoot DX on the D800 over shooting the 12-24 FX on the D800... The 12-24 is going back to Adorama... TY Adorama for the great service.


See images and pixel peeks of the corners at:
http://glamourphotography.co/?p=6879
infocus

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 8
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by infocus
Review Date: 3/27/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $675.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely useful (and funny) lens for general wide-angle and travel photography
Cons: Absolutely none to worry about (and the Sony version is also HSM!!)

This is probably a lens you don't think you'll need until you have tried it. I use it on a Sony a580, which means having a tilting screen that allows framing while holding the camera in awkward positions. In auto exposure and auto focus mode it can be used in ways you never have done before: Standing in the corner of your room holding the camera above your head you get a wall to wall picture capturing the entire room. Alternatively, you may point the camera at your face a few inches from your chin, getting an unusual portrait, or enhance items with extreme depth of field.


In normal situations you can take spectacular almost undistorted architectural photos. When people say they see much lens distortion, it is more likely they see the normal perspective effects for which no lens can be corrected. If you keep the sensor-plane of the camera parallel to the subject features you want to appear parallel (like a tall building or a long row of buildings in a street), they appear parallel in the picture. If you frame an image with the center pointing at a spot at the same level horizontally as yourself, you will be surprised how high up on buildings the frame reaches, even using the landscape format. In this way almost half the image is foreground, which often is a good thing, or you can leave it out later.


This lens cannot take filters, but many effects are available in post processing. I have never missed it; probably because my Sony camera has HDR in camera processing of 3 separate images, obviating a grading filter altogether with much better result. The lens focuses fast and accurate and provides full time manual override. It is a unique lens and very well built. Regards JvE
lensreporter

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 12
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by lensreporter
Review Date: 3/19/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $630.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 8mm are veeeery wide, contrast, only very few CA´s, centre sharp, buildings
Cons: the borders suffer at 8mm (you must stop down to f10), strong vignette

A very good lens, very wide but with SLR with more then 12 MP you will see some flaws at 8-10mm specially in the extrem borders. Take care on decentering when you buy! (I needed 3 exampels!). Very good construction-quality and very "handy".
nthbeach

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 3
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by nthbeach
Review Date: 2/22/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp!
Cons: Lens cap can be a pain

I was apprehensive about buying this lens as i have had bad experiences with Sigma lenses in the past.


However this lens is different!
Its sharp across the board at all focal lengths
Even wide open, this lens is sharp, so the relative slowness is almost a non issue.
I wish all lenses where this good!!!


I used to own a Nikon 10-24mm, but the Sigma leaves it in the dust!
The Sigma is better in almost every way!
Its half the price, has a better build, is more reliable and much sharper!


The only problem/ annoyance was the lens cap.
Its bulky and awkward to use.
However i replaced it with a hoodie.


I have no hesitation in recommending this lens!
marduk360

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 3
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by marduk360
Review Date: 12/23/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $896.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp center, good sharpness on the corners wide open through f11.
Cons: No front filter to protect the FE.

I found this lens to be sharp wide open up to f8/f11.
Diffraction starts from f11 on my 40D, but still acceptable, beyond that, its noticeable.


The size and weight is just right specially on the midrange SLRs (Canon xxD). The focus and zoom rings have no play and are stiff but smooth (not quite L smooth but still very good).


Only real complaint is that due to the bulbous FE, it cannot be protected by filters.
Lillyflowers

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by Lillyflowers
Review Date: 12/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $595.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: True WIDE angle for a crop body.
Cons: Extreme distortion of buildings, but hey, it's a wide angle lens, right?

This has to be hands down the funnest piece of glass we own. The pictures I've been getting are incredible. The incredible wide angle is fantastic for landscapes. If you hold it just so, under some circumstances it can be used as a walk about lens, but don't put people too close to the outside of the frame, they start to look really strange.


My only real quibble about the set up is the two piece lens cap system. There's a round barrel to which the cap is applied and the whole thing goes over the lens. The cap comes off easily. I've had the lens 5 or 6 weeks and lost the cap last night while out on a shoot.
andyafk

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 3
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by andyafk
Review Date: 11/30/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: wide enough that u can take anything in a confine space
Cons: 8mm too much barrel distortion, small aperture, want a F/2.8 version

The front "hood" can be mount a 72mm thread filter but then 8mm will have a black side just like in a fish-eye lens


Out of curiosity, why cant they make a F2.8 and/or EX version of this lens since they already have those technology?


Really satisfied with the ultra Ultra wide angel that many cameras cant take those shots in a confine place, but yet again its small aperture is the down costs.


What compensates my shot was only small aperture, other than barrel distortion


Afterall, it is a landscape nice lens for all outdoor usage
Bonbon

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by Bonbon
Review Date: 8/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $560.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast, incredibly wide, sits well in hand.
Cons: Sensitive Flair, do not get Filters

I struggled with myself between the Sigma and Nikon 10-24 and I do not regret a moment.
amazingly wide lens, distortions quite reasonable, very sharp and gives amazing results.
I personally was very pleased.
strongly recommend for those who seek a broad lens.
Too bad she does not accept filters, but I believe that it will find a solution soon.
Eager

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 7
Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM review by Eager
Review Date: 7/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: super wide, sharp
Cons: no front filter can be used

Nice superwide angle! Very sharp across the frame, just great for a landscapes. Little slow indoor, but pretty usable. Just wish I could mount front filter on it...


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.